Using OS 3.x on AROS ROM

amiga23 · 649

amiga23

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 22
    • Karma: +1/-0
on: November 16, 2019, 11:33:56 PM
To use OS3.x on AROS some things have to be disabled in startup-sequence. But in general OS3 works quite well on AROS.

Things not working on AROS:

- setpatch
- scsiquicker
- MCP (Assign feature works, all other options I did not test)
- VisualPrefs
- OutlineIconText
- TitleShdow
- PatchASL
- Some devices in DEVS:DOSDrivers may cause a crash of the workbench
- Some Tools in SYS:WBStartup may crash the Workbench

- RIVA AMMX

The “run” command does always print the background process id like “[CLI4]” even if called with “<>NIL:“. This will cause the CLI Window to open during startup and may interfere with IPrefs trying to set Screenmode.
See also: https://ae.amigalife.org/index.php?topic=443.0




wawa

  • Senior Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 265
    • Karma: +2/-0
Reply #1 on: November 18, 2019, 06:29:25 PM
i think most of this stuff is not supposed to work on aros.
aros setpatch is  used differently, afair it has been used to install critical cpu specicific function patches. the amiga set patch ist supposed to patch bugged stuff which by definition shoudnt be present in aros.

similar may apply to patchasl.
mcp, visualprefs and titleshadow, outlineicontext may mess with os internals in a hacky way, poking values at certain addersses or the like. at least mcp is known to be aware of. i dont think we want to debug that right now, except its someones hobby.

similarly i only know of one sort of devices that crash workbench, and these are non standard.
and i have not tested any items in wbstartup. in these cases please identify the items offending running them one by one separately.



wawa

  • Senior Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 265
    • Karma: +2/-0
Reply #2 on: November 18, 2019, 06:32:54 PM
i cant test riva ammx. the other issue seems legit. other than that:

are you able to update your aros kisckstart?