Author Topic: Compile Odyssey for ABI_V0  (Read 1827 times)

ch1ll

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: Compile Odyssey for ABI_V0
« Reply #30 on: November 01, 2018, 10:52:54 PM »
In Developement:/etc/SSL are the openssl default certificates to be trusted, and off course anything is statically linked. I guess that also Odyssey trust them. I'll give a look to this as soon as find some time.

@wava: I definitely would like to merge our source.

@deadwood: Thanks for this offer. I'll clean something and prepare a push request.

wawa

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
    • View Profile
Re: Compile Odyssey for ABI_V0
« Reply #31 on: November 01, 2018, 11:01:38 PM »
im not sure if krzysztof/deadwood prefers to merge stuff after pull request or rather wants others to work directly on his repo. my assumption was rather the latter, just he wants someone knowledgable and responsible enough.

what concerns my changes besides what i mentioned, there is aros mmakefile and several detailed commits to make odyssey compile with newer compilers and for other archs. i dont know how muchof this you have already integrated, ch1ll, but we will manage somehow. i guess.

ch1ll

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: Compile Odyssey for ABI_V0
« Reply #32 on: November 02, 2018, 11:46:56 PM »
I just run the first tests, and I found that:
1. owb every time crash when started from shell
2. the certificates of Root CA are stored in owb directory, not in development:/etc/ssl
3. I also have the same error when connecting to https sites
4. openssl command line works properly and can connect with TLS (tested with: openssl s_client -connect www.google.com:443)

It looks that there is something wrong with libcurl that was compiled without ssl support. My understanding is that the configure script test for some functions that are not there anymore.
I'll work on it and let you know...

nikos

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
    • View Profile
Re: Compile Odyssey for ABI_V0
« Reply #33 on: November 02, 2018, 11:51:42 PM »
If you run from shell you must give Odyssey enough stack size. The stack size used are shown in the Odyssey icon.

before running odyssey form shell type. "stack size 1192000"
« Last Edit: November 02, 2018, 11:54:40 PM by nikos »

ch1ll

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: Compile Odyssey for ABI_V0
« Reply #34 on: November 04, 2018, 11:45:50 AM »
@nikos: Yes, you are right, thanks  :) .

I'm currently patching curl to make it use of OpenSSL 1.1. After that, I can link it again with owb and we can test it again.

nikos

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
    • View Profile
Re: Compile Odyssey for ABI_V0
« Reply #35 on: November 04, 2018, 12:23:27 PM »
Looking forward to that :)

Thanks for your work. You are realy good at this :)
I can not even compile "hallo world" ;)

ch1ll

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: Compile Odyssey for ABI_V0
« Reply #36 on: November 04, 2018, 05:43:37 PM »
Hi everybody,

I finally updated curl and linked owb again. You can download it on the same link: https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1INiXOKKY7KypDaLabvPo9KTN06W8--nS
I tested it with google, repubblica.it, libero.it and something else.It looks to work. It should be tested with some misconfigured server and insecure servers.
Happy testing  :)

@daedwood,wawa: I should share my changes on Odyssey and AROS ABI_V0. I modified openssl, curl and something on ffmpeg. Basing on your preference I can write to github repository, make push request or commit on svn.
I also would like to share a Vagrant file to prepare the development environment and write some instructions.

deadwood

  • AROS Developer
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Compile Odyssey for ABI_V0
« Reply #37 on: November 04, 2018, 06:16:17 PM »
@ch1ll

My preference is to give you write access to github repo and have you commit changes there directly :) Can you PM me your github user?

nikos

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
    • View Profile
Re: Compile Odyssey for ABI_V0
« Reply #38 on: November 04, 2018, 07:01:20 PM »
Fantastic!! You made it :)

Streaming video does not work. It crash. I get software failture when Odyssey is trying to play any video.

aha

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: Compile Odyssey for ABI_V0
« Reply #39 on: November 04, 2018, 08:01:24 PM »
@ch1ll

Great! You are doing a fantastic job! Though I have no time to test at the moment, I am glad about the progress. Keep up the good work! :)

nikos

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
    • View Profile
Re: Compile Odyssey for ABI_V0
« Reply #40 on: November 04, 2018, 08:09:26 PM »
Gmail works now :) Just rem. to spoof as other browser like Opera 12 and select basic view.

sabbate

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: Compile Odyssey for ABI_V0
« Reply #41 on: November 04, 2018, 08:14:59 PM »
thank you very much

salvatore

wawa

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
    • View Profile
Re: Compile Odyssey for ABI_V0
« Reply #42 on: November 04, 2018, 08:30:01 PM »
@ch1ll

Quote
Streaming video does not work.
what ffmpeg are ybou building/linking against?
3.0.1 or 4.0.2? the latter is currently default but odyssey doesnt interface correctly to it. work on acinerella is necessary, as i already said.
if so, you can downgrade to 3.0.1 changing the version number in mmakefile.

if you keep your commits verbose ill try to keep my repo up to date and consistent with deadwoods as far as its possible for abi v1 so that we have a consistent source. i dont know exactly yet how this is done though.

ch1ll

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: Compile Odyssey for ABI_V0
« Reply #43 on: November 04, 2018, 09:40:07 PM »
@wawa: I used ffmpeg 3.0.1...  :(

@nikos: Thanks for testing!

nikos

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
    • View Profile
Re: Compile Odyssey for ABI_V0
« Reply #44 on: November 04, 2018, 09:49:41 PM »
Streaming never worked good anyway. So it is not a big deal.
It is for sure maybe the most important task to solve for AROS right now, but guess not easy.

A problem that been always is that some big pages with lot's of pictures don't load them scrolling down. Try this one www.vg.no and scroll down and you see what I mean.

Any idea why that happen?