I'm a Devlin

Devlin · 785

Devlin

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 9
    • Karma: +0/-0
  • Shadowlord
on: December 03, 2020, 06:20:34 PM
Hi all!

I'm Devlin, AROS user for some months now.

I run AROS on a Sapphire Edge HD2 - about 85% compatible
- Wi-Fi doesn't work as it's usb-bus based (no driver)
- HDMI out doesn't work - nVidia ION chip (incomplete driver? VGA out works with full 3d so I use that)
- Power/ACPI doesn't seem to play ball but rebooting works.

I'm looking for more software to try - I've found a lot of stuff across the net but it seems to vary in quality and functionality.

AROS hardware: Sapphire Edge HD2 net-top, 2GB RAM

My Games for Windows and Linux: https://devlin.itch.io/


salvo

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 889
    • Karma: +12/-4
  • Invalid Civil
Reply #1 on: December 03, 2020, 09:55:10 PM
hello

welcome, the software it is on aros archives

TinyAros MagicWB on Laptop MSI X-600, Intel Core 2 Duo 1,8 Ghz, 3 Gb Ram, SSD Samsung 860 Evo 240 Gb, Nvidia 8400m GS 15" Vesa, WifI Atheros AR5006EG

http://tinyaros.flazio.com/home


magorium

  • Senior Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 253
    • Karma: +7/-0
  • Convicted non contributor
Reply #2 on: December 04, 2020, 02:18:35 AM
Hi and welcome Devlin.

Checking out AROS for a couple of months now, are you ? And....  how do you like it so far ?

That's a nice little nettop. I had AROS running on a eee-box b202 which is a bit similar as your machine, although everything was supported out of the box there due to some bounties with regards to the eee-pc (and the b202 is about 100% compatible with that, give or take the wifi adapter).

- Wi-Fi doesn't work as it's usb-bus based (no driver)
Common issue with AROS. If you really want wifi then try to obtain a compatible wifi usb dongle (see wikibook HCL, also see link further down in my reply)

Quote
- HDMI out doesn't work - nVidia ION chip (incomplete driver? VGA out works with full 3d so I use that)
I had a similar issue with a machine that had multiple video outputs (vga/hdmi/dvi) where the one would work and the other 2 not at all. As far as i know that is/was a driver related issue.

Quote
- Power/ACPI doesn't seem to play ball but rebooting works.
Also an AROS related issue. for some machines it works perfectly while for others it works quite the opposite (quite literally, i might add  :) ).

Quote
I'm looking for more software to try - I've found a lot of stuff across the net but it seems to vary in quality and functionality.
The holy grail with regards to software for AROS is actually Icaros Desktop full DVD version (and install everything).

Paolone did (and does) a very splendid job trying to gather all software that is/was scattered around the internets. If he does not include it with Icaros then it is either rubbish, a rights related issue or perhaps you have found a hidden gem that was not discovered yet ;)

As user salvo already wrote: the Aros archives are the official place where developers can upload their work. In case you missed it: for links see also "Tiny URL Resource Directory" thread which also include links to the AROS Archives as well as the HCL.

Have Fun !


salvo

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 889
    • Karma: +12/-4
  • Invalid Civil
Reply #3 on: December 04, 2020, 12:18:23 PM
what software are you looking for exactly

TinyAros MagicWB on Laptop MSI X-600, Intel Core 2 Duo 1,8 Ghz, 3 Gb Ram, SSD Samsung 860 Evo 240 Gb, Nvidia 8400m GS 15" Vesa, WifI Atheros AR5006EG

http://tinyaros.flazio.com/home


Devlin

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 9
    • Karma: +0/-0
  • Shadowlord
Reply #4 on: December 05, 2020, 08:52:39 AM
Hi and welcome Devlin.

Checking out AROS for a couple of months now, are you ? And....  how do you like it so far ?

That's a nice little nettop. I had AROS running on a eee-box b202 which is a bit similar as your machine, although everything was supported out of the box there due to some bounties with regards to the eee-pc (and the b202 is about 100% compatible with that, give or take the wifi adapter).

Have Fun !

I'm liking it pretty well so far: I have a few gripes but mostly things I've been able to solve. Playing Jedi Academy natively in AROS was a lot of fun though!
A couple things that bugged me were the "Appearance" settings crashing when I hit [save]. Though I've noticed even though it crashes like that, it still saved my settings so I've not been that bothered about it.
The other one was an issue with joysticks - I don't know if it's just ports aren't set up for it, but I have only been able to get my gamepad working in the test program I found, nothing else seems to have worked at all.

hello

welcome, the software it is on aros archives
what software are you looking for exactly

I've been pulling stuff from the AROS archives and Aminet so far, which seems to have been serving me well enough.

A volume control applet to handle global volume levels (ahi prefs is REAL annoying to change volume in)
An up-to-date version of DOSbox would be nice.
And some method of changing icon sets without nuking tooltypes in the process.

An up-to-date browser. I don't know if the one I have is actually up-to-date at all (i got it off the aros archives).

AROS hardware: Sapphire Edge HD2 net-top, 2GB RAM

My Games for Windows and Linux: https://devlin.itch.io/


salvo

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 889
    • Karma: +12/-4
  • Invalid Civil
Reply #5 on: December 05, 2020, 12:10:33 PM
it seems to me that this version of dosbox is the most updated, as far as the browser is concerned we have to settle for this version which is not so bad :), there is no tool for icons currently :-\

http://archives.aros-exec.org/share/emulation/computer/dosbox-0.73-i386-aros.zip
http://archives.aros-exec.org/share/network/browser/owb-1.25.i386-aros.zip

upgrade openssl
http://archives.aros-exec.org/share/network/browser/odyssey-1.25-11.i386-aros.zip



TinyAros MagicWB on Laptop MSI X-600, Intel Core 2 Duo 1,8 Ghz, 3 Gb Ram, SSD Samsung 860 Evo 240 Gb, Nvidia 8400m GS 15" Vesa, WifI Atheros AR5006EG

http://tinyaros.flazio.com/home


Devlin

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 9
    • Karma: +0/-0
  • Shadowlord
Reply #6 on: December 05, 2020, 05:12:27 PM
it seems to me that this version of dosbox is the most updated, as far as the browser is concerned we have to settle for this version which is not so bad :), there is no tool for icons currently :-\

http://archives.aros-exec.org/share/emulation/computer/dosbox-0.73-i386-aros.zip
http://archives.aros-exec.org/share/network/browser/owb-1.25.i386-aros.zip

upgrade openssl
http://archives.aros-exec.org/share/network/browser/odyssey-1.25-11.i386-aros.zip

I thought that was the case. I have all those archives already installed.




AROS hardware: Sapphire Edge HD2 net-top, 2GB RAM

My Games for Windows and Linux: https://devlin.itch.io/


salvo

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 889
    • Karma: +12/-4
  • Invalid Civil
Reply #7 on: December 05, 2020, 07:10:43 PM
ok right :)

TinyAros MagicWB on Laptop MSI X-600, Intel Core 2 Duo 1,8 Ghz, 3 Gb Ram, SSD Samsung 860 Evo 240 Gb, Nvidia 8400m GS 15" Vesa, WifI Atheros AR5006EG

http://tinyaros.flazio.com/home


magorium

  • Senior Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 253
    • Karma: +7/-0
  • Convicted non contributor
Reply #8 on: December 05, 2020, 09:34:52 PM
Hi Devlin,

I'm liking it pretty well so far ...

Nice to hear that you are liking it so far and enjoy yourself with some games.

With regards to the joypad, yes that has been a pita. While you are able to map the buttons in poseidon there isn't a generic 'driver' that allows games to make use of it.  Rather most games rely on a backend such as sdl (or otherwise) that has no notion whatsoever with regards to 'exotic' poseidon input devices. I seem to remember that on the old forums it was mentioned that someone was working on such a 'driver' so that it could be supported out of the box but i do not know/remember if that ever materialized.

Quote
I've been pulling stuff from the AROS archives and Aminet so far, which seems to have been serving me well enough.
I do mention again Icaros desktop simply because its maintainer Paolone managed (at least he did, not sure if that still is the case) to stay in close contact with some if not most of the developers which gave him/Icaros an edge in comparison to the aros archives and/or other distributions. So even though the release schedule is (or can be) a bit slow it usually meant that small fixes where made for most software that comes distributed with Icaros and which did not get released (directly) otherwise.


With regards to a volume control applet (but i guess you are already aware) is that paolone is working on that (see his icaros blog, www.icarosdesktop.org ).

The latest dosbox is 0.73b (which is a small updated version in comparison to the linked one already mentioned). While fishy was working on 0.74 it posed a couple of issues so he never managed to make a 0.74 release (that is, if i remember correctly)


With regards to switching icon-sets: Paolone did release a tool named icondresser (see archives) which is ale to replace icons in a single step. How well that works, i have no idea because i make my own custom setups for AROS.

But perhaps you have already tried icondresser and concluded that it messed up your tooltypes ?

Besides that there is a tool named processicon (see archives) that is able to list the tool/icon-types and as such could aid when used in a script to replace your icons.

That said, you are able to customize your AROS setup to such an extend that it would take a fair amount of time to have a good icon for each and every program/games out there. When i ran AROS on my eee-box, i used to use some pretty big icons found on the internets (such as f.e. https://www.iconspedia.com/icon/duke-nukem-forever-icon-27344.html ) to have a nicer decoration.

However most icons found this way are for personal use only and are not allowed to be redistributed. Which is why you do not see many of them unless specially crafted for Amiga/Aros. One of my favourites iconsets is still magicwb  :)

There used to be (still is ??) a website that was setup by graphic artists that released backgrounds and icons(ets) specially made for amiga/morphos/aros but i don't seem to recall the address of their website :-/ so in case that rings a bell to someone reading this, please feel free to enlighten me/us :-)

regards,


Devlin

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 9
    • Karma: +0/-0
  • Shadowlord
Reply #9 on: December 06, 2020, 01:33:18 PM
Hi Devlin,
<snip>
Quote
I've been pulling stuff from the AROS archives and Aminet so far, which seems to have been serving me well enough.
I do mention again Icaros desktop simply because its maintainer Paolone managed (at least he did, not sure if that still is the case) to stay in close contact with some if not most of the developers which gave him/Icaros an edge in comparison to the aros archives and/or other distributions. So even though the release schedule is (or can be) a bit slow it usually meant that small fixes where made for most software that comes distributed with Icaros and which did not get released (directly) otherwise.


With regards to a volume control applet (but i guess you are already aware) is that paolone is working on that (see his icaros blog, www.icarosdesktop.org ).

The latest dosbox is 0.73b (which is a small updated version in comparison to the linked one already mentioned). While fishy was working on 0.74 it posed a couple of issues so he never managed to make a 0.74 release (that is, if i remember correctly)


With regards to switching icon-sets: Paolone did release a tool named icondresser (see archives) which is ale to replace icons in a single step. How well that works, i have no idea because i make my own custom setups for AROS.

But perhaps you have already tried icondresser and concluded that it messed up your tooltypes ?

Besides that there is a tool named processicon (see archives) that is able to list the tool/icon-types and as such could aid when used in a script to replace your icons.

<snip>
regards,
Yep, I thought icaros might be useful so i've been pulling the extras stuff out of it for additional software to try, seems to be complete enough to be pretty useful.

I had posted in a thread here about the volume applet. Hopefully it'll be available soon and I can give it a try

Have that version of DOSBox, it'll do just fine :)

Icondress kept freezing in the middle of the operation, so I ended up doing it manually.

I'll look into ProcessIcon, it might help speed the process along.

As for custom icons, I'm quite happy with Ken's icon pack I found on the icaros dvd, and am in the process of changing my icon set over.

AROS hardware: Sapphire Edge HD2 net-top, 2GB RAM

My Games for Windows and Linux: https://devlin.itch.io/


magorium

  • Senior Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 253
    • Karma: +7/-0
  • Convicted non contributor
Reply #10 on: December 07, 2020, 03:22:36 AM
Yep, I thought icaros might be useful so i've been pulling the extras stuff out of it for additional software to try, seems to be complete enough to be pretty useful.
Ah, indeed. If you are knowledgeable enough to know how to extract and install things manually then that is even the better option. Provided you have enough disk-space you could even mount the iso directly in AROS.

Quote
I had posted in a thread here about the volume applet. Hopefully it'll be available soon and I can give it a try
It would be a welcome addition, because as you stated it is indeed a bit of a hassle to do it with AHI prefs for every channel.

Quote
Icondress kept freezing in the middle of the operation, so I ended up doing it manually.
Sorry to hear that. I have no idea if there is a newer version distributed with Icaros or if it might be an easy things to fix. Unfortunately i myself am currently not in a position to have a look at it  :-[

Quote
I'll look into ProcessIcon, it might help speed the process along.
I forgot to mention that processicon also allows you to set the tooltypes (but you probably already know that from looking at the options it has). It is basically the swiss-army-knife when it comes to amiga/aros-icons.

You should be able to get away with a simple script to replace your icons, if you are at least  bit versed in writing such scripts.


One thing i also forgot to address in my previous reply is the browser.

Apart from the fact that our browser isn't very useful anymore with regards to modern websites (html/javascript) there is another issue
that is more pressing and that is with regards to ssl. Right now the browser compiles in the ssl related functionality while this really should be done
by means of a proper library, so that it would be enough to only have to upgrade the ssl related library functionality instead of relying on a complete re-compile of the browser (which is a tedious task).

You are probably aware that the older the ssl in the browser gets the less useful the browser becomes as most sites will refuse certain (older, less secure) ssl functionality. Add to that the ssl related security updates and Amiga/AROS its internet functionality is going down under pretty fast.

It is common knowledge that a new security breach was found (at least with regards to openssl), so a citical security update is planned in the next couple of weeks (or is it days already ?) , which would probably also render your 'normal' Operating system to be updated in order to keep things going with regards to internet.

That is unfortunately a rat race that AROS is never able to win, simply because AROS lacks manpower to for example port/implement amissl to AROS or create f.e. a shared library for openssl.

Ah well, enough ranting for now :)

Have fun ! (*)

* and yes AROS is a lot of fun despite the issues it does have, hence deadwoods updates are very exciting.


Devlin

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 9
    • Karma: +0/-0
  • Shadowlord
Reply #11 on: December 07, 2020, 10:20:25 AM
Yep, I thought icaros might be useful so i've been pulling the extras stuff out of it for additional software to try, seems to be complete enough to be pretty useful.
Ah, indeed. If you are knowledgeable enough to know how to extract and install things manually then that is even the better option. Provided you have enough disk-space you could even mount the iso directly in AROS.

Quote
I had posted in a thread here about the volume applet. Hopefully it'll be available soon and I can give it a try
It would be a welcome addition, because as you stated it is indeed a bit of a hassle to do it with AHI prefs for every channel.

Quote
Icondress kept freezing in the middle of the operation, so I ended up doing it manually.
Sorry to hear that. I have no idea if there is a newer version distributed with Icaros or if it might be an easy things to fix. Unfortunately i myself am currently not in a position to have a look at it  :-[

Quote
I'll look into ProcessIcon, it might help speed the process along.
I forgot to mention that processicon also allows you to set the tooltypes (but you probably already know that from looking at the options it has). It is basically the swiss-army-knife when it comes to amiga/aros-icons.

You should be able to get away with a simple script to replace your icons, if you are at least  bit versed in writing such scripts.


One thing i also forgot to address in my previous reply is the browser.

Apart from the fact that our browser isn't very useful anymore with regards to modern websites (html/javascript) there is another issue
that is more pressing and that is with regards to ssl. Right now the browser compiles in the ssl related functionality while this really should be done
by means of a proper library, so that it would be enough to only have to upgrade the ssl related library functionality instead of relying on a complete re-compile of the browser (which is a tedious task).

You are probably aware that the older the ssl in the browser gets the less useful the browser becomes as most sites will refuse certain (older, less secure) ssl functionality. Add to that the ssl related security updates and Amiga/AROS its internet functionality is going down under pretty fast.

It is common knowledge that a new security breach was found (at least with regards to openssl), so a citical security update is planned in the next couple of weeks (or is it days already ?) , which would probably also render your 'normal' Operating system to be updated in order to keep things going with regards to internet.

That is unfortunately a rat race that AROS is never able to win, simply because AROS lacks manpower to for example port/implement amissl to AROS or create f.e. a shared library for openssl.

Ah well, enough ranting for now :)

Have fun ! (*)

* and yes AROS is a lot of fun despite the issues it does have, hence deadwoods updates are very exciting.

I've been using amigas since I was a kid, so a lot of it has thankfully come naturally, I ended up getting icondress to most of the super tedious work without breaking everything in the process thankfully by editing the scripting.

I was extremely happy to see DiskImageGUI in AROS, I keep all my ISOs on a USB stick(which gets used largely for transferring files from PC) so I don't have to have them on the hard disk.

As for the browser, I did notice some sites were a bit wonky in it. I've not been too fussed about it though, at present i've been sticking to just trying games and emulators on it.

Fortunately I have a linux VM on my windows PC for compiling deadwood's AROS builds, takes about 15 minutes all in to do core/contrib so I am fortunate I can keep it up to date as needed.

I think I might make an attempt to write some software for AROS at some point but for that I'd much prefer to develop on hardware instead of the cross-compile approach as above. When I'm ready for that I did notice the forum here and I'm sure the development stuff in AROS will have useful examples and such to get me started.

AROS hardware: Sapphire Edge HD2 net-top, 2GB RAM

My Games for Windows and Linux: https://devlin.itch.io/


salvo

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 889
    • Karma: +12/-4
  • Invalid Civil
Reply #12 on: December 07, 2020, 12:58:44 PM
yes some sites with odyssey can not be seen in an optimal way unfortunately, at the moment for the use that I do I have no problems.
I think that programming the linux environment at the moment is irreplaceable, I was doing the builds of alt-abiv0, now deadwood is working to implement the new fixes left pending for some time, so let's expect further releases in the coming months

TinyAros MagicWB on Laptop MSI X-600, Intel Core 2 Duo 1,8 Ghz, 3 Gb Ram, SSD Samsung 860 Evo 240 Gb, Nvidia 8400m GS 15" Vesa, WifI Atheros AR5006EG

http://tinyaros.flazio.com/home


aGGreSSor

  • Member
  • ***
    • Posts: 171
    • Karma: +6/-0
    • russian transit
Reply #13 on: December 07, 2020, 08:50:56 PM
I think I might make an attempt to write some software for AROS at some point but for that I'd much prefer to develop on hardware instead of the cross-compile approach as above. When I'm ready for that I did notice the forum here and I'm sure the development stuff in AROS will have useful examples and such to get me started.
It depends on what you are going to write. If it is something for a Shell such as a converter or a parser, it is real.
If it is something like simple graphical interfaces on MUI/Zune - this is also real.
For everything else, only cross-compilation is suitable.
You simply won't have the libraries, tools and documentation you need.
Those that are you will not like and they will not be enough.
If you're going to write games: start with a Fiveteen.
Not even this game for AROS.  ;)


AMIGASYSTEM

  • Senior Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 384
    • Karma: +19/-1
Reply #14 on: December 08, 2020, 10:37:08 AM
There used to be (still is ??) a website that was setup by graphic artists that released backgrounds and icons(ets) specially made for amiga/morphos/aros but i don't seem to recall the address of their website :-/ so in case that rings a bell to someone reading this, please feel free to enlighten me/us :-)
Maybe you were looking for this site Web: http://www.amiga-look.org/

magorium also wanted to ask you too you if there is a way to integrate folders into the installer, if I create using ISO DVD the installerAROS installs only the intended folders and ignores the other folders. I need this operation to add folders like Nusi, Graphics, Video, Office et. on older versions of AROS One I have fixed it by copying these folders to Extras.

Some solution could be a second ISO for applications only or create a script to copy the whole DVD to HD, what do you think.