Partitions are invisible

MUSTDOS · 211

MUSTDOS

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 11
    • Karma: +0/-0
on: August 23, 2020, 04:31:03 PM
I am using a LiveCD of Icarus Desktop 2.28

I tried to look into the available hardware in scout and found my main HDD.

However, even with that my PC fails to detect my HDD during installation phase. I tried getting into the terminal but for some reason after typing help and getting into the mount command, it refuses to open (CD read error?) multiple times.

How do I solve this issue?



magorium

  • Member
  • ***
    • Posts: 154
    • Karma: +2/-0
  • Convicted non contributor
Reply #1 on: August 23, 2020, 05:03:15 PM
@MUSTDOS
What (custom) grub entry/settings are you using ?


Try and see if it is possible to configure your SATA controller (in your BIOS, write down your current settings before making changes so that you are able to revert) to something that is usually referred to as legacy mode ( the actual naming depends on the BIOS, IDE mode, compatibility mode etc ) and then try to boot in safe mode.]


MUSTDOS

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 11
    • Karma: +0/-0
Reply #2 on: August 23, 2020, 05:06:46 PM
I added ATA=noacpi near ATA=32nit



magorium

  • Member
  • ***
    • Posts: 154
    • Karma: +2/-0
  • Convicted non contributor
Reply #3 on: August 23, 2020, 05:35:35 PM
@MUSTDOS:
yeah, the "noacpi" boot-option is basically killing the chance for the OS to detect your hardware (and support it)  :)

It exist only for the sake of being able to verify what the issue is with regards to boot problems. Now we know it is not your cd-rom, rather the interfacing.

Try to tweak your BIOS first, if all else fails try to see what the following (below) paragraphs are able to tell you.

What specific hardware are you using to boot icaros from ? Can you for instance link to a manufacturer product/support page ?

Also possible is to boot linux from your current hardware, and use its tools to list all the specific hardware (vendor/hardware id's) that can be checked. Some of those ID's are listed on the AROS wikipage (see sig, look there for hardware compatibility list), so that you can check whether or not AROS support a particular piece of hardware (the list is far from complete but is able to give some sort of indication).

Unfortunately my current knowledge with regards to (S)ATA specific issues/solution ends there. Perhaps someone else might be able to give you a hand there.

Whatever you do, i wish you the best of luck !


MUSTDOS

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 11
    • Karma: +0/-0
Reply #4 on: August 23, 2020, 06:09:09 PM
Slimtype DVD A DU8A5SH

Can't tweak BIOS much on laptop (Desktop unavailable)

I already have AntiX19 and Windows7 on my HDD



salvo

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 651
    • Karma: +9/-0
  • Invalid Civil
Reply #5 on: August 23, 2020, 07:52:10 PM
Please note that not all computers are compatible with aros :-\

Aros on Laptop MSI EX600 , Intel Core Duo 2 2Ghz, 3 Gb Ram, SSD Samsung 860 Evo 240 Gb, Nvidia Geforce 8400m GS 512 Mb "VESA", WiFi Atheros Top!