I'm excited!

Big Giant Head · 1191

Big Giant Head

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 4
    • Karma: +0/-0
on: August 14, 2021, 12:05:08 AM
Hello everyone!

I'm excited to start using Icaros as I'm an Amiga tragic. Had an A1000, A500, A600 & A1200AGA back in the day and really wish I still did (especially the 1200!)  Oddly, I have no idea what happened to any of them, you'd think I'd remember that sort of thing.

Anyway, I'm keen to have a crack with Icaros however I can't get the latest version to download, all I get is a blank screen. I'm assuming 2.3 is the latest release? Can someone please point me to a working download linky please?

Look forward to being a part of the community!



AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1057
    • Karma: +34/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #1 on: August 14, 2021, 12:22:19 AM
From which link are you downloading IcarOS? On the Icaros site downloads work fine:

https://vmwaros.blogspot.com/p/download.html


Big Giant Head

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 4
    • Karma: +0/-0
Reply #2 on: August 14, 2021, 12:35:43 AM
Ah I'm a dummy  ;D
I was clicking the wrong part instead of clicking the word 'Download'  :o

Let's blame hayfever head shall we?

Downloading now!



salvo

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1303
    • Karma: +18/-4
  • TinyAros
    • TinyAros
Reply #3 on: August 14, 2021, 03:40:40 PM
you are welcome

hi :)

TinyAros Manteiner http://tinyaros.flazio.com


salvo

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1303
    • Karma: +18/-4
  • TinyAros
    • TinyAros
Reply #4 on: August 14, 2021, 03:45:35 PM
You should download another version of Odyssey Browser, the one included in Icaros has the player for YouTube deactivated, however also with the version indicated on the link you can view the YouTube videos listed on Google after searching on it, the YouTube page does not work at Moment on our browser

http://archives.aros-exec.org/share/network/browser/owb-1.25.i386-aros.zip

then replace the executable with this below

http://archives.aros-exec.org/share/network/browser/odyssey-1.25-11.i386-aros.zip

Finally replace the attached file with the one present in the program directory is more updated

« Last Edit: August 14, 2021, 03:49:43 PM by salvo »

TinyAros Manteiner http://tinyaros.flazio.com


salvo

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1303
    • Karma: +18/-4
  • TinyAros
    • TinyAros
Reply #5 on: August 15, 2021, 01:52:45 PM
Yes Aros is a free system we are now going through a very particular period many developers who dealt with the system we are using went away, but we are not alone, the great Deadwood has not abandoned us, and he is currently dealing with the system , then there are software projects that continue to be born, there are new distributions in addition to iCaros Desktop, users who also develop to improve the system itself and finally those who are working to bring this reality to x64 thanks to their deadwood could have made changes to what we still use :)

TinyAros Manteiner http://tinyaros.flazio.com


Big Giant Head

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 4
    • Karma: +0/-0
Reply #6 on: August 16, 2021, 11:01:29 PM
I'm hoping to find enough time to have a good play with it soon.  I got it installed but it seems to error on startup, something about user paths or files missing.
When it was installing it did have an error saying some files couldn't be found, one of which was the manual lol. I'm wondering if this is normal or if I should reinstall?



AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1057
    • Karma: +34/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #7 on: August 17, 2021, 12:25:51 AM
Where did you install IcarOS on PC or Virtual Machine?

Did you use a burned DVD or did you use the ISO (Virtual Machine)?


salvo

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1303
    • Karma: +18/-4
  • TinyAros
    • TinyAros
Reply #8 on: August 17, 2021, 12:23:01 PM
It could be a burning problem :-\

TinyAros Manteiner http://tinyaros.flazio.com


Big Giant Head

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 4
    • Karma: +0/-0
Reply #9 on: August 17, 2021, 11:46:00 PM
Where did you install IcarOS on PC or Virtual Machine?

Did you use a burned DVD or did you use the ISO (Virtual Machine)?

I've got a PC just sitting there so I did an install from the DVD ISO I burned.  Initially it loaded fine but then after a few reboots the missing paths thing came up.

As an aside I was playing with the appearance but nothing actually changed so perhaps the install is borked.

There were no error messages when I did the original burn through Imgburn on my Win 10 machine.



AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1057
    • Karma: +34/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #10 on: August 18, 2021, 09:42:16 AM
You should specify the type of error, if AROS startup stops at a "black screen" then it's a hardware incompatibility issue, HERE you can check if your hardware is supported.

If instead the error is on the Workbench then it may be that the DVD has not been burned well, in this case you could try to do an installation via Pendrive.

As a first experience I recommend you to install AROS on a Virtual Machine, VMWare Player is the easiest solution but it installs perfectly also with VirtualBox, I attach one of my videos that shows how to install an AROS Distribution on a Virtual machine.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1-GqGf5xktcFvezngVPOltiGwR8i_NIGl/view


salvo

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1303
    • Karma: +18/-4
  • TinyAros
    • TinyAros
Reply #11 on: August 19, 2021, 03:03:04 PM
Try another distribution to see if it's okay :)

TinyAros Manteiner http://tinyaros.flazio.com