Author Topic: How to access the C compiler?  (Read 145 times)

Geri

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
How to access the C compiler?
« on: April 14, 2019, 07:06:57 PM »
hello, how i can access the gcc in aros?


Geri

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: How to access the C compiler?
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2019, 08:13:44 PM »
okay, i have to install it first.

is there any way to report bugs, as i already found like 10

Mazze

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: How to access the C compiler?
« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2019, 09:03:36 PM »

Geri

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: How to access the C compiler?
« Reply #3 on: April 14, 2019, 10:09:03 PM »
thankyou

i was able to succesfully port my software to aros within a few hours



but i have scrapped the result, and decided not to release it.

here are the reasons why:

1. the gcc used in aros inserts every debug information (such as variable and function names) to the binary, and it canot be stripped. if someone disassembles it, essencially gets your source code.

2. no proper documentation. i was not even able to find an api call to get the number of cpu core count within 10 minutes of googling.

3. due to the second point i will not spend my next 2 weeks to figure out how to create a new window, how to interface the keyboard or how to initialize the sound card...

4. to counter to the 2th and 3th points, there is SDL. however, in aros, SDL1 was used, which is lgpl, therefore it is ILLEGAL to statically link it to a non-opensource software. SDL2 would be fine, but thats not available under aros.

5. no smp. smp was annouced a year ago or so, in theory it should work. but no, it does not works. also, no sound (ac97) so i cant test if my program even have sound.

if the new sdl2 will get released into aros then i can release at least a beta version but nothing until then






trekiej

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 90
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: How to access the C compiler?
« Reply #4 on: April 15, 2019, 04:56:25 AM »
Good luck, I believe someone will help you.

BSzili

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • My AROS, MorphOS and AmigaOS4 ports
Re: How to access the C compiler?
« Reply #5 on: April 15, 2019, 12:39:57 PM »
1. the gcc used in aros inserts every debug information (such as variable and function names) to the binary, and it canot be stripped. if someone disassembles it, essencially gets your source code.
Use the --strip-unneeded switch, which will only keep the symbols necessary for relocation.

Quote
2. no proper documentation. i was not even able to find an api call to get the number of cpu core count within 10 minutes of googling.
The "mainstream" ABIv0 version of AROS only supports 1 CPU core. You won't find documentation for non-existent APIs.

Quote
3. due to the second point i will not spend my next 2 weeks to figure out how to create a new window, how to interface the keyboard or how to initialize the sound card...
Strange, because these are all very well documented, and even if they weren't he Amiga documentations could be used, since the two are API compatible.

Quote
4. to counter to the 2th and 3th points, there is SDL. however, in aros, SDL1 was used, which is lgpl, therefore it is ILLEGAL to statically link it to a non-opensource software. SDL2 would be fine, but thats not available under aros.
IANAL :-X

Quote
5. no smp. smp was annouced a year ago or so, in theory it should work. but no, it does not works. also, no sound (ac97) so i cant test if my program even have sound.
What does announcing something has to do whether it was completed or not? AROS is developed by people as a hobby. Looking at that screenshot I can't imagine why couldn't it run on a single core. Sound card support is a different issue, you can end up with unsupported hardware.

Quote
if the new sdl2 will get released into aros then i can release at least a beta version but nothing until then
See ya later then.
This is just like television, only you can see much further.

Geri

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: How to access the C compiler?
« Reply #6 on: April 15, 2019, 03:15:48 PM »
BSzili thanks, i will try the  --strip-unneeded switch, maybe it can help. it CAN work in single core mode, but this is software rendering and its optimized to run on 2 threads, it would be so soft and fluid on 2 core.   lack of sound is happened with virtualbox (i did the whole process in virtualbox) and virtualbox does  a regular ac97 so its strange it had no sound. this is some kernel or driver glitch because if i wanted to test the built-in music tracker software to find out if there is actually any sound, the whole kernel froze.

magorium

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: How to access the C compiler?
« Reply #7 on: April 15, 2019, 04:53:00 PM »
1. the gcc used in aros inserts every debug information (such as variable and function names) to the binary, and it canot be stripped. if someone disassembles it, essencially gets your source code.
answered by BSzili

Quote
2. no proper documentation. i was not even able to find an api call to get the number of cpu core count within 10 minutes of googling.
sjees.... how hard can it be ?  ;)

www.aros.org then press reference (http://www.aros.org/documentation/developers/autodocs/index.php) . the api you are after can be read here http://www.aros.org/documentation/developers/autodocs/processor.php

Quote
3. due to the second point i will not spend my next 2 weeks to figure out how to create a new window, how to interface the keyboard or how to initialize the sound card...
AROS is API compatible with amiga OS.... what more do you want exactly ? You want to create an intuition window ? MUI window ? BGui window ? i have fpGUI and LCL for you as well (but that is a complete other programming language to begin with)

Quote
5. no smp. smp was annouced a year ago or so, in theory it should work. but no, it does not works. also, no sound (ac97) so i cant test if my program even have sound.
Yes... SMP has been there for what ? 10 years now ... it is located in trunk (64-bit) and not available for the common distributions. It is available for raspberry (again trunk) as well if not mistaken.

Sound works in virtual box provided that you have set it up correctly. And by that mean both the vbox and aros side of things. There is a manual... nobody bothers to read it though  :)

ps: oh and i see that you are not using the bash compatible shell to compile your stuff in ? again, can be read in the manual... nobody bothers to read it though  :)

paolone

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 138
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: How to access the C compiler?
« Reply #8 on: April 15, 2019, 05:16:27 PM »
BSzili thanks, i will try the  --strip-unneeded switch, maybe it can help. it CAN work in single core mode, but this is software rendering and its optimized to run on 2 threads, it would be so soft and fluid on 2 core.   lack of sound is happened with virtualbox (i did the whole process in virtualbox) and virtualbox does  a regular ac97 so its strange it had no sound. this is some kernel or driver glitch because if i wanted to test the built-in music tracker software to find out if there is actually any sound, the whole kernel froze.
Some considerations
1. VirtualBOX is the toy for people who don't want to get serious into virtualisation. Please act as an adult and user vmware player instead ;-)

2. software rendering for 3D apps might be fine, but MESA is available and definitely better on supported hardware
3. audio correctly works on supported ESS, AC97, HDAudiuo and Emu10K cards (and also on vmware). VirtualBOX is broken somewhere, but (vbox) users acceptance degree of the issue is "gneeeeh gneeeeeh VirtualBOX is good, it's your AROS problem" (experimented on my own skin).


magorium

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: How to access the C compiler?
« Reply #9 on: April 15, 2019, 05:27:22 PM »
1. VirtualBOX is the toy for people who don't want to get serious into virtualisation. Please act as an adult and user vmware player instead ;-)
Strange how vmware player isn't able to recognize that my processor has virtual extensions and refuses to use them.... i guess my bad for not reading the vmware manual  ;)

Oh and you guess is right therefor vmware runs like shite on my core2duo.

Quote
3. audio correctly works on supported ESS, AC97, HDAudiuo and Emu10K cards (and also on vmware). VirtualBOX is broken somewhere, but (vbox) users acceptance degree of the issue is "gneeeeh gneeeeeh VirtualBOX is good, it's your AROS problem" (experimented on my own skin).
Sounds works perfectly on the 4.x series of vbox.

Oh, and i give you credit for bashing vbox. they have a tendency to break things that aren't broken. fix them and then break them again (to then fix them again). Repeat the cycle until complaining in the forums about that particular issue stops and then the issue in the bugtracker is solved because nobody complains about it anymore  :)

... a tactic that maybe can be used for AROS ? *ducks*

paolone

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 138
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: How to access the C compiler?
« Reply #10 on: April 16, 2019, 12:15:19 PM »
1. VirtualBOX is the toy for people who don't want to get serious into virtualisation. Please act as an adult and user vmware player instead ;-)
Strange how vmware player isn't able to recognize that my processor has virtual extensions and refuses to use them.... i guess my bad for not reading the vmware manual  ;)

Oh and you guess is right therefor vmware runs like shite on my core2duo.


VMware player isn't able to recognize your processor's VT-extension probably because, on most default BIOS configurations, they are disabled. Please be sure your motherboard has VT-d and VT-x (or any other extension by AMD or Intel) enabled in the BIOS.

Core2Duo class of processors are not supported anymore by VMware. Please stick to Player version 12 because later releases need a Nehalem class CPU or a more recent one. Please have a look here:
https://docs.vmware.com/en/VMware-Workstation-Pro/14/rn/workstation-14-release-notes.html#System


(so yes, basically you didn't read the manual :D)


Quote
Oh, and i give you credit for bashing vbox. they have a tendency to break things that aren't broken. fix them and then break them again (to then fix them again). Repeat the cycle until complaining in the forums about that particular issue stops and then the issue in the bugtracker is solved because nobody complains about it anymore  :)

... a tactic that maybe can be used for AROS ? *ducks*


Sigh.
« Last Edit: April 16, 2019, 12:29:42 PM by paolone »