Booting Icarus on Laptop Failed

MUSTDOS · 929

MUSTDOS

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 11
    • Karma: +0/-0
on: August 21, 2020, 02:40:20 AM
I get that ACPICA_InitTask and some address as an Illegal instruction as an error every time I attempt to boot on CD. Any help?



deadwood

  • AROS Developer
  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 745
    • Karma: +100/-0
Reply #1 on: August 21, 2020, 07:29:38 AM
Hi,

Try disabling ACPI via grub command line. I believe it is described in ICaros manual how to do this - it's quite simple.




MUSTDOS

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 11
    • Karma: +0/-0
Reply #2 on: August 21, 2020, 04:01:16 PM
It's not mentioned in the manual.

I tried finding a way on the internet but all solutions seem to favor already installed OSes and not Live ones.



deadwood

  • AROS Developer
  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 745
    • Karma: +100/-0
Reply #3 on: August 21, 2020, 04:17:30 PM
From my memory:

On grub screen press E, this will move to edit mode.
Add at the end of kernel command line "noacpi noapic"
Press CTRL-x to boot

Possibly other can add more details.




MUSTDOS

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 11
    • Karma: +0/-0
Reply #4 on: August 21, 2020, 10:11:16 PM
I booted grub from cd

selected the icarus option by pressing "e"

tried both noapci and noacpi; they where not considered as understood commands




MUSTDOS

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 11
    • Karma: +0/-0
Reply #5 on: August 22, 2020, 11:14:15 AM
Worked!

Turns out, I should add ATA=noacpi at the line where ATA=32bit was present

I still have another issue, my HDD is invisible and Icarus refuses to continue installation.



salvo

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1579
    • Karma: +20/-4
  • Peace an Love
    • TinyAros
Reply #6 on: August 22, 2020, 02:53:34 PM
usually you write ata=nodma and when you press "E" in the main screen(GRUB) about the acpi subsystem you remove all the entries that concern them

TinyAros and shop  http://tinyaros.flazio.com
HP Z400 Workstation, Intel Xeon W3565 3.20 Ghz, 8 Gb Ram, SSD 120 Gb, HD 500 Gb, Quadro nvs 295 256 Mb Gallium Ready