MediaVault

AMIGASYSTEM · 1071

AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2090
    • Karma: +48/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #15 on: October 31, 2021, 07:11:06 AM
I think MediaVault can't be ported to AROS because it uses "ReAction". :(



salvo

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1883
    • Karma: +22/-4
  • Peace an Love
Reply #16 on: October 31, 2021, 10:43:46 AM
Amigasystem that Assign you did for GCC?

IcarosDesktop on HP Z400 Workstation


AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2090
    • Karma: +48/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #17 on: October 31, 2021, 11:00:15 AM
Assign GCC: SYS:Development
Assign USR: GCC:
Assign LIB: GCC:lib
Path GCC:bin add

Naturalmente devi anche copiare/sovrascrivere  tutto il contenuto incluso nell'archivio gcc-4.2.2-i386-aros.tar.bz2 nella cartella "Development" e riavviare il sistema.

--- English ---

Of course you also have to copy/overwrite all content included in the gcc-4.2.2-i386-aros.tar.bz2 archive to the "Development" folder and reboot the system.


salvo

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1883
    • Karma: +22/-4
  • Peace an Love
Reply #18 on: October 31, 2021, 11:18:12 AM
Thank you very much :D

IcarosDesktop on HP Z400 Workstation


AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2090
    • Karma: +48/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #19 on: October 31, 2021, 11:31:25 AM
Metti gli assign nella user-startup

Se devi aggiungere questi assign anche nella ISO gli utenti quando eseguono InstallAROS dovranno scegliere l'installazione "Development" altrimenti se questa cartella non verrā ritrovata al riavvio del sistema installato usciranno fuori errori.

Per evitare questo puoi creare uno script con gli assign in modo che si possa eseguire comodamente quando serve e dopo aver creato o copiato la cartella  "Development", inoltre per chi non installa "Development" dovra assegnare anche questo percorso nella Env-Archive

--- English ---

Put the assignments in the user-startup

If you have to add these assigns also in the ISO, users when running InstallAROS will have to choose the "Development" installation, otherwise if this folder is not found when restarting the installed system, errors will come up.

To avoid this you can create a script with the assigns so that you can run it conveniently when you need and after creating or copying the folder "Development", also for those who do not install "Development" should also assign this path in the Env-Archive


salvo

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1883
    • Karma: +22/-4
  • Peace an Love
Reply #20 on: October 31, 2021, 11:49:46 AM
ok right thank's :)

IcarosDesktop on HP Z400 Workstation


AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2090
    • Karma: +48/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #21 on: October 31, 2021, 12:32:58 PM
There is also a shortcut for using assigns in the ISO to avoid mistakes by people who don't install "Development", and that is to add in "If EXISTS" before the assigns and "EndIF" after the assigns.

This way if the "Development" folder doesn't exist the assigns will be ignored.

In any case the assignment of the "Development" path must always be present in the Env-Archive otherwise the assignments will not work.


walkero

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 7
    • Karma: +0/-0
Reply #22 on: October 31, 2021, 01:48:29 PM
Hello everyone. I just saw that topic and am sorry I didn't reply earlier.

MediaVault is not easy to be ported to AROS natively, since it uses ReAction, and as much as I know, there is no way to build a reaction application for AROS. Please correct me if I am wrong.
Also, it needs a JSON parsing library. The one that I am using is called Jansson, and I am not sure it exists for AROS either. Another library could be used, which means that there will be a need to change that part of the code as well.
In my opinion, if you need to do the above, then 2/3 of the code needs to change, and maybe it would be better to make a new application from the scratch.

But I do plan to work on a 68k version of the application. Do the 68k ReAction apps work in a way on AROS? Sorry for my ignorance, but I am not using AROS, except for some times that I tried Icaros.



amigamia

  • Junior Member
  • **
    • Posts: 98
    • Karma: +45/-0
    • AROS World
Reply #23 on: October 31, 2021, 01:57:29 PM
Hey Walkero,

looks like there is one in the Aros archives but it's the source ready to be compiled for AROS. It may need some minor updates but it is possible to have jansson for AROS: http://archives.aros-exec.org/index.php?function=showfile&file=library/misc/jansson-2.7.zip


salvo

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1883
    • Karma: +22/-4
  • Peace an Love
Reply #24 on: October 31, 2021, 02:34:09 PM
Amigasystem I didn't manage but it's not a problem, however, I thank you, I had already read the Readme on how to install the package, I'll do some other tests if anything :)

IcarosDesktop on HP Z400 Workstation


AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2090
    • Karma: +48/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #25 on: October 31, 2021, 07:01:55 PM

But I do plan to work on a 68k version of the application. Do the 68k ReAction apps work in a way on AROS? Sorry for my ignorance, but I am not using AROS, except for some times that I tried Icaros.

Hi walkero, officially AROS 68k is based on Amiga OS 3.1, and can run many native OS 3 applications see ApolloOS and Aros Vision distributions, then there is my AROS One 68k that instead I try to use it only with the native AROS 68k software, with a few exceptions

That said if you want on AROS 68k you can also run without problems native OS 3.9 applications based on ReAction if you install the necessary libraries, but of course I think it would not be completely legal.


AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2090
    • Karma: +48/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #26 on: October 31, 2021, 07:08:10 PM
Amigasystem I didn't manage but it's not a problem, however, I thank you, I had already read the Readme on how to install the package, I'll do some other tests if anything :)

Se nell'installazione InstallAROS non hai spuntato e installato "Development" č normale che non funzionano gli assign, se no lo hai fatto devi creare il file "Development" nella Env-Archive/Sys

--- English ---

If in the InstallAROS installation you have not checked and installed "Development" it is normal that the assignments don't work, if not you have to create the "Development" file in the Env-Archive/Sys
« Last Edit: October 31, 2021, 07:39:15 PM by AMIGASYSTEM »



AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2090
    • Karma: +48/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #27 on: November 02, 2021, 10:51:22 PM
Assign GCC: SYS:Development
Assign USR: GCC:
Assign LIB: GCC:lib
Path GCC:bin add

Found the right location to these Assign in order not to have the problems mentioned, the best solution in my opinion is to insert them in the file "Package-Startup" path Development/S


salvo

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1883
    • Karma: +22/-4
  • Peace an Love
Reply #28 on: November 03, 2021, 02:28:37 PM
I will try this option :-\

IcarosDesktop on HP Z400 Workstation