Author Topic: Best Desktop Hardware for AROS/Icaros Desktop  (Read 1164 times)

Michael_

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
Best Desktop Hardware for AROS/Icaros Desktop
« on: October 27, 2019, 12:16:35 AM »
Im pretty new to Amiga/AROS.
I already stumbled around AmigaOS 4.1 and AmgiaOne X1000/X5000 Systems.
But i feel for what it is, its pretty expensive.

So i tought about building a Computer for AROS/Icaros Desktop.

But:
- What Motherboards are supported?
- If needed what external Sound and Ethernet Cards?
- What graphics Cards are Supported?
- Whats the fastest CPU supportet? How many Cores?
- How many Ram is supported?
- How many and Big HDD/SSD Drives are supported?

Are there some complete Systems supported?
The Hardware listed here isnt very spectacular, also not fully supported in most cases.
http://aros.sourceforge.net/de/documentation/users/hardware.php

Also is AROS/Icaros Desktop fully compatibel with Native Amiga/AmigaOS 4.1 Software?

miker1264

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 327
  • Karma: +12/-1
Re: Best Desktop Hardware for AROS/Icaros Desktop
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2019, 01:47:08 AM »
For Icaros Desktop Native for a long time I was running it on an HP Elite 8300 Small Form Factor. I had 4GB of installed memory and an 80GB SATA hard drive. Icaros graphics ran in Native driver mode with several supported graphics modes since there was an AROS driver for the Intel GMA onboard graphics. It ran very well on the 8300. I had bought the computer used on ebay for $190.

Here are the specifications for the 8300 SFF.

https://www.cnet.com/products/hp-compaq-elite-8300-core-i5-3470-3-2-ghz-monitor-none-series/
« Last Edit: October 27, 2019, 01:50:32 AM by miker1264 »

Michael_

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Best Desktop Hardware for AROS/Icaros Desktop
« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2019, 02:47:32 AM »
I did not mention but i would prefer a big form factor. ATX or even bigger.
Simply to have a lot of space in the case and for components i might want to use.

Argo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • Find me on the Fediverse
Re: Best Desktop Hardware for AROS/Icaros Desktop
« Reply #3 on: October 27, 2019, 10:12:58 AM »
Im pretty new to Amiga/AROS.
I already stumbled around AmigaOS 4.1 and AmgiaOne X1000/X5000 Systems.
But i feel for what it is, its pretty expensive.

So i tought about building a Computer for AROS/Icaros Desktop.

But:
- What Motherboards are supported?
Most, but I'd keep it a few years old
Quote
- If needed what external Sound and Ethernet Cards?
Aetheros base should be a good bet
Quote
- What graphics Cards are Supported?
Previous generation Geforce and Radeon, 3D only on Geforce
Here's a topic on Graphics cards
Quote
- Whats the fastest CPU supportet? How many Cores?
How fast you want? Only one core gets used   AROS64/SMP uses all cores, but is alpha, so not stable, still in development, and doesn't run the current 32bit software - needs recompile
Quote
- How many Ram is supported?
4GB, AROS64 will allow as much as modern PCs, but see above
Quote
- How many and Big HDD/SSD Drives are supported?
A normal amount, can't see the need for more than two or three, partitions are limited to 128GB
Quote

Are there some complete Systems supported?
Not that I know of, at one time someone was selling a computer specifical build to run AROS
Quote
The Hardware listed here isnt very spectacular, also not fully supported in most cases.
http://aros.sourceforge.net/de/documentation/users/hardware.php

Also is AROS/Icaros Desktop fully compatibel with Native Amiga/AmigaOS 4.1 Software?
No, It's source compatible with Amiga OS 3.1    Though AROS 68K is binary compatible


I'm in the same boat   Reviving my old AROS system and installing it in a Checkmate case  Looking to upgrade that early next year
So, am reviewing what might be newly compatible hardware since then
I have had Icaros Desktop running natively on an old ASUS i5-3210 laptop   Can't remember if the WiFi worked or if that was the new Lenovo i5-7600 laptop with that issue

My old system sans case running Icaros Desktop 1.4.5
https://photos.app.goo.gl/Uxk7GgJQfkbaCBje9

ntromans

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Best Desktop Hardware for AROS/Icaros Desktop
« Reply #4 on: October 27, 2019, 11:08:54 AM »
Just to say that if running anything based on ABI0 (i.e. current Icaros), stay clear of any motherboard with USB 3 - I've tried on four different systems with USB 3 and on every one the USB would not work and no amount of fiddling with bios settings helped.

Cheers,
Nigel.

Michael_

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Best Desktop Hardware for AROS/Icaros Desktop
« Reply #5 on: October 27, 2019, 08:18:08 PM »
Quote
How fast you want? Only one core gets used   AROS64/SMP uses all cores, but is alpha, so not stable, still in development, and doesn't run the current 32bit software - needs recompile
Quote

Well i did not knew that.
I thought it would at least support 2 Cores as AmigaOS 4.1.

So it might be worth to wait a little longer until AROS64 is stable?
Will they implement 32bit App Support in AROS64 like you can run 32bit Applications in 64bit Versions of Windows?

Quote
A normal amount, can't see the need for more than two or three, partitions are limited to 128GB

Asking because i have some unused drives with 1TB or more lying around.
Will this limit be greater with AROS64?
But SSDs work, right?

Quote
No, It's source compatible with Amiga OS 3.1    Though AROS 68K is binary compatible

So that means basically every Amiga OS 3.1 / 4.1 Software runs.
But needs to be recompiled, right?

cavemann

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Best Desktop Hardware for AROS/Icaros Desktop
« Reply #6 on: October 27, 2019, 10:19:34 PM »
@ Michael_

Have you tried booting the Icaros DVD on hardware that you already have? If if boots, you don't have to install anything and you would get a better idea if AROS is for you, before buying any hardware. ;)
« Last Edit: October 27, 2019, 10:23:12 PM by cavemann »

Michael_

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Best Desktop Hardware for AROS/Icaros Desktop
« Reply #7 on: October 27, 2019, 10:58:26 PM »
I tried to Boot/Install Icaros Desktop on my old Fujitsu Siemens Scaleo X which came with Vista originally and got a Core 2 Quad CPU.
It did not work.
I just came to grub screen, it did not boot any further from there.

cavemann

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Best Desktop Hardware for AROS/Icaros Desktop
« Reply #8 on: October 28, 2019, 12:26:41 AM »
Hmm, If AROS does not recognize your video system, it should automatically boot with VESA video drivers. What video does this machine have?

Also, grub should display some options. Have you tried options other than the default option? There might be a DMA problem.

Michael_

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Best Desktop Hardware for AROS/Icaros Desktop
« Reply #9 on: October 28, 2019, 01:14:55 AM »
I am currently testing Windows 10 on this Machine.
According to Windows 10 its a GeForce 9500 GT.

Yes i tried some other options, they also do not work.

miker1264

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 327
  • Karma: +12/-1
Re: Best Desktop Hardware for AROS/Icaros Desktop
« Reply #10 on: October 28, 2019, 03:39:47 AM »
I checked the specs of the Fujitsu Scaleo X. It has a socket 478 at 3GHz and max 4GB ram. It may run Win 10 but barely.

What version of Icaros Desktop are you trying to run on this computer?

Michael_

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Best Desktop Hardware for AROS/Icaros Desktop
« Reply #11 on: October 28, 2019, 04:09:24 AM »
I downloaded Icaros Live 2.2.8
Do you think the graphics card is the reason it does not run?
If so, What graphics card do you recommend?

Im just testing Windows 10.
But its really a bunch of crap in my opinion.
To be more precise: A bunch of crap set on top of a good operating system.

salvo

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 182
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Invalid Civil
Re: Best Desktop Hardware for AROS/Icaros Desktop
« Reply #12 on: October 28, 2019, 05:48:07 AM »
i have on hp z600 workstation with nvidia gtx 470, full working, the graphics card working alone on 1024x768 but i played at quake with the rygels texture, horewer the all games working fine that nvidia 6200 with 512 mb di ram, resolutio on scren 1680x1050.

hi
Icaros on HP Z600 Intel Xeon X5570 3 Ghz, Nvidia 8400gs
Support
https://www.actionaid.it/
https://www.amref.it/

Argo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • Find me on the Fediverse
Re: Best Desktop Hardware for AROS/Icaros Desktop
« Reply #13 on: October 28, 2019, 07:04:10 AM »
I am currently testing Windows 10 on this Machine.
According to Windows 10 its a GeForce 9500 GT.

Yes i tried some other options, they also do not work.

My current hardware config has an EVGA GeForce 9500 GT
https://photos.app.goo.gl/hbkQCHiYsD8EPpD56

Quote
So it might be worth to wait a little longer until AROS64 is stable?
Will they implement 32bit App Support in AROS64 like you can run 32bit Applications in 64bit Versions of Windows?

AROS64/SMP is going to take a while to be stable  Its ABI isn't exactly finalized   Current AROS32 ABI0 is stable and mature, best to use for now
32bit will very likely not be implemented, the dev team isn't that big   Also, Linux and BSDs are all going 64bit only   So, recompiling and modification is the will be the only way to use older software on AROS64   The same will be true soon enough for Linux and BSDs, as mentioned     MS is a huge corporation with just as many resources, so it's not an issue for Window  You can even still enable 16bit support in Windows 10 

Quote
Asking because i have some unused drives with 1TB or more lying around.
Will this limit be greater with AROS64?
But SSDs work, right?

It will be greater under AROS64  As big as you can use under current 64bit OSs
Like when Windows was 32bit, you couldn't use more that 3 to 5 GB of RAM or more than 4GB partition
Yes, SATA devices work like SSDs
« Last Edit: October 28, 2019, 07:23:14 AM by Argo »

Michael_

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Best Desktop Hardware for AROS/Icaros Desktop
« Reply #14 on: October 28, 2019, 07:13:21 AM »
So why do you think it does not run/boot?