SWitch

aGGreSSor · 202

aGGreSSor

  • Junior Member
  • **
    • Posts: 54
    • Karma: +2/-0
    • russian transit
on: November 16, 2020, 09:33:15 PM
I released a new version of the good old application SWith for i386-AROS, AmigaOS 3, AmigaOS 4 and even got good reviews.
I think that Amiga really lacks commodity. In fact, commodities are analogous to widgets and gadgets in other OS.
Demonstration of OS capabilities is often reduced to demonstration of its widgets.
However, if a huge number of commodities were written for AmigaOS 2, then their number decreased further.
This was reflected in program repositories as well. Aminet util/cdity contains 405 packages.
OS4Depot and AROS-EXEC don't have such a branch, it is consumed util/wb.

It was a long stream of consciousness, thanks for reading.  ;D

I can spend a week transforming the code of this utility to make it look like the existing ones.
And then I'll make a commit that may be approved.

This can be a cheap way to switch between windows and screens in AROS, on any hotkey (Alt+Tab like Windows or Alt+Esc like OS/2, for example).
I donít want to share the skin of an unkilled bear, I have only one question: does anyone need this?
Perhaps a set of Tools/Commodities in AROS should fully correspond to AmigaOS 3?
I'm not familiar with the policy on this matter..

Now it looks something like this (of course, I will drop About from this commodity and add Iconify).



Tell me: what do you think about this idea?



paolone

  • Senior Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 372
    • Karma: +11/-0
Reply #1 on: November 17, 2020, 12:13:35 PM
I released a new version of the good old application SWith for i386-AROS, AmigaOS 3, AmigaOS 4 and even got good reviews.
...
Tell me: what do you think about this idea?


I consider this a great idea. If you let me include your ports into Icaros Desktop, even better. :-)


mmartinka

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 35
    • Karma: +3/-0
Reply #2 on: November 17, 2020, 01:18:05 PM
This is very useful, thanks



MobbyG

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 4
    • Karma: +0/-0
Reply #3 on: November 17, 2020, 02:25:22 PM
Honestly, in all my years since owning an Amiga, I never looked at Commodities like the way you just explained it. I didn't really "get it" from a stand point of what do I do with these? They just sat in a drawer on my WB.

I guess with age comes wisdom and having seen what widgets on other OSes do, and seeing this, it makes sense. I only ever used one Commodity and that was because when I started CNet BBS, sometimes the Control panel window was hidden and using one of the Commodities, I can't remember the exact one now, would let me bring it out so I could manage my BBS.

I really think it is a great idea.



salvo

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 652
    • Karma: +9/-0
  • Invalid Civil
Reply #4 on: November 17, 2020, 03:19:41 PM
I remember this utility :)

Aros on Laptop MSI EX600 , Intel Core Duo 2 2Ghz, 3 Gb Ram, SSD Samsung 860 Evo 240 Gb, Nvidia Geforce 8400m GS 512 Mb "VESA", WiFi Atheros Top!


salvo

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 652
    • Karma: +9/-0
  • Invalid Civil
Reply #5 on: November 17, 2020, 03:26:11 PM
I'm a little off topic since you have fun with the compilation :), imho I don't understand anything ;D, I found this on aminet hihi, it's not a big software, but it's still something like raytracer, al currently we have the availability of povray which is text only :-\

http://aminet.net/package/gfx/3d/Skulpt_src

have a nice day

Aros on Laptop MSI EX600 , Intel Core Duo 2 2Ghz, 3 Gb Ram, SSD Samsung 860 Evo 240 Gb, Nvidia Geforce 8400m GS 512 Mb "VESA", WiFi Atheros Top!


aGGreSSor

  • Junior Member
  • **
    • Posts: 54
    • Karma: +2/-0
    • russian transit
Reply #6 on: November 18, 2020, 07:05:06 AM
I'm a little off topic since you have fun with the compilation :), imho I don't understand anything ;D, I found this on aminet hihi, it's not a big software, but it's still something like raytracer, al currently we have the availability of povray which is text only :-\

http://aminet.net/package/gfx/3d/Skulpt_src

have a nice day
I downloaded and watched this. There is a C ++ project for StormC. Inside header files like this:
Quote
//-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
// File: D3DMath.h
//
// Desc: Math functions and shortcuts for Direct3D programming.
//
// Copyright (c) 1997-1999 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved
I don't have a Amiga StormC compiler and I think that this will require adaptation for the gcc which we all use. C++ support in our toolchains is weak. Most likely only math was stolen from Direct3D, but It looks like a quest.  Apparently this is why no one has yet compiled it for MorphOS or AmigaOS4. :)

I consider this a great idea. If you let me include your ports into Icaros Desktop, even better. :-)
Special for paolone provided a perpetual, irrevocable and lifetime right to distribute any of my ports under a freeware license. Did I write everything correctly?  ;D

Thanks salvo, MobbyG, mmartinka and paolone for answers. Since it makes sense, I will write a completely new version of the SWitch.
I only compile what I can make it work. This often requires rewriting, but I more or less figured out how to rewrite programs from AmigaOS 3 to AmigaOS 4 and back. AROS is very similar to AmigaOS 3, its features are generally understandable. The site wiki.amigaos.net helps a lot (I don't know what I would do without him). RKRM alone is not enough for me. There is a great article about commodities: Commodities Exchange Library.

« Last Edit: November 18, 2020, 07:09:49 AM by aGGreSSor »



salvo

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 652
    • Karma: +9/-0
  • Invalid Civil
Reply #7 on: November 18, 2020, 02:23:43 PM
about skulpt stormc 3 uses gcc serie 2 it seems to me and maybe the software has not been ported to os4 and morphos because it is very old, they have blender available :-\

Aros on Laptop MSI EX600 , Intel Core Duo 2 2Ghz, 3 Gb Ram, SSD Samsung 860 Evo 240 Gb, Nvidia Geforce 8400m GS 512 Mb "VESA", WiFi Atheros Top!


new123

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 14
    • Karma: +0/-0
Reply #8 on: November 18, 2020, 06:20:25 PM
Skulpt also requires Warp3D API, which is not available for AROS? Generally, some hard work is necessary, unfortunately.



deadwood

  • AROS Developer
  • Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 143
    • Karma: +15/-0
Reply #9 on: November 18, 2020, 06:48:08 PM
There is Wazp3D API available on AROS. Isn't it a software rasterizer version of Warp3D?



salvo

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 652
    • Karma: +9/-0
  • Invalid Civil
Reply #10 on: November 18, 2020, 06:52:36 PM
wazp3d it's ok deadwood

Aros on Laptop MSI EX600 , Intel Core Duo 2 2Ghz, 3 Gb Ram, SSD Samsung 860 Evo 240 Gb, Nvidia Geforce 8400m GS 512 Mb "VESA", WiFi Atheros Top!