icaros desktop live pendrive freezes after I connect a USB keyboard and/or mouse

Hanu8 · 722

Hanu8

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 9
    • Karma: +0/-0
Hello everyone,

I have assembled a desktop computer from some old hardware I have, more specifically:
An MSI GF165M-P35 motherboard with an AMD processor.

I am using the icaros desktop live pendrive version.

Without any peripherals plugged in, AROS will boot from the pendive and the clock on the top right will indicate the passing seconds successfully until I turn the computer off.

However, if I plug any USB keyboard or mouse, AROS freezes!  :(
The system becomes 100% unresponsive: the clock will stop, caps lock or num lock will not work (or stay stuck on) etc.

Can someone more experienced with AROS on native hardware tell me if the USB on this motherboard is supported by icaros desktop ?
Is there anything that can be done from the BIOS to enable support for icaros desktop (the keyboard works in GRUB bootloader and the bios)?

This is the second motherboard I am trying :(

Let me know if you need any more information.

Thank you for your help



AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2668
    • Karma: +64/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Welcome to the forum Hanu8  :)

Have you tried inputting Mouse and Keyboard before starting ol PC ?
Tried other keyboards and other Mouse ?
« Last Edit: November 17, 2022, 05:05:27 PM by AMIGASYSTEM »



Jeff1138

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 23
    • Karma: +1/-0
Hi,

Can I ask if it is MSI MS-7597 GF615M-P35 Socket AM3 Motherboard as GF165M is intel based?

if the MSI MS-7597 GF615M-P35 then it might be nvidia based usb hardware which AROS may have issues


    NVIDIA® GeForce 6150SE & nForce 430

    Supports Dual Channel DDR3 800/1066/1333
    2 DDR3 DIMMs (240pin / 1.5V)
    Supports a maximum memory size up to 8GB.

On-Board IDE     One IDE port by NVIDIA® GeForce 6150SE

On-Board SATA     Four SATA II ports by NVIDIA® GeForce 6150SE

Audio     Chipset integrated by Realtek® ALC888S

LAN 10/100/1000 Fast Ethernet by  8211CL
« Last Edit: November 17, 2022, 07:58:50 PM by Jeff1138 »



Hanu8

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 9
    • Karma: +0/-0
Welcome to the forum Hanu8  :)

Have you tried inputting Mouse and Keyboard before starting ol PC ?
Tried other keyboards and other Mouse ?

Thank you!

Yes, I tried two different USB keyboards, both froze the computer.
I have only one mouse, but the computer freezes even with only a USB keyboard plugged in and no mouse.

Hi,

Can I ask if it is MSI MS-7597 GF615M-P35 Socket AM3 Motherboard as GF165M is intel based?

if the MSI MS-7597 GF615M-P35 then it might be nvidia based usb hardware which AROS may have issues


    NVIDIA® GeForce 6150SE & nForce 430

    Supports Dual Channel DDR3 800/1066/1333
    2 DDR3 DIMMs (240pin / 1.5V)
    Supports a maximum memory size up to 8GB.

On-Board IDE     One IDE port by NVIDIA® GeForce 6150SE

On-Board SATA     Four SATA II ports by NVIDIA® GeForce 6150SE

Audio     Chipset integrated by Realtek® ALC888S

LAN 10/100/1000 Fast Ethernet by  8211CL

Yes, it is the AM3 Socket based motherboard, specifically GF615M-P35 MS-7597 VER 1.1 . :(

Previously, I also tried the AM2 Socket Gigabyte GA-M68SM-S2L which also froze when a USB keyboard or mouse was plugged in (using icaros desktop live pendrive). Basically in the same manner, but the mouse worked for max 10 seconds, and then it froze, just like with the current mother board MSI GF165M-P35.

Could the Gigabyte motherboard work instead of the MSI one with some Bios setting change?

Thank you for both replies :)



Jeff1138

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 23
    • Karma: +1/-0
Hi,

Being nvidia usb again, I feel it will be the same result. I get this with the Acer revo R3610 (nvidia usb) but not with the R3700 (intel usb) nettops
https://en.wikibooks.org/w/index.php?title=Aros/Platforms/x86_Complete_System_HCL&stable=0#Socket_AM3_White_socket_(2010/11) most results are from along time ago though

If you can try intel of this era skt775, amd skt A, AM2 AM3 as the next best. Do you have any others?

Could try plugging in a pci usb card with a NEC chipset (if you have lying around) but not sure if it will work / help

You'll be out of luck with the wired ethernet as it probably will not work

Sorry I cannot help further.
 
« Last Edit: November 18, 2022, 04:43:35 AM by Jeff1138 »



Amiwell

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2189
    • Karma: +32/-4
  • Peace
You can try with a PCI USB card :)


Hanu8

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 9
    • Karma: +0/-0
I ordered a used NEC 720100 480Mbps 5 Port(4+1) USB 2.0  PCI Expansion Card. I will post back the result when it arrives :)



AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2668
    • Karma: +64/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
I hope it changes something, in the end the PCI card is always connected to the same Motherboard.

Have you tried other Live Operating Systems, Windows, Linux, to make sure that that Motherboard has no Hardware problems ?
« Last Edit: November 18, 2022, 11:38:14 PM by AMIGASYSTEM »



paolone

  • Moderator
  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 542
    • Karma: +90/-0
Yes, it is the AM3 Socket based motherboard, specifically GF615M-P35 MS-7597 VER 1.1 . :(


First of all, you definitely should keep the keyboard the mouse connected BEFORE booting anything, AROS included.


Second, your motherboard has these connectors on the back:


Back Panel I/O Ports[/font][/size]
[/color]- 1 x PS/2 Keyboard[/color][/color]- 1 x PS/2 Mouse- 1 x Parallel port- 1 x Serial port- 1 x VGA port- 1 x 6 in 1 audio jack- 4 x USB 2.0- 1 x RJ45 LAN Jack


You should try using a USB-PS2 adapter (they were very common at the time) if USB mice creates all this burden.


Then, please look at the icaros manual and try using those exoctic advanced boot options in the GRUB menu like ATA=32bit NOACPI and similar, sometimes they help.


I remember that 15 years ago I was using AROS mainly on AMD Athlon64 systems because it was easier to find a compatible mainboard. But 15 years are 15 years even in the AROS world, so maybe something got broken in the meanwhile. I can't figure out what, though.


Other suggestion: please add a DVDROM drive to the system and boot Icaros off a DVD-R. Thank you for you interest in my distribution.[/font]
[/size]


Hanu8

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 9
    • Karma: +0/-0
Thank you for the reply!
I am sorry for the very long post, but I want to provide as much information to help with diagnosing the issue.

I found an empty DVD and burned the Icaros Desktop Live 2.3 image to the DVD.
Icaros Desktop Live successfully booted using a SATA-connected DVD drive, all USB devices I tried worked perfectly from the DVD.  :D

Then, I turned off the computer.
I added an 2.5 inch SATA HD drive.
When I started the computer, the DVD failed to boot (no GRUB at all) (I did change the boot order with F11 to start from the DVD).
I removed the 2.5-inch SATA HD drive, just in case it was causing issues.
Unfortunately, it turns out the DVD Drive died after the reboot.  :(

I temporarily got another SATA DVD drive from another desktop computer and I installed Icaros Desktop Live 2.3 to the HD.
But because I was afraid to reboot, I connected the 2.5-inch HD drive through a SATA to USB adaptor and selected USB in the installer.
I installed everything but the developer tools (which I regret).

After restarting the computer, I tried booting with the newly installed Icaros Desktop on the HD Drive through USB, but once a few seconds have passed, Icaros Desktop froze as it did before with the USB Memory Stick.  :-\

I then connected the HD Drive through SATA, and it booted, but it froze again after a few seconds (maybe 8-10s).  :(
I removed all USBs, and it booted, after it had booted I attached the USB keyboard and mouse, and it worked.  :o
So now, I can boot into Icaros Desktop Live only if there are no USBs attached, but once it has booted I can connect any USB device I tried, from keyboard, mouse, USB hubs, USB memory sticks...  :)

This is inconvenient, so I looked in the manual that the USB support is provided by a software called Trident I saved the log from a successful run (let me know if there is a way to get past log files from failed runs). I have attached it in this post as a file. The details according to Trident:

nameunitOnlineProduct
pciusb.device0yesPCI OHCI + ECHI USB 2.0 Host Controller

Do you know what is wrong with the USB and if I can fix this with some configuration?
Could the issue be because the installation was performed with the USB selection in the HD tool ?

Some other facts:

The screenmode is: NV:1920x1080@60 24bit BGR0 does this mean that Icaros Desktop Live has successfully used the NVidia driver ?
Playing a 1080p mkv file is very slow.
Would a GeForce GT 710 2GB be compatible with Icaros Desktop Live ?

The motherboard integrated sound chip works great out-of-the-box :D

PS: I am still waiting for the USB PCI card to arrive to see if that will fix the issues with the USB, I will let you know if this changes anything.

In the log you will see I am using a USB hub, I have tried without the USB hub and if connected before the computer boots into Icaros Desktop Live it will also freeze.

I did not try with the PS2 mouse and keyboard adaptors yet.
I attached a second log from a working boot as well in case it is clearer as I may have connected and disconnected USB devices multiple times in the first one to test it.



Amiwell

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2189
    • Karma: +32/-4
  • Peace
In your motherboard is it possible to select from the BIOS the ATA emulation rather than ACHI SATA?
Your nvidia gt 720 is supported I suppose at least as per settings


AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2668
    • Karma: +64/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Hanu8, I use External USB HD and never had any problem, try on other PC !


Hanu8

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 9
    • Karma: +0/-0
Ok, so the good news is that with the NEC PCI to USB card, Icaros Desktop Live is working perfectly. ;D
(Note that I had to disable the motherboard USB for the card to work.)

The bad news is that the card is too big (tall) to fit with my PC case with the lid closed...
Anyway, in the meantime I started using Icaros Desktop Live with my Ugreen USB hub/switch, which I switch on after Icaros has booted, then there are no further issues with the USB and I can use any USB ports including the case USB ports. For the time being, I will use the computer in this configuration.


TLDR: USB on Icaros Desktop Live works with the NEC PCI-to-USB card perfectly, without the card USB works after it has booted, but then it works perfectly.


I will also install a different GPU soon, I will let you know of the outcome, I will lock the topic after this as the main issue has been solved.

Thank you everyone for your help.  :D



Amiwell

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2189
    • Karma: +32/-4
  • Peace

Amiwell

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2189
    • Karma: +32/-4
  • Peace
I do not know if mplayer uses graphic acceleration for videos, there are still more powerful compatible cards but some of them do not display the high resolution that the screen makes available I currently to not strain my eyes use a resolution 1024x768