AROS Exec

Aros Exec => Site feedback => Topic started by: nikos on November 02, 2018, 11:02:15 AM

Title: Painfull posting
Post by: nikos on November 02, 2018, 11:02:15 AM
Often the posting does not work after clicking post button.

Also after editing a post sometimes nothing happen.
Title: Re: Painfull posting
Post by: 4pLaY on November 02, 2018, 06:16:19 PM
I need more information to be able to reproduce this, what OS and Browser?
Title: Re: Painfull posting
Post by: nikos on November 02, 2018, 11:46:03 PM
It happen with Linux, AROS and Windows 10 at work.

Try to write something and use maybe a couple of mins. before you post.
Title: Re: Painfull posting
Post by: 4pLaY on November 03, 2018, 03:41:24 PM
It happen with Linux, AROS and Windows 10 at work.

Try to write something and use maybe a couple of mins. before you post.

But how does it work from home? maybe it is something with your work network? i can not reproduce this problem here. Msg me on irc/fb when you are around and we can discuss it live.
Title: Re: Painfull posting
Post by: magorium on November 05, 2018, 01:57:46 AM
I've just experienced something similar when modifying an existing post.
- modify post
- preview
- post ...
- took to long to respond so i cancelled in browser (firefox)
- tried to post again ... nothing happens ... preview works... try to post again ... nothing. Cycle can be repeated.

I managed to get out of it by pressing the home page (edits cancelled), modifying the post again and post (which then went ok on the first try).

PS: on previewing this post the preview box kep 'stuck' on with the message "Fetching Preview", so i finally opted to post without reviewing. Cookie issues ?
Title: Re: Painfull posting
Post by: wawa on November 14, 2018, 10:27:16 PM
ive been experiencing similar. a number of times. the browser took just ages to post my message, so that i lost hope it will. went away and after ive returned after several minutes i actually have found the message posted. sometimes it does even seem to crash my browser, currently opera.
Title: Re: Painfull posting
Post by: wawa on November 14, 2018, 10:28:19 PM
this time it worked immediately. however. show effect.
Title: Re: Painfull posting
Post by: nikos on November 14, 2018, 10:31:53 PM
Big problems posting here at times. Just as wawa say.
Title: Re: Painfull posting
Post by: 4pLaY on November 14, 2018, 10:40:09 PM
Big problems posting here at times. Just as wawa say.

This problem is on the list of things to fix here, i am not sure why it happens yet but be patient, as soon as i know why it happens it will be fixed.
Title: Re: Painfull posting
Post by: wawa on November 14, 2018, 11:33:26 PM
we are patient.
Title: Re: Painfull posting
Post by: magorium on November 14, 2018, 11:46:27 PM
@4pLaY:
Perhaps it is of importance (perhaps not, if so then please ignore):
If i travel to your top domain with the amiga forums then my firefox shows a visible session link in the URL bar. The ae subdomain however does not seems to do something similar.
Title: Re: Painfull posting
Post by: ncafferkey on February 22, 2019, 07:07:14 PM
This still happens to me, both at home and at work. Firefox on Mac and Safari on iOS.
Title: Re: Painfull posting
Post by: 4pLaY on February 22, 2019, 07:35:40 PM
This still happens to me, both at home and at work. Firefox on Mac and Safari on iOS.

I will try and see if i can track down the problem.
Title: Re: Painfull posting
Post by: 4pLaY on March 05, 2019, 11:41:40 PM
I think i have fixed this problem now, but i need some feedback, are any of you guys still having this problem, a simple yes or no will suffice.
Title: Re: Painfull posting
Post by: Argo on March 06, 2019, 06:25:10 AM
Let's see if this works   

Seem to not be an issue for this post
Title: Re: Painfull posting
Post by: ncafferkey on March 06, 2019, 10:36:17 PM
My previous two posts this week, and hopefully this one too, gave me no trouble.
Title: Re: Painfull posting
Post by: magorium on April 15, 2019, 04:43:14 PM
It's still crap for me. Preview hurts for about 5 minutes and post for about 2-3 minutes.

Oh... try opening 3-4 pages at the same time.... f-ing cloudflare ... also not even able to provide a decent captcha. Very difficult to understand that sometimes you use a freakin' phone or tablet. Putting the captcha at the left side of the visible area of your screen then sucks. And what's up with the quality of the pictures of the captcha themselves ? are they ripped form a vic-20 or so. The quality of the graphics is poor as hell and don't even allow to differetiate between a head or a tail. Did they actually rip-off the orignal captcha ?

So... rant over and out  :)
Title: Re: Painfull posting
Post by: 4pLaY on April 16, 2019, 07:12:16 PM
It's still crap for me. Preview hurts for about 5 minutes and post for about 2-3 minutes.

Oh... try opening 3-4 pages at the same time.... f-ing cloudflare ... also not even able to provide a decent captcha. Very difficult to understand that sometimes you use a freakin' phone or tablet. Putting the captcha at the left side of the visible area of your screen then sucks. And what's up with the quality of the pictures of the captcha themselves ? are they ripped form a vic-20 or so. The quality of the graphics is poor as hell and don't even allow to differetiate between a head or a tail. Did they actually rip-off the orignal captcha ?

So... rant over and out  :)

I never get these issues myself anymore, I really do not know why this keeps happening to some of you, if anyone knows what it might be, feel free to send me a PM!

As for the captcha, that is built into the forum software, and yes, it might be hard to read sometimes, but if I make it easier, we would get more spam bots and then people would complain about that instead.
Title: Re: Painfull posting
Post by: magorium on April 16, 2019, 11:13:08 PM
I never get these issues myself anymore, I really do not know why this keeps happening to some of you, if anyone knows what it might be, feel free to send me a PM!
The only thing that is noticable for me is that it is either busy (multiple people browsing around or logged in) or after a great while that the forum seems to be dead and non active (and me being the first one bringing back to life again, sort of speak).

It doesn't seem to matter which OS, which browswer etc. The only thing i can't change (well i can but imho besides the point) is my point of origin.

Quote
As for the captcha, that is built into the forum software, and yes, it might be hard to read sometimes, but if I make it easier, we would get more spam bots and then people would complain about that instead.
I understand but sometimes it is nearly impossible to solve because of the bad picture quality. On a normal peecee i can zoom but that feature doesn't seem to work for tablets/phones. Not to mention that depending on the orientation of the phone/tablet the captcha widget present itself outside the visible area of the screen (only the last column is visible, first 2 columns are off screen).

Not expecting a solution rather that you are aware this can happen. Perhaps something to look for when a new release is available so that you can browse through the change-log(s) to see if it is addressed or not (in case you're using a standard feature that causes it).

PS: oh before i forget. Somehow everytime someone "takes a look at things" the forum site speeds up considerably. Even to an extend that i know for sure someone is being screwed when compared to every day usage of the forum. Right now these forums are responding superfast. So fast that i'm sometimes pinching my arms and slapping my face to see if i'm sure i saw things go that fast.