Hostbridge How?

Valken · 197

Valken

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 2
    • Karma: +0/-0
on: March 01, 2020, 09:22:54 AM
I am new to AROS, Win 7 Pro x64 hosted.

I am testing Icaros Desktop. Fast and snappy but lack of support to mount NTFS volumes from VMware makes it less useful.

How do I enable Hostbridge when hosted in Windows 7 VMWare? The Hosted folder is empty on the Dec Xmas iso builds. I could not find a previous build with this function working yet.

Any help appreciated.
« Last Edit: March 01, 2020, 01:19:12 PM by Valken »



salvo

  • Senior Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 395
    • Karma: +7/-0
  • Invalid Civil
Reply #1 on: March 01, 2020, 07:07:31 PM
the best hosted solution is with linux if not alternatively if you use windows is the virtual machine, if you don't want to use the system natively

http://vmwaros.blogspot.co.uk/p/versions-comparison.html

best

Icaros on itel i7 870, SSD 32 Gb, 4 Gb Ram DDR3, Nvidia Geforce GT 216 1 Gb Ram DDR5


paolone

  • Senior Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 320
    • Karma: +5/-0
Reply #2 on: March 02, 2020, 05:48:38 PM
I am new to AROS, Win 7 Pro x64 hosted.

I am testing Icaros Desktop. Fast and snappy but lack of support to mount NTFS volumes from VMware makes it less useful.

How do I enable Hostbridge when hosted in Windows 7 VMWare? The Hosted folder is empty on the Dec Xmas iso builds. I could not find a previous build with this function working yet.

Any help appreciated.


2.3 Xmas preview is untested for Windows hostbridge. It should work, though, since nothing changed for Windows hosted per-se.


Something might have broken Windows hosted, please use 2.2.x if you wish to use that feature.


BTW, I am considering to declare Windows hosted mode unsupported, for next releases.


Valken

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 2
    • Karma: +0/-0
Reply #3 on: March 03, 2020, 11:58:40 PM
Thanks for everyone's help.

I got it working now under Windows 7 x64 hostbridge mode. I had to mount the ISO file in a virtual cdrom to show up properly. This should be documented better for the future.

It is VERY FAST under hosted mode. Makes Windows 7 feel slow actually!

Suggestion would be consider audio playback under OpenAL passthrough instead of DirectX on Windows. That may be an easier development chain?

OpenGL for 3D video?

I tried it also under VMware and it works fairly well, but the lack of NTFS reading of VMWare mounted HDD/SSD or native NTFS folders is annoying. It is weird to setup a "FTP" between VMware and the hosted PC just to transfer files.




paolone

  • Senior Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 320
    • Karma: +5/-0
Reply #4 on: March 04, 2020, 10:07:11 AM
Hi. Under Windows, in working condition, Icaros created HDC:, HDD:, HDE: etc. A volume for every windows volume it finds.


As I said, please use Icaros 2.2.x for Windows hosted mode to be fully operational.