Hollywood Designer 5.0 now available for AROS!

airsoftsoftwair · 1496

airsoftsoftwair

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 9
    • Karma: +0/-0
Reply #30 on: May 11, 2020, 12:43:49 PM
On the Purchase page I see Hollywood 8 for "Amiga, Windows, Mac OS, Linux" but where is the AROS version?

According to my definition Amiga means AmigaOS 3, AmigaOS 4, AROS, MorphOS and WarpOS :)

Btw, I like your idea to create something like MUI Builder with MUI Royale or RapaGUI. That's definitely something that would be very useful for many people. There have been attempts to do that before but AFAIR it was never finished. Here is their homepage: https://myevolve.wordpress.com/



miker1264

  • Senior Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 422
    • Karma: +14/-1
Reply #31 on: May 22, 2020, 01:37:48 AM
It looks like Evolve was very promising. But it wasn't finished. Something like that working with MUI Royale to generate MUI user interfaces that could be used in other projects would be quite useful. Even if it's a commercial product sold for a fair amount I'm sure there would be many people interested in it.

I purchased Hollywood 8.0 just now. I know I'm a little late. I intended to do it last week. Now the fun begins. I'd like to try to write an ADF Plugin for Hollywood that can make empty adf and hdf files for use with programs like diskimage.device. I see there is a sample PCX plugin but I wonder if there is a sample app using the pcx plugin?

Working up to the adf plugin I'm writing the c code and testing it with an AROS filemanager as a menu button. Make ADF at the moment will create a blank adf file.
« Last Edit: May 22, 2020, 01:55:52 AM by miker1264 »



salvo

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 539
    • Karma: +7/-0
  • Invalid Civil
    • Youtube Music Channel
Reply #32 on: May 22, 2020, 07:03:33 AM
I have it too I will take the package not now though :)

TinyAros on Lenovo M70 intel dual core 3.20 Ghz, SSD 120 Gb, 4 Gb Ram DDR3, Nvidia Geforce 8400 GS 512 Mb DDR3


airsoftsoftwair

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 9
    • Karma: +0/-0
Reply #33 on: May 22, 2020, 11:28:55 AM
I purchased Hollywood 8.0 just now.

Thanks for the support!

I know I'm a little late. I intended to do it last week. Now the fun begins. I'd like to try to write an ADF Plugin for Hollywood that can make empty adf and hdf files for use with programs like diskimage.device. I see there is a sample PCX plugin but I wonder if there is a sample app using the pcx plugin?

That's not necessary. As soon as the PCX plugin is installed, all image loading functions will automatically be able to handle PCX images.



miker1264

  • Senior Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 422
    • Karma: +14/-1
Reply #34 on: May 23, 2020, 02:56:25 AM
I like the user interface for Hollywood 8.0 but it only seems to work on AROS x86.
Do you plan a future AROS x86-64 version for 64bit systems?

What I thought was an instability problem with AROS x86 was actually a stability problem
using Magellan. Randomly when I clicked a drawer to open it in AROS Hosted on Linux it
would crash the system. That was preventing me from using Hollywood. But when I quit
Magellan and switched to Wanderer instead everything was stable again. No crashes!!
That's good. But a 64bit version of Hollywood would be nice to use on AROS 64bit systems.

At first glance it looks like ADF Plugin will be made as a Library Plugin with special functions.
It will certainly be an adventure. I searched the forum and examples but curiously I didn't find
any examples of Hollywood Scripts to load and display images such as PCX and TIFF. Image
formats are one of the areas of interest for me. Making image plug-ins would be fun and useful.
I found a sample script called "ImageLab" that may be interesting as far as displaying images.

It seems I must return a list of commands for Hollywood: struct hwCmdStruct plugin_commands[]
then call them from my Hollywood App: testplugin.TestFunc(). For ADF Plugin there are only three
functions: CreateFile, CreateDevice, CreateVolume. The rest are just helper functions in the plugin.

From a Multi-Media perspective Hollywood seems very useful. But for Library Functions that will
require special Plug-Ins it requires extra effort especially if the c code already exists. Hollywood
would be much more useful for someone like me if it could export the MUI user interfaces as c
code modules that can be used in other projects. That kind of flexibility would really sell Hollywood.

Looking at Evolve the tabbed interface makes it very appealing. An app such as that which can
be used to assemble Hollywood Scripts, MUI user interfaces and custom Library Plugins with
custom user functions would be optimal and highly useful from a programming perspective.
Maybe someday someone will put together something like that. Till then - we use the old way!
« Last Edit: May 23, 2020, 04:56:44 AM by miker1264 »



salvo

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 539
    • Karma: +7/-0
  • Invalid Civil
    • Youtube Music Channel
Reply #35 on: May 23, 2020, 04:16:14 PM
i don't think x64 is still stable at least i tried to start it on my computer and it doesn't work, until it will be at abiv0 levels hardly andreas could think of porting his software on it  :-\

TinyAros on Lenovo M70 intel dual core 3.20 Ghz, SSD 120 Gb, 4 Gb Ram DDR3, Nvidia Geforce 8400 GS 512 Mb DDR3


miker1264

  • Senior Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 422
    • Karma: +14/-1
Reply #36 on: May 23, 2020, 07:45:50 PM
Explain how AROS 64 bit doesn't work? What specifically?

I had a lot of instability on IcarosDesktop 32bit. But yesterday I concluded it was a problem with Magellan. I changed to Wanderer and everything works quite well.



salvo

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 539
    • Karma: +7/-0
  • Invalid Civil
    • Youtube Music Channel
Reply #37 on: May 23, 2020, 08:21:44 PM
at boot there is a problem with ata device

TinyAros on Lenovo M70 intel dual core 3.20 Ghz, SSD 120 Gb, 4 Gb Ram DDR3, Nvidia Geforce 8400 GS 512 Mb DDR3


miker1264

  • Senior Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 422
    • Karma: +14/-1
Reply #38 on: May 23, 2020, 11:59:50 PM
At boot? How are you attempting to boot AROS? Live DVD? After install ? AROS 64bit Hosted on Linux will boot just fine. That's what I use for programming and testing. AROS 64bit Native just after install won't boot. Possible ata device driver issue. The problem is that AROS 64bit isn't getting any love and attention!!



salvo

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 539
    • Karma: +7/-0
  • Invalid Civil
    • Youtube Music Channel
Reply #39 on: May 24, 2020, 01:08:25 PM
I don't know what to say maybe with the necessary time you can have a stable version :)

TinyAros on Lenovo M70 intel dual core 3.20 Ghz, SSD 120 Gb, 4 Gb Ram DDR3, Nvidia Geforce 8400 GS 512 Mb DDR3


jacko

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 25
    • Karma: +0/-0
Reply #40 on: May 24, 2020, 07:27:48 PM
I think itís too early for a x64 version, itís still too unstable, not possible to compile on AROS and so on.

But Iím very disappointed that there is no ARM Version. Which works very nicely in AEROS on Raspi. But sadly not much software available for it, I think it would be the perfect machine for AROS, but thatís only me.



salvo

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 539
    • Karma: +7/-0
  • Invalid Civil
    • Youtube Music Channel
Reply #41 on: May 24, 2020, 08:07:17 PM
I use abiv0 on a very normal pc, it is not a new generation but it is completely exploited

TinyAros on Lenovo M70 intel dual core 3.20 Ghz, SSD 120 Gb, 4 Gb Ram DDR3, Nvidia Geforce 8400 GS 512 Mb DDR3


miker1264

  • Senior Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 422
    • Karma: +14/-1
Reply #42 on: May 25, 2020, 05:03:16 AM
AROS 64 bit Hosted works very well. It's also very stable. If a program compiles and works on 64bit. It also works on 32bit.

Just because AROS 64bit Native won't boot doesn't mean it's unstable. Using Magellan on IcarosDesktop 32bit Hosted on Linux was very unstable. When opening drawers Magellan was returning invalid data causing X11 errors. Switching to Wanderer fixed the problem. AROS itself wasn't the problem. Magellan was.

I'd like to see a Hollywood 64bit version for AROS. But 32bit is sufficient for the moment.



salvo

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 539
    • Karma: +7/-0
  • Invalid Civil
    • Youtube Music Channel
Reply #43 on: May 25, 2020, 04:13:35 PM
yes I read yesterday on the aros project page that the hosted version is stable :)

TinyAros on Lenovo M70 intel dual core 3.20 Ghz, SSD 120 Gb, 4 Gb Ram DDR3, Nvidia Geforce 8400 GS 512 Mb DDR3


jacko

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 25
    • Karma: +0/-0
Reply #44 on: May 26, 2020, 12:14:40 AM
Sadly I cannot agree with that statement. 64 Bit AROS hosted is still too unstable to use. Very basic programs like gcc crashes completely. Others like Ed crash on some menu items and so on and so on. Really no fun now, much work todo.