Author Topic: A pre-configured Development environment for AROS  (Read 1267 times)

miker1264

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 327
  • Karma: +12/-1
Re: A pre-configured Development environment for AROS
« Reply #30 on: October 11, 2019, 02:54:19 AM »
Update:

AROS has been building in my 'build' folder (not source!) for about half an hour now...hoping and praying it all goes well.

A special thanks to bsek for the help in getting it running. It seems the information on IcarosDesktop.org should be ammended slightly.

In this case I created a new 'aros/build' file structure. Git clone + url is the proper way to copy out sources not downloading zip files. When a new directory with new sources is created be mindful of the configure syntax. Omit portsrc because it doesn't exist. Target is also optional. It will default to the current architecture. But I may need to declare the target in order to build a boot ISO.

Lastly and most importantly, Though the Virtual Machine is the same and the software is the same the hardware on the individual user side is Not The Same! In the make command you should specify with a -j switch the number of cores to use during the build process. Too few and it won't build. Too many and it won't build. You have to find the Goldilocks Zone - the correct number of cores & the max amount of memory to build AROS.

It's still building. So far so good...

(Note to self. Fix the Pizza Timer because it keeps popping up during the build process!)
« Last Edit: October 11, 2019, 05:33:57 AM by miker1264 »

paolone

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 293
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: A pre-configured Development environment for AROS
« Reply #31 on: October 11, 2019, 09:13:45 AM »

A special thanks to bsek for the help in getting it running. It seems the information on IcarosDesktop.org should be ammended slightly.


Would you please provide a detailed information about what you did? the linux command 'history' would come handy too, to track the exact commands you gave. Thank you.

miker1264

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 327
  • Karma: +12/-1
Re: A pre-configured Development environment for AROS
« Reply #32 on: October 13, 2019, 12:43:40 AM »

A special thanks to bsek for the help in getting it running. It seems the information on IcarosDesktop.org should be ammended slightly.


Would you please provide a detailed information about what you did? the linux command 'history' would come handy too, to track the exact commands you gave. Thank you.

Sorry. I've been busy. This is the sequence that I used however I'm going to actually declare a target and try to build an ISO as well:

mkdir -p aros/build

cd aros

git clone https://github.com/aros-development-team/AROS.git

cd build
../AROS/configure --enable-ccache --with-gcc-version=9.1.0 --with-binutils-version=2.32

make -j2

The last part is very important as well. -j2 means to use "2 cores" while building.

Using "git clone" is the better method to download and install the sources rather than simply downloading zip files.

salvo

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 179
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Invalid Civil
Re: A pre-configured Development environment for AROS
« Reply #33 on: October 17, 2019, 07:21:54 PM »
in the suite it is possible to add the sources and everything related to odyssey, maybe someone could find benefit on this if he wants to work comfortably :-\
Icaros on HP Z600 Intel Xeon X5570 3 Ghz, Nvidia 8400gs
Support
https://www.actionaid.it/
https://www.amref.it/

paolone

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 293
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: A pre-configured Development environment for AROS
« Reply #34 on: October 18, 2019, 04:43:56 PM »

A special thanks to bsek for the help in getting it running. It seems the information on IcarosDesktop.org should be ammended slightly.


Would you please provide a detailed information about what you did? the linux command 'history' would come handy too, to track the exact commands you gave. Thank you.

Sorry. I've been busy. This is the sequence that I used however I'm going to actually declare a target and try to build an ISO as well:

mkdir -p aros/build

cd aros

git clone https://github.com/aros-development-team/AROS.git

cd build
../AROS/configure --enable-ccache --with-gcc-version=9.1.0 --with-binutils-version=2.32

make -j2

The last part is very important as well. -j2 means to use "2 cores" while building.

Using "git clone" is the better method to download and install the sources rather than simply downloading zip files.


Ooook, I guess I have to modify a little your procedure to adapt it to my current directory structure. It should be really easy.


By the way, the sources in /sources are NOT taken from ZIP file, but are an actual copy of my repo I cloned with git. And they compile. I don't know exactly what happens if you overwrite them with contents of zip files on aros.org.


Maybe I should make this clearer.

salvo

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 179
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Invalid Civil
Re: A pre-configured Development environment for AROS
« Reply #35 on: October 19, 2019, 07:26:38 AM »
paolone also needs to install the build-essentials :D, I have so much free time I don't work I want to dedicate myself to the port of the games and maybe some application, we'll see if I can
Icaros on HP Z600 Intel Xeon X5570 3 Ghz, Nvidia 8400gs
Support
https://www.actionaid.it/
https://www.amref.it/

salvo

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 179
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Invalid Civil
Re: A pre-configured Development environment for AROS
« Reply #36 on: October 19, 2019, 09:22:45 AM »
miker let's see if I can with your procedure
Icaros on HP Z600 Intel Xeon X5570 3 Ghz, Nvidia 8400gs
Support
https://www.actionaid.it/
https://www.amref.it/

salvo

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 179
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Invalid Civil
Re: A pre-configured Development environment for AROS
« Reply #37 on: October 19, 2019, 09:37:35 AM »
it worked with the procedure described on vmaros only that i did something wrong
Icaros on HP Z600 Intel Xeon X5570 3 Ghz, Nvidia 8400gs
Support
https://www.actionaid.it/
https://www.amref.it/

salvo

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 179
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Invalid Civil
Re: A pre-configured Development environment for AROS
« Reply #38 on: October 19, 2019, 10:10:28 AM »
gives me this error when compiling the tree

[MMAKE] Making mesa3d-linklib-compiler-generated in workbench/libs/mesa/libcompiler
Generating bin/linux-x86_64/gen/workbench/libs/mesa/src/compiler/glsl/ir_expression_operation.h
Generating bin/linux-x86_64/gen/workbench/libs/mesa/src/compiler/glsl/ir_expression_operation_constant.h
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/home/salvatore/aros/build/bin/linux-x86_64/Ports/mesa/mesa-19.1.5/src/compiler/glsl/ir_expression_operation.py", line 23, in <module>
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/home/salvatore/aros/build/bin/linux-x86_64/Ports/mesa/mesa-19.1.5/src/compiler/glsl/ir_expression_operation.py", line 23, in <module>
    import mako.template
ImportError    : import mako.template
No module named mako.template
ImportError: No module named mako.template
mmakefile:153: recipe for target '/home/salvatore/aros/build/bin/linux-x86_64/gen/workbench/libs/mesa/src/compiler/glsl/ir_expression_operation_constant.h' failed
make[1]: *** [/home/salvatore/aros/build/bin/linux-x86_64/gen/workbench/libs/mesa/src/compiler/glsl/ir_expression_operation_constant.h] Error 1
make[1]: *** Attesa per i processi non terminati....
mmakefile:147: recipe for target '/home/salvatore/aros/build/bin/linux-x86_64/gen/workbench/libs/mesa/src/compiler/glsl/ir_expression_operation.h' failed
make[1]: *** [/home/salvatore/aros/build/bin/linux-x86_64/gen/workbench/libs/mesa/src/compiler/glsl/ir_expression_operation.h] Error 1
[MMAKE] make --no-print-directory TOP=/home/salvatore/aros/build SRCDIR=/home/salvatore/aros/AROS CURDIR=workbench/libs/mesa/libcompiler TARGET=mesa3d-linklib-compiler-generated --file=mmakefile mesa3d-linklib-compiler-generated failed: 512
[MMAKE] Error: Error while running make in workbench/libs/mesa/libcompiler: No such file or directory
Makefile:113: recipe for target 'all' failed
make: *** [all] Error 10
Icaros on HP Z600 Intel Xeon X5570 3 Ghz, Nvidia 8400gs
Support
https://www.actionaid.it/
https://www.amref.it/

salvo

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 179
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Invalid Civil
Re: A pre-configured Development environment for AROS
« Reply #39 on: October 19, 2019, 11:07:46 AM »
I should have solved it I needed mako
Icaros on HP Z600 Intel Xeon X5570 3 Ghz, Nvidia 8400gs
Support
https://www.actionaid.it/
https://www.amref.it/

wawa

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 252
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: A pre-configured Development environment for AROS
« Reply #40 on: October 21, 2019, 05:19:42 PM »
right.

salvo

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 179
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Invalid Civil
Re: A pre-configured Development environment for AROS
« Reply #41 on: October 24, 2019, 11:35:10 AM »
ok try the complete build enviroment by paolone
Icaros on HP Z600 Intel Xeon X5570 3 Ghz, Nvidia 8400gs
Support
https://www.actionaid.it/
https://www.amref.it/