Author Topic: Screenmode test issue  (Read 211 times)

W4RD3N

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
Screenmode test issue
« on: April 12, 2019, 09:45:24 PM »
Hi!
In Icaros 2.2.7 Screenmode does not allow to test resolutions. A requester pops up complaining about Intuition attempting to reset the screen and to close all the windows. That's after booting the system with nothing else open. Is there a way to make it work to avoid selecting a resolution a monitor does not support?

ntromans

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Screenmode test issue
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2019, 12:58:44 PM »
This is presumably when booting into a native graphics mode (IntelGMA or nvidea)? If so, you should be able to change screenmodes 'on the fly', but as noted all windows needs to be closed, including the dock window at the bottom of the screen. You can easily hide this (and bring it back) via ctrl-t, although after hiding and changing resolution sometimes you hve to swith the Wanderer mode from backdrop to windowed to backdrop again to see it. Oh, and all this is for Wanderer as the 'Workbench' rather than Magellan; I'm not sure if having Magellan running causes a problem.

Cheers,
Nigel.

paolone

  • Moderator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 218
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: Screenmode test issue
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2019, 10:46:00 AM »
Hi!
In Icaros 2.2.7 Screenmode does not allow to test resolutions. A requester pops up complaining about Intuition attempting to reset the screen and to close all the windows. That's after booting the system with nothing else open. Is there a way to make it work to avoid selecting a resolution a monitor does not support?
That's a OS3 heritage. You can't change screenmode when windows are still open on the screen. You need to close everything first. This practically does not allow to 'use' a resolution and makes rebooting a forced choice.