Author Topic: no grub after install of latest version  (Read 294 times)

yogib33r

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
no grub after install of latest version
« on: December 10, 2018, 07:07:05 PM »
hello people

here yogib33r^X-Men demoscene ^^

ok then first thanx a lot for icaros, this is a great project and will be the only one amiga ng due to free and opensource project.
the fact is i done installation right and no problem but rebooting only give me message "grub" and nothing other :(

i would like to make an update-grub but no way for it

i installed it on sata hd with ide choice, perhaps this is the reason why ?

thanx a lot for you help dear amiga friends and stay amigaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

nikos

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 134
  • Karma: +1/-1
    • aspireos
Re: no grub after install of latest version
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2018, 08:11:21 PM »
hello people

here yogib33r^X-Men demoscene ^^

ok then first thanx a lot for icaros, this is a great project and will be the only one amiga ng due to free and opensource project.
the fact is i done installation right and no problem but rebooting only give me message "grub" and nothing other :(

i would like to make an update-grub but no way for it

i installed it on sata hd with ide choice, perhaps this is the reason why ?

thanx a lot for you help dear amiga friends and stay amigaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

Hi

Demo scene we like :) Make a demo for AROS plz :D

IDE choice is what should be used.
Could you try to only install bootloader again.
What hardware do you got?
Do you install from CD?

Edit: I remember I seen this when bootloader is installed to wrong unit number.

If you only try to install bootloader. That you can do from installer and try different unit numbers, I think it will solve it. Just start from 0 and go up and reboot every time.
« Last Edit: December 10, 2018, 08:48:00 PM by nikos »

yogib33r

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: no grub after install of latest version
« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2018, 10:04:34 PM »
hello nickos

at first thanx a lot for answering ^^
yes we did (vital-motion) a music pack for various computers with hollywood mal
here is the link:
http://yoursteff.lautre.net/vm/PRODS/Mdg2-AROS-Vm!.zip
so then ok i go install an ide disk about well 80go
i go see this tomorrow morning ^^
thanx a lot

kindly regards

yogib33r / X-Men^Vital-Motion!
in fact ^^


edit: ok i tried to make ide harddrive but no way, not recognize in bios features
the fact is this is only the grub which doesn't work, perhaps is there some code
or else to make the grub work ? i canno't have the right to make an update-grub
i can do under lubuntu or manjaro, please tell me how to make it and continue
to use icaros :)

thanx a lot by advance ! regards

edit2: by the way i done installation by a famous hard drive called IODD2541
it works as booting isos ( as icaros by boot menu) as virtual systems as windows or
else in vmdk (vmware format). looonnng way some months i stil use it and continue to
do. so i go search for arch boot upgrade perhaps ? as the base or icaros desktop
is arch linux it seems, i go searh in this way but also waiting for any advice from you all !

thanx for all

regards
« Last Edit: December 11, 2018, 10:54:27 AM by yogib33r »

sabbate

  • Guest
Re: no grub after install of latest version
« Reply #3 on: December 11, 2018, 07:59:47 PM »
at least you boot, on my computer does not do that even before, there were not these problems, however, try to do an installation on usb stick

hi

Salvatore

yogib33r

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: no grub after install of latest version
« Reply #4 on: December 12, 2018, 09:39:07 AM »
hello dear sabbate

the fact is i choose to install it on a oldy laptop, an acer es1 511
it seems to install right, i go to make it real this afternoon.

thanx a lot for your answer !

regards

your deer yogib33r

sabbate

  • Guest
Re: no grub after install of latest version
« Reply #5 on: December 12, 2018, 01:04:24 PM »
I did not understand this incompatibility with my computers, maybe you have to have an i3, i5 and i7, but I noticed that my motherboards are intel, maybe that's the problem!

Hi

Salvatore

nikos

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 134
  • Karma: +1/-1
    • aspireos
Re: no grub after install of latest version
« Reply #6 on: December 12, 2018, 04:33:15 PM »
Sabbate: I only use Intel with AROS or other OS. Used lot's from the core2duo platform. Even the Laptop I promote to use with AROS is core2duo.
« Last Edit: December 12, 2018, 04:39:11 PM by nikos »

yogib33r

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: no grub after install of latest version
« Reply #7 on: December 12, 2018, 06:12:59 PM »
hello friends !

so then i succed ! used a old tower with rtel8139 and nvidia vidéo card and comptabible !
so then it works fine right now ^^ but wich usb dongle do you advice me to buy ?

because i will have only wifi in my next appartement

so then :


sabbate

  • Guest
Re: no grub after install of latest version
« Reply #8 on: December 12, 2018, 06:24:25 PM »
nikos to me nothing works in my computer, both the dell optiplex that the assembled with card intel, surely I will have been unlucky, but in the past I did not have these problems and another computer I have not bought, even if I have already buy an old pentium 4, which surely will give

hi

Salvatore

nikos

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 134
  • Karma: +1/-1
    • aspireos
Re: no grub after install of latest version
« Reply #9 on: December 12, 2018, 07:48:42 PM »
hello friends !

so then i succed ! used a old tower with rtel8139 and nvidia vidéo card and comptabible !
so then it works fine right now ^^ but wich usb dongle do you advice me to buy ?

because i will have only wifi in my next appartement

so then :

Cool :)

Maybe most easy is just to use some android phone with usb-cable to get online. Do you have that?

yogib33r

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: no grub after install of latest version
« Reply #10 on: December 13, 2018, 09:02:09 AM »
hello both hello nickos

ha ? i don't know about this kind of connection with icaros but
i remember i have an athéros wifi dongle which could works ?
anyone knows about it ?

so then i have my aros computer ^^ seems to work well !

i go waking up now ^^

regards to you both

sabbate

  • Guest
Re: no grub after install of latest version
« Reply #11 on: December 13, 2018, 12:01:25 PM »
only usb adapter netgear W311 V2 Works

hi

Salvatore

yogib33r

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: no grub after install of latest version
« Reply #12 on: December 13, 2018, 02:24:19 PM »
hello sabbate

ok thanx i go see this later :)

regards