IconClone Icon Exchange

miker1264 · 3178

miker1264

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1352
    • Karma: +82/-6
Reply #75 on: January 21, 2023, 06:42:16 PM
I viewed the video. Please attach the icons from the video so I can examine them.

Is it AROS x86 or 68k ? I suspect I know what the problem is.
« Last Edit: January 21, 2023, 06:55:03 PM by miker1264 »



AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2642
    • Karma: +64/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #76 on: January 21, 2023, 06:59:30 PM
The problem is on AROS X86, but also AROS 68k, the corruption happens with any type of Icon as long as it is used as a "Disk" Icon, you can use the icons I sent you, or the native AROS Disk Icons, OS3 Glow, OS4, or S3 DualPNG.

You basically have to rename the Disk.info icon and copy it to the root of the disk, and then try to swap with othera disk icon
« Last Edit: January 21, 2023, 07:04:17 PM by AMIGASYSTEM »



miker1264

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1352
    • Karma: +82/-6
Reply #77 on: January 25, 2023, 12:28:46 AM
The problem is on AROS X86, but also AROS 68k, the corruption happens with any type of Icon as long as it is used as a "Disk" Icon, you can use the icons I sent you, or the native AROS Disk Icons, OS3 Glow, OS4, or S3 DualPNG.

You basically have to rename the Disk.info icon and copy it to the root of the disk, and then try to swap with othera disk icon

Thanks for the information. I will try to reproduce the error then correct it. I will examine the icon exchange for Disk.info & Ram Disk: as well as the icons for "leave out".

I have started adding the command line arguments & switches. The code requires quite a lot of re-writing for it to work correctly. So far I can send it one or two icon filenames with the -o switch which tells IconClone to open the GUI & display the icon(s). There are two command switches -h (help) & -o (open).

These are the planned command sequences: send it icon filenames with -h displays help. Send it two icon filenames without switches will perform the icon exchange without opening the GUI. Send it one or two icon filenames with -o switch will open the GUI & it will display one or two icons.



AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2642
    • Karma: +64/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #78 on: January 25, 2023, 12:34:48 AM
Thanks to you, the most important options are to change the type of Icons, on AROS unfortunately there is nothing that can do that, it can only be done if you use Dopus5, but I don't care about Dopus5.


miker1264

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1352
    • Karma: +82/-6
Reply #79 on: January 25, 2023, 12:43:00 AM
Thanks to you, the most important options are to change the type of Icons, on AROS unfortunately there is nothing that can do that, it can only be done if you use Dopus5, but I don't care about Dopus5.

There is another icon tool that is planned to do that. It is simply called IconType. We can easily change icon type for Classic Icons. But for DualPNG Icons that information resides in the ic0n chunk. I've already started that app.  :)

These small icon tools will all be combined in Icon ToolKit which will be a single app with a button menu. You will be able to select several icon tools from the menu buttons.

The icon tools for the menu buttons so far are: IconClone, IconPress, IconSplit, IconColor, IconProcess & IconType.



« Last Edit: January 25, 2023, 12:46:09 AM by miker1264 »



AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2642
    • Karma: +64/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #80 on: January 25, 2023, 12:49:00 AM
Yes you had mentioned it before, moreover it is very important when an application does not start because the icon is wrong, for example DualPNG "Tools" icons that I create on AfA One with 3.9, on OS 3.2 are seen as "Project" icons


miker1264

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1352
    • Karma: +82/-6
Reply #81 on: January 25, 2023, 01:16:03 AM
Yes you had mentioned it before, moreover it is very important when an application does not start because the icon is wrong, for example DualPNG "Tools" icons that I create on AfA One with 3.9, on OS 3.2 are seen as "Project" icons

If you send me some icon samples I can examine them & use them for testing.




AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2642
    • Karma: +64/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #82 on: January 25, 2023, 01:28:16 AM
It happens occasionally with Icons created for AROS One, but I have never delved into it to look for who is creating the problem, whether AROS or AfA One, next time it happens I will send you an icon.


miker1264

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1352
    • Karma: +82/-6
Reply #83 on: January 26, 2023, 06:39:55 PM
This is my conceptual layout for Icon ToolKit App Launcher.

Each of the Button Menu items on the right side launches a Small Icon App such as IconClone that I'm developing now.

Each Icon App has it's own icon in the same directory as Icon Toolkit so they can also be started independently.

Additionally each Icon App features drag-n-drop and they will have command line arguments and switches as well.

The Button Menu App Launcher can be used to start any external application. Just change the logo & window title. The Button text & app paths can be modified as needed.

The App Launcher source code will be posted when done.

« Last Edit: January 26, 2023, 06:47:07 PM by miker1264 »



Amiwell

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2186
    • Karma: +31/-4
  • Peace
Reply #84 on: January 26, 2023, 07:08:51 PM
very nice Miker :)


AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2642
    • Karma: +64/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #85 on: January 26, 2023, 07:11:45 PM
Outstanding Miker, the fact that the GUI can be realized will be very useful !


miker1264

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1352
    • Karma: +82/-6
Reply #86 on: January 27, 2023, 10:10:41 PM
AMIGASYSTEM

As far as loading & exchanging icons such as "disk.info" here are the test results.

When on Workbench you drag the AROS icon or Ram Disk icon & drop it in IconClone nothing will display. But why?

The filenames are "AROS:" & "Ram Disk:" because these are volume names. For IconClone I will test for filenames ending with ':' which will then pop up a message. We can't load Volume icons directly because they aren't where we expect them to be. "Left Out" icons such as Dopus4 seem to load just fine. Though dragging icons sometimes causes image distortion.

On the other hand I know where the Volume icons are located. So I could just substitute the filenames. AROS: is actually AROS:disk.info. Same for Ram Disk: icon location. Also these icons on Workbench won't change till system reboot.

AROS icon for example is located in the root of "AROS:" volume. Even when you select "All Files" you can't see it. Disk.info is hidden. You can now use the shell command "IconClone --o AROS:disk.info" to open the GUI to load it. Alternatively you can use the '?' File Requester Buttons. "Ram Disk:" icon is located in AROS:Prefs/Env-Archive/SYS/def_Ram.info. If you specify these locations in CLI or go there you can load the icons.

The CLI Arguments & Switches are working now.  :)
« Last Edit: January 27, 2023, 10:21:13 PM by miker1264 »



AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2642
    • Karma: +64/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #87 on: January 28, 2023, 12:32:01 AM
Thanks for the explanations, if it is of interest to you, on OS3 and OS4 the Disk Icons can be swapped quietly from the Workbench


AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2642
    • Karma: +64/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #88 on: January 29, 2023, 12:12:25 PM
Also for Disk Icons, AROS x86 with Dual-PNG Icons behaves strangely:

Any Project icon if copied to the root of the disk, automatically turns into a "Disk" Icon, vice versa if you copy the same icon to a folder it goes back to being a "Project" icon, see screenshot

All this does not happen with Native AROS icons :o
« Last Edit: January 29, 2023, 12:21:41 PM by AMIGASYSTEM »



miker1264

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1352
    • Karma: +82/-6
Reply #89 on: January 29, 2023, 06:44:16 PM
AMIGASYSTEM

Thanks for the information. I will investigate that issue.

In the meantime IconClone has been revised to version 1.10 which will be posted on AROS Archives in the next few days

Work on the next icon tool is going well. It's called IconPress because it "presses" (joins) two images into an icon file. It does what ilbmtoicon does but in a more meaningful & user-friendly way.  :)

Simply drop either two PNG images or two ILBM images in the two Display Areas on Left & Right. There are two buttons. "Save Icon" will save a PNG icon if both images are PNG. It will save a Classic Amiga Icon with OS35 Extension if both images are ILBM. "Save Argb" only works will PNG input images. It will save Classic Amiga Icon with OS35 Extension with Argb data chunks. For example Gorilla Icons are Classic Icons with Argb data chunks.

IconPress uses Neuquant Color Quantizing to reduce the 32bit PNG images to ILBM images with 8 bitplanes to be stored in the OS35 IFF Data. This image conversion is the basis for two small command line apps for AROS that I will write called icon_to_os4 (PNG to OS4.1) & os4_to_icon (OS4.1 to PNG). As far as splitting icons I'm working on two other small command line utilities icon2png (split PNG icon) & icon2iff (split Classic OS35 icon). DT2IFF already reduces a 32bit PNG to 8bit ILBM. All these small utilities will be posted to AROS Archives as well with source code

As mentioned earlier IconClone, IconPress, IconSplit, IconBatch, IconType & IconColor are all small icon apps that will be part of Icon ToolKit. They will also work as standalone icon apps. That's the plan.  ;)