Datatype Conversion Tool

miker1264 · 1655

AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2090
    • Karma: +48/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #15 on: November 27, 2021, 06:56:14 PM
Miker nice surprise!!! your Multiview "ELF" also works on OS3 and therefore also on my AfA One :o only problem that is disabled the save and some other function :'(

I deny myself, your Multiview has never started on OS3 and never will because it is an "ELF" executable.

I don't know why clicking on your Multiview started the Multiview of OS 3.9 installed on the system.

The doubt came to me when I saw the version of the Multiview that was running, so to be sure I renamed my Multiview and your Multiview no longer started up.  ;D ;D ;D

« Last Edit: November 27, 2021, 11:00:40 PM by AMIGASYSTEM »



miker1264

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1291
    • Karma: +82/-2
Reply #16 on: November 27, 2021, 08:46:36 PM
Miker nice surprise!!! your Multiview "ELF" also works on OS3 and therefore also on my AfA One :o only problem that is disabled the save and some other function :'(

Interesting concept.

But that menu doesn't look familiar to me.



AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2090
    • Karma: +48/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #17 on: November 27, 2021, 10:28:57 PM

But that menu doesn't look familiar to me.

What do you mean? It is a normal OS3.9 menu graphically embellished with magic menu, watch in full the small video attached:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1spQktNoo4AFSRc_eQDN5ZD4huTvA0DV2/view?usp=sharing



AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2090
    • Karma: +48/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #18 on: November 27, 2021, 10:59:55 PM

Interesting concept.


No longer interesting, I took a blunder read above !


miker1264

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1291
    • Karma: +82/-2
Reply #19 on: November 27, 2021, 11:03:26 PM

Interesting concept.


No longer interesting, I took a blunder read above !

It wasn't the MultiView Menu. That was MysticView instead.



AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2090
    • Karma: +48/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #20 on: November 28, 2021, 12:25:51 AM

It wasn't the MultiView Menu. That was MysticView instead.

No it's Multiview Os 3.9 BB3, see screenshot !
« Last Edit: November 28, 2021, 12:37:13 AM by AMIGASYSTEM »



miker1264

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1291
    • Karma: +82/-2
Reply #21 on: November 28, 2021, 07:38:22 AM
Here is an updated version. You can now edit the destination string gadget text directly or use the file requester to select a new destination. It seems to work fairly well now.

It doesn't like paths with spaces. I'm working on that to test for spaces & illegal characters.

But in this case it seems the problem is the filename MultiView sends to the Datatype Conversion Tool. It gets shortened if it has spaces in the filepath. But that can be fixed by using the file requester to re-select the filepath. It supports using spaces. But that's just a temporary workaround. It should get fixed right.
« Last Edit: November 28, 2021, 09:37:41 PM by miker1264 »



AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2090
    • Karma: +48/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #22 on: November 28, 2021, 10:59:15 PM
Miker could you enlarge a little the GUI of DT Convert? in practice if the system uses fonts a little larger the GUI of DT Convert breaks down, see scteenshot


miker1264

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1291
    • Karma: +82/-2
Reply #23 on: November 28, 2021, 11:10:48 PM
Miker could you enlarge a little the GUI of DT Convert? in practice if the system uses fonts a little larger the GUI of DT Convert breaks down, see scteenshot

I will look into doing that. I was wondering why your user interface looked odd.  :)

Are you using a global font size? Which font and size so I can test?

There is a function called ComputeFont that I may use to adjust the user interface.
« Last Edit: November 29, 2021, 03:57:03 AM by miker1264 »



miker1264

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1291
    • Karma: +82/-2
Reply #24 on: November 29, 2021, 06:20:18 AM
A few minor improvements. It's coming along nicely.



miker1264

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1291
    • Karma: +82/-2
Reply #25 on: December 02, 2021, 07:19:01 PM
I have often wanted something like the Magellan Feature called SmartRead to randomly read a file in MultiView using Binary DT.

Now DTConvert GUI allows converting to "HEX" (binary). This is how it works. We look at the source file to get filesize then store the binary data in a byte buffer. We make a new empty file using the destination filename with .bin extension. We prepend ASCII "BIN:" to the new file then write the contents of the byte buffer.

When you look at the file on IcarosDesktop it will have an "Unknown File" Icon (white paper icon). Because of the BIN: header it can't be recognized by the Datatypes System. So when you click the file to open in MultiView it displays as Binary Text.

The user can then optionally delete the bin file when finished.



miker1264

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1291
    • Karma: +82/-2
Reply #26 on: December 08, 2021, 09:36:19 AM
Here is the latest DTConvertGUI as well as the fancy icon thanks to @AMIGASYSTEM.

I also included the MultiView Icon with sample ToolTypes.



miker1264

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1291
    • Karma: +82/-2
Reply #27 on: December 09, 2021, 03:48:40 AM
This is DTConverGUI on AROS One x86 v1.6

As you can see the User Interface looks just fine. Font is Arial 14.

I would have tested it with some picture files but AROS One wouldn't let me copy from USB Flash.



AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2090
    • Karma: +48/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #28 on: December 09, 2021, 09:15:00 AM
This is DTConverGUI on AROS One x86 v1.6

No that in your screenshot is not AROS One x86 v1.6, but a very old version AROS One x86 v1.2, AROS One v1.6 you can find it HERE

Quote
As you can see the User Interface looks just fine. Font is Arial 14.

Yes even Font Arial 15 works well because they are small fonts, see screenshot, if you increase to 16 you'll see that the GUI breaks down, Arial 14 however is forced because it doesn't really exist.

Quote
I would have tested it with some picture files but AROS One wouldn't let me copy from USB Flash.

This is very strange maybe it's a VirtualBox configuration problem, it works fine for me !


It's about DTConv/DTConertGUI on AROS 68k the JPG format doesn't work it creates only 0 Byte files
« Last Edit: December 09, 2021, 11:34:53 AM by AMIGASYSTEM »



miker1264

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1291
    • Karma: +82/-2
Reply #29 on: December 09, 2021, 04:13:03 PM
You need the revised jped datatype.  :)

Even Arial 14 was sufficient on AROS One x86.

So bump it down to Arial 15 and stop breaking things!  ;D
« Last Edit: December 09, 2021, 04:26:38 PM by miker1264 »