Change graphics card without reinstalling? [Nevermind, solved]

xefe · 1304

xefe

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 22
    • Karma: +0/-0
Hello!

Been using Aros natively (icaros) on an old HP Pentium 4 3.2 Ghz small form factor using integrated intel GMA graphics.
Today i bought a very cheap Nvidia GT 210 for that sweet OpenGL support. I tested and stressed the card on a pc and is working normally.
I put the card on the HP slot and the pc boots fine, Bios works normally, Icaros boot menu appears normal and verbose mode before loading the desktop appears as usual. The problem is, when the desktop loads it's just a bunch of garbled graphics. I think Icaros still thinks it is using the Intel GMA integrated.

Selecting Vesa resolution on icaros boot menu work in true color but graphics are kind of slow.

Question is: How do i change the drivers (do i have to?) from the Intel GMA to Nvidia GT 210? How to make the Icaros desktop work again with the GT 210? Should the transition be automatic and something else is wrong? Can't find enough info about it on the net. I'm trying to avoid formatting and reinstalling Icaros...

Thanks!

edit: i added a pic of the supposed icaros desktop...
« Last Edit: November 29, 2020, 01:11:32 AM by xefe »



xefe

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 22
    • Karma: +0/-0
Reply #1 on: November 28, 2020, 07:22:27 PM
I solved it!

Just set "PCI SERR# Generation" to disabled in the HP bios!

YAY!

I'm a happy camper playing Hurrican.
« Last Edit: December 07, 2020, 12:52:17 AM by xefe »



paolone

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 517
    • Karma: +87/-0
Reply #2 on: November 30, 2020, 11:25:31 AM
I solved it!

Just disabled "Nvidia unknown device" in the HP bios!

YAY!

I'm a happy camper playing Hurrican.


The clean AROS way to do this should be moving the Intel GMA driver from Devs/Monitors to Sotrage/Monitors, to avoid the kernel opening it.


xefe

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 22
    • Karma: +0/-0
Reply #3 on: December 01, 2020, 12:27:29 AM
Hi paolone! Thanks for the tip.

I have another problem going on with the GT 210. Aros is not boosting the clocks to the max. Isn't it supposed to do so?
I noticed bad performance, even for a GT 210, on Cube 2 Sauerbraten, turns out i measured 0,9v vcore with the multimeter (probing a vcore capacitor on the back of the card) when i should be measuring 1,0v. Aros is setting the card to the 2nd PState(Throttle) only instead of raising it to the 3rd state (3D).

0,85v -> 2D
0,90v -> Throttle
1,00v -> 3D

Can this be corrected?



deadwood

  • AROS Developer
  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1137
    • Karma: +107/-0
Reply #4 on: December 01, 2020, 07:49:25 AM
This version of driver has no fan control, so for safety reasons it never goes to performance mode on GT cards. Changing this would require driver update which is not currently on my TODO list.



xefe

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 22
    • Karma: +0/-0
Reply #5 on: December 01, 2020, 05:01:55 PM
This version of driver has no fan control, so for safety reasons it never goes to performance mode on GT cards. Changing this would require driver update which is not currently on my TODO list.

Than this statement "Higher gpu clocks, rather than pixel shaders are more important to AROS, so steer clear of lower end cards for any generation" in https://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Aros/Platforms/x86_support#nouveau.hidd_(nvidia) makes little sense, i think.

If that's the only reason then could you consider to make a driver variant with the safety disabled for people with passively cooled cards? Or a way to user enable boosting?

Thanks!
« Last Edit: December 02, 2020, 03:47:47 PM by xefe »



xefe

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 22
    • Karma: +0/-0
Reply #6 on: December 03, 2020, 09:13:57 PM
Also on https://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Aros/Platforms/x86_support :

" Nouveau development and actual benchmark speed tests are a lot slower than the rival radeon support in 2D and 3D

    2010 Covers TNT through 8
    2011 GTX 200 400 added
    2012 reclocking added for 200/300 cards and some fan control but new "NV30" driver for the GeForce FX/6/7 series GPUs buggy to date
    2013 very limited Nvidia direct support is provided and 8/9 NV50 reclocking improvements
    2014 re-clocking fermi 400/500 additions provides better power management and 2D / 3D performance
    2016 kepler 600/700 reclockin
"

Is there a different noveau.hidd with working reclocking i could use?

I even already flashed vbios to overclock all three boost steps, and while it work like intended in windows (the clocks i flashed), the benchmarks in AROS (GLmark) stays exactly the same, basicaly ignoring my new vbios settings.

Thanks!
« Last Edit: December 03, 2020, 09:46:07 PM by xefe »



deadwood

  • AROS Developer
  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1137
    • Karma: +107/-0
Reply #7 on: December 03, 2020, 09:47:22 PM
I don't expect to have a new version of nouveu in comming months. Note that if reclocking functionality is not present it was due to original Nouvea team decision, not AROS port. I guess the original developers knew what they were doing - maybe the reclocking code was simply not stable or not working on your specific hardware back then.



Amiwell

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2083
    • Karma: +30/-4
  • Peace
Reply #8 on: December 04, 2020, 01:12:52 PM
then will gallium be updated in the near future? :)


deadwood

  • AROS Developer
  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1137
    • Karma: +107/-0
Reply #9 on: December 04, 2020, 04:55:01 PM
Not in near. There are other projects I'm running right now that first need to be completed.



Amiwell

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2083
    • Karma: +30/-4
  • Peace