Author Topic: Network under AROS hosted (Linux)  (Read 172 times)

snurf.T

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Network under AROS hosted (Linux)
« on: October 27, 2018, 03:45:33 PM »
Hi there,

I'm trying AROS hosted on a Gnu/Linux system (arch Linux) and can't get the network running.

The uml_utilities packages is installed and I adopted the AROS_network.sh script (I use 192.168.254.254 for the tap_ip while the host has 192.168.178.xx. Since I would like to use the wireless connection of the host, I entered wlp3s0 as masq-iface).
When AROS starts, the script prints out:
Code: [Select]
...
Created tap device: aros0
Setting aros0 to IP address 192.168.254.254 and bringing it UP
Configuring NAT routing from interface wlp3s0
...
[tap] unit 0 attached to aros0
...
[AROSTCP] eth0 is now online.

In AROS there is one entry in the network settings under IP v4-Configuration:
eth0 * tap.device 0 Get address via DHCP

Can anyone tell me what's wrong here? Did I confuse iface and masq-iface? - Any help appreciated! :) Thanks.

magorium

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
Re: Network under AROS hosted (Linux)
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2018, 12:39:56 AM »
...
Can anyone tell me what's wrong here?

Is there something wrong then ? e.g. is your connection not working from within aros ?

afaik your host is just being used as a 'bridge/router', from AROS point of view it is just a network connection. Did you perhaps (wrongfully) expected for AROS to take over full control over your wireless (host) adapter ?

Or did i perhaps miss something obvious with your numbers there ?

paolone

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
Re: Network under AROS hosted (Linux)
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2018, 08:41:38 AM »
@snurf.T

Have you tried assigning a compatible fixed address to the AROS eth0 interface? 192.168.254.250 should work good. I guess you've also to set 192.168.254.254 as a gateway, but frankly I don't remember now.

snurf.T

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Network under AROS hosted (Linux)
« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2018, 03:24:35 PM »
Hi paolone,
hi magorium,

time flies ;) - Nearly a month passed and I had barely time to check on this subject. Anyway....

Many thanks for your replies!!! :)

It's still not running, but when I try paolone's suggestion something changes! :)
When I set the IP-mode of the tap.device "eth0" (in AROS) to "manual" and use 192.168.254.250 as the IP-address, the ping-command (e.g. "ping 1.2.3.4" in a shell) tries to reach its address (it just does not return and waits until eternity ;)).
Before that (when the IP-mode is set to "DHCP"), the ping-command says: "ping: sendto: No route to host". 
So, I think, that's a step towards the right direction ;). - Luckily the hosted version of AROS boots in no time. That makes experimenting with different settings quite easy. :)

paolone

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
Re: Network under AROS hosted (Linux)
« Reply #4 on: December 01, 2018, 11:33:19 AM »
Hi paolone,
It's still not running, but when I try paolone's suggestion something changes! :)
When I set the IP-mode of the tap.device "eth0" (in AROS) to "manual" and use 192.168.254.250 as the IP-address, the ping-command (e.g. "ping 1.2.3.4" in a shell) tries to reach its address (it just does not return and waits until eternity ;) ).
Before that (when the IP-mode is set to "DHCP"), the ping-command says: "ping: sendto: No route to host". 
So, I think, that's a step towards the right direction ;) . - Luckily the hosted version of AROS boots in no time. That makes experimenting with different settings quite easy. :)
Ok, listen, I really cannot explain this concept better than this. Look at the attached image, it's how hosted icaros is configured by default.

paolone

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
Re: Network under AROS hosted (Linux)
« Reply #5 on: December 01, 2018, 11:35:12 AM »
There is a little mistake in the image. Interface net0 for AROS address is 192.168.166.2, not 192.169.166.2. My bad.