problem with my DH0 partition at startup

Ed17 · 277

Ed17

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 4
    • Karma: +0/-0
on: August 30, 2021, 05:04:14 PM
Like I told  in  my  first  post  on this  forum, I successfully installed Icaros  native  on a pentium 4 XPC shuttle  computer.
I didn't  use  it  for  a  few  weeks. Last time I powered the  machine, all went  well.
Yesterday I wanted  to use  it, and  after the  boot  sequence and the choice  of  my  resolution,  I got this  message:
"DH0 has a blockid  error  in block 18473. Expected was blockid 0x434A424F, but the  block says it  is  blockid 0x000000000"
What does that  mean, and  should  I consider  a  new install?
Thank you very much for your  help.



salvo

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1142
    • Karma: +14/-4
  • Invalid Civil
Reply #1 on: August 30, 2021, 06:14:08 PM
If you used the computer previously without problems, maybe you should make a new installation :-\

Software Contributor RNOPublisher, RNOArchive

Sign Up On AmigaMap
https://amigamap.com/


AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 701
    • Karma: +32/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #2 on: August 30, 2021, 06:19:58 PM
@Ed17

Although rare for the SFS filesystem, the error may have been caused by a system shutdown while you were copying something, but I suspect a physical problem with the Hardisk.

The problem cannot be solved you have to reformat and reinstall, but first check that the Hardisk is in good health, if you have the PC you can check it with CrystalDiskInfo


salvo

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1142
    • Karma: +14/-4
  • Invalid Civil
Reply #3 on: August 30, 2021, 06:20:26 PM
If you are using a HD SATA, remember to activate IDE compatibility on the BIOS, usually these types of disk access errors are caused by this problem

Software Contributor RNOPublisher, RNOArchive

Sign Up On AmigaMap
https://amigamap.com/


salvo

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1142
    • Karma: +14/-4
  • Invalid Civil
Reply #4 on: August 30, 2021, 06:31:16 PM
If you don't have to resolve with this option from the BIOS there is a tool to retrieve partitions, launches the CD in Live Mode and loaded on the key this program that has been done by Serk a community programmer

http://archives.aros-exec.org/share/audio/arsfsdoctor_v1.zip


Software Contributor RNOPublisher, RNOArchive

Sign Up On AmigaMap
https://amigamap.com/


Ed17

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 4
    • Karma: +0/-0
Reply #5 on: August 30, 2021, 06:39:41 PM
@Salvo @Amigasystem
Thanks  for the  hints, I smelled a  problem of this  kind; I will check the disk (IDE) and  will go for a  fresh install



salvo

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1142
    • Karma: +14/-4
  • Invalid Civil
Reply #6 on: August 30, 2021, 06:55:26 PM
ok man :)

Software Contributor RNOPublisher, RNOArchive

Sign Up On AmigaMap
https://amigamap.com/


serk118uk

  • Junior Member
  • **
    • Posts: 81
    • Karma: +9/-0
Reply #7 on: August 31, 2021, 02:55:35 PM
If you are using a HD SATA, remember to activate IDE compatibility on the BIOS, usually these types of disk access errors are caused by this problem

I agree, very common problem , bios settings > SATA must change to IDE.

Lets Build Not Destroy...


AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 701
    • Karma: +32/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #8 on: August 31, 2021, 03:06:39 PM
However, you should check that the hard disk is in good condition.
« Last Edit: August 31, 2021, 05:21:50 PM by AMIGASYSTEM »