Author Topic: Network settings Icaros  (Read 221 times)

PCAmiga

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • ReLIVE the past
Network settings Icaros
« on: August 09, 2019, 03:11:27 PM »
Hi Icaros users,

I've recently have installed the light version of Icaros software on my desktop PC. Now I've already completed my favorite settings and screen resolution. But now I'm stuck on the network settings... Got a internet connection trough ethernet cable and is connected to the Broadcom network adapter on the PC. What info do I have to fill in on the tab "local host"? And what kind of information on the "IP4"? Network operations is not my kind of specialty 😉

salvatore

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 441
  • Karma: +2/-0
  • Jazz Frethless Bass Player
    • BandCamp
Re: Network settings Icaros
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2019, 04:33:16 PM »
in the system preferences for network configuration in sys:prefs/network you have to choose the right driver for your network card, if you don't know it, try going to sys:tools/pcitool lunch it and i see your device and appear it with the list driver

hi
Tiny Aros on Atom N270 HT ThinClient Full Supporting

PCAmiga

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • ReLIVE the past
Re: Network settings Icaros
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2019, 11:04:14 PM »
Thank you for the hint, I've tried some options but sadly it has't solved my network problems. Now I think that the PCI IRQ settings in my Bios has the key for my failing Ethernetcard problem and also my (sometimes) failing USB mouse problem. So I take tomorrow some time to set the right IRQ values to my PCI devices.

paolone

  • Moderator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 218
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: Network settings Icaros
« Reply #3 on: August 13, 2019, 02:24:31 PM »
Unluckily, I don't think your Broadcom ethernet nic is supported by AROS.

salvatore

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 441
  • Karma: +2/-0
  • Jazz Frethless Bass Player
    • BandCamp
Re: Network settings Icaros
« Reply #4 on: August 13, 2019, 02:35:01 PM »
also i i think this, the problem never to be :), you buy a pci network compatible card, i see the driver list example "rtl cards"
Tiny Aros on Atom N270 HT ThinClient Full Supporting

PCAmiga

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • ReLIVE the past
Re: Network settings Icaros
« Reply #5 on: August 13, 2019, 07:17:19 PM »
Unluckily, I don't think your Broadcom ethernet nic is supported by AROS.


Thanks for the reply, then I buy a compatible PCI-card. I do think it's worth it  :D

PCAmiga

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • ReLIVE the past
Re: Network settings Icaros
« Reply #6 on: August 13, 2019, 07:19:00 PM »
also i i think this, the problem never to be :), you buy a pci network compatible card, i see the driver list example "rtl cards"


Allright thnx for replying. I will follow your advies  8)

salvatore

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 441
  • Karma: +2/-0
  • Jazz Frethless Bass Player
    • BandCamp
Re: Network settings Icaros
« Reply #7 on: August 13, 2019, 07:49:51 PM »
 ;)
Tiny Aros on Atom N270 HT ThinClient Full Supporting

PCAmiga

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • ReLIVE the past
Re: Network settings Icaros
« Reply #8 on: August 14, 2019, 08:54:58 PM »
Hi Salvatore,

Yeah, you were right.My network card wasn't compatible with the drivers supported in Icaros...
So there was no problem indeed  ;) Now I've bought a as good as new Ethernetcard which works wel.
I'm working on a old PC desktop system a Pentium 4 1300Mhz with 512Mb SDram hopefully I can get
It right to work on with the Icaros  ::)
So this topic can be closed now I think...

salvatore

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 441
  • Karma: +2/-0
  • Jazz Frethless Bass Player
    • BandCamp
Re: Network settings Icaros
« Reply #9 on: August 26, 2019, 03:55:24 AM »
yes I'm currently working with a mini pc atom, it's definitely newer than yours but some sites with owb will struggle to load properly, I don't know every now and then I go on facebook and I evo wait a few minutes to be operational, maybe it's better that you update your workstation, I was thinking of taking a xeon from a few years ago, but a core duo or core duo 2 could be good for you, you could mount a dedicated graphics card for the games brought currently

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

hello
Tiny Aros on Atom N270 HT ThinClient Full Supporting