Author Topic: A pre-configured Development environment for AROS  (Read 608 times)

paolone

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 264
  • Karma: +3/-0
A pre-configured Development environment for AROS
« on: October 01, 2019, 02:10:25 PM »
Hello! Since many people that would develop AROS or software for AROS are scared by Linux installation, configuration and management, I thought to create an already configured Linux virtual machine with the development stuff already in-place. So these people can now be scared by the lesser-frightening installation of VMware Player on their system! :-)


Have a look here:


https://vmwaros.blogspot.com/2019/10/a-pre-configured-development-machine.html




The environment is ready to compile (for) AROS x86-64, but targets can be easily added as explained in the bundled notes. The environment is already organized into different directories for main sources, portsources and builds. Have a nice day!

Ball000

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: A pre-configured Development environment for AROS
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2019, 02:18:33 PM »
Very good idea, thank you Paolone!

BSzili

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • My AROS, MorphOS and AmigaOS4 ports
Re: A pre-configured Development environment for AROS
« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2019, 02:50:27 PM »
Yeah, great initiative. Making the AROS source directory a git clone would be probably a good idea, if it's not one already. It would make updating the sources easier for beginners.
This is just like television, only you can see much further.

miker1264

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 257
  • Karma: +11/-1
Re: A pre-configured Development environment for AROS
« Reply #3 on: October 01, 2019, 03:19:25 PM »
Thank you. Great idea.

I don't use VMWare though. I use virtualbox.

What is the container type? Is it a VMDK?

paolone

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 264
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: A pre-configured Development environment for AROS
« Reply #4 on: October 01, 2019, 04:13:35 PM »
Thank you. Great idea.

I don't use VMWare though. I use virtualbox.

What is the container type? Is it a VMDK?


Yes. You can turn the vmdk into a virtualbox compatible disk with vmware's ovftools. Just turn the virtual machine into a .ova or .ovf first, and then import it with virtualbox


https://my.vmware.com/web/vmware/details?downloadGroup=OVFTOOL400&productId=353
« Last Edit: October 01, 2019, 04:16:46 PM by paolone »

paolone

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 264
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: A pre-configured Development environment for AROS
« Reply #5 on: October 01, 2019, 04:15:15 PM »
Yeah, great initiative. Making the AROS source directory a git clone would be probably a good idea, if it's not one already. It would make updating the sources easier for beginners.


Git is installed but not configured. I'd prefer to leave this to people interested into contributing back their modifications to the AROS development team. Others can easily update sources both with git, or with Firefox (a shortcut is in place for AROS git repo).

jman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: A pre-configured Development environment for AROS
« Reply #6 on: October 01, 2019, 09:18:11 PM »
Thank you. Great idea.

I don't use VMWare though. I use virtualbox.

What is the container type? Is it a VMDK?

I believe Virtualbox is able to open VMDK files without the intermediate OVF file.

miker1264

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 257
  • Karma: +11/-1
Re: A pre-configured Development environment for AROS
« Reply #7 on: October 02, 2019, 03:21:48 AM »
Yes. VirtualBox can use VMDK natively. I downloaded Ubuntu 64bit preconfigured VMDK, created a new virtual machine and connected the existing disk image.

...now you see Ubuntu 64 running in VirtualBox.

Next I'll install Ubuntu 16.04 32bit. I'd also like to install Cairo Dock.

https://www.howtogeek.com/201123/how-to-install-and-use-a-mac-os-x-style-desktop-dock-in-ubuntu-14.04/

paolone

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 264
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: A pre-configured Development environment for AROS
« Reply #8 on: October 02, 2019, 10:13:27 AM »
Good to know! I can add a note on the vm description page.

Yannick

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: A pre-configured Development environment for AROS
« Reply #9 on: October 02, 2019, 03:44:27 PM »
Hi,

First thanks for the package, it will help.

But I'm still struggling with compiling some simple stuff.

Would it be possible to add a sample project (simple helloworld example) that :
- has source in ~/sources/personal/example
- will have target executable in ~/x86-64/bin/personal/example/ (or some other location that can be easily found/remembered)

I have created one, but can't have it working (it worked once but now it isn't anymore and I don't know why at all)

Best regards,
Yannick

miker1264

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 257
  • Karma: +11/-1
Re: A pre-configured Development environment for AROS
« Reply #10 on: October 02, 2019, 04:05:21 PM »
paolone made a metamake file for the viewer and compliled for 64bit. It isn't Hello 64bit, but it works.

See Icaros Viewer thread.

paolone

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 264
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: A pre-configured Development environment for AROS
« Reply #11 on: October 02, 2019, 04:16:53 PM »
Hi,

First thanks for the package, it will help.

But I'm still struggling with compiling some simple stuff.


You are in good company, don't worry. :-)


Every time I try compiling something slightly bigger than a single-.c-file project, I fall into dozens of errors thay I have to understand and fix.


Please take for good the hint Miker gave you about his viewer program, it's a fairly good 'hello world' example for the metamake stuff.
In order to use a different target directory for your program, you only need to change the EXEDIR variable to something else. Please also consider this part.

If you need further information, please read also the following resources:[/size]> The AROS build system, and how MetaMake works[/u] on aros.org> Aros/Developer/BuildSystem[/u] on Wikibooks.org> "How I compiled deark for 64bit AROS" on this site.[/size][/font]

salvo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: A pre-configured Development environment for AROS
« Reply #12 on: October 03, 2019, 05:01:24 AM »
I have to take another hd and try to compile 8)
Icaros on HP Z600

miker1264

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 257
  • Karma: +11/-1
Re: A pre-configured Development environment for AROS
« Reply #13 on: October 03, 2019, 05:42:15 AM »
I'll to compile it tomorrow.

I have to get my "Hello 64bit AROS World!" In there somewhere. 😊

Yannick

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: A pre-configured Development environment for AROS
« Reply #14 on: October 03, 2019, 10:02:23 AM »
Ok, I got it and I'm now able to compile and end up with ZunePaint and ZuneView in their own folders.

What I'm doing now, is that I compile them into AROS hosted folder structure, so that I can test the programs directly.
Linux hosted 64bit build is under progress.

I believe that this should be part of the distributed files, native AROS is not required, executable are the sames, but to test under the environment it seems much more straight forward to have the hosted environment available.

BR,
Yannick