Choosing Aros to learn Code

LouPai · 606

LouPai

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 9
    • Karma: +0/-0
on: October 06, 2022, 02:23:38 AM


Hi all, it's LouPai

     In dire need of a career change so I'm looking to pick up another machine to learn code.  My interests are Ternary, Transport architecture and gaming studio equipment. An old time Amiga salesman turned me on and the feature set was well ahead of it's time.  Thx for having me, I'll be back when there's more to share. 

Them whom say it can't be done ought not interrupt those doing it.


ntromans

  • Member
  • ***
    • Posts: 123
    • Karma: +47/-0
Reply #1 on: October 06, 2022, 07:41:26 PM
Hi LouPal,
I hope you enjoy getting to know AROS  :D If you are looking to learn code I can thoroughly recommend the Hollywood package from Airsoftsoftwair. It is a commercial program, but worth every penny given the range of things you can do with it, but at the same time it's very easy to learn.

Cheers,
Nigel.



LouPai

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 9
    • Karma: +0/-0
Reply #2 on: October 16, 2022, 03:39:24 AM

Thx Nigel,

     I'm in the Metro area so I should be able to put something together by month's end. Does Aros have a Native Pcb builder or should I go ahead and buy Mac osx for Diptrace? 

Also, been thinking of starting on a high res gaming monitor 6k [21:8] aspect ratio.  These screens are so much better than our family's first 133mhz bus computer.  It would be great to demo games.  There are some ideas I haven't put into cad, since
 the Fire Tablet isn't up for much hard work.

Sincerely,
CK LouPai
[/color]
« Last Edit: October 31, 2022, 01:25:11 AM by LouPai »

Them whom say it can't be done ought not interrupt those doing it.


LouPai

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 9
    • Karma: +0/-0
Reply #3 on: October 31, 2022, 01:39:45 AM




Not going well,

     So I picked out an older Laptop:  HP 15g018dx ,AMD FCH and downloaded Tiny Aros & Aspire OS to some Drive (E):

It's running on Win10 as that came with the Machine.  What I'm trying to do is burn the ISO to a Kingston 32G SD Card,
my 2.0 USB was shorted, however, the 3.0 seems fine.  There are also the usual ports, but wouldn't recommend opening
the internals, as it's difficult to access and I might not get it back right another time.  Essentially the E drive or SD bus isn't
engaging at all.  It just boots through to windows each time.  I do not think there is a genuine error outside user direction.

I've some hope for this load,
but am about had it for today.

Sincerly yours,
Nomad LouPai

Them whom say it can't be done ought not interrupt those doing it.


magorium

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 506
    • Karma: +55/-0
  • Convicted non contributor
Reply #4 on: October 31, 2022, 06:34:13 AM
@LouPai:

Quote
So I picked out an older Laptop:  HP 15g018dx ,AMD FCH and downloaded Tiny Aros & Aspire OS to some Drive (E):
From that i assume your bios looks something like this

Quote
It's running on Win10 as that came with the Machine.  What I'm trying to do is burn the ISO to a Kingston 32G SD Card,
my 2.0 USB was shorted, however, the 3.0 seems fine.
Burning an iso to a sd card (or whatever other device other then a cd-rom/dvd) is an task which still makes me wonder what it actually means/entails. Everyone (also as in software that makes that happen) seem to have his/her/its idea on how that should actually be done. The end result (wrt AROS) is always disappointing

For AROS (and basically) it should be: boot AROS (any which way possible, can be cd-rom/dvd, virtual machine/usb or otherwise) and install AROS onto the SD-card using the AROS installer from the Workbench.

Quote
Essentially the E drive or SD bus isn't engaging at all.  It just boots through to windows each time.  I do not think there is a genuine error outside user direction.
ah, HP (or actually it is Compaq) and their mysteries to the computer industry with their custom BIOS crap.

If indeed your bios looks like as shown in the link i posted then make sure to boot in legacy mode and also make sure the boot order is in the correct order so that it picks on the SD card first.


But i would advise you to go another route namely USB-pendrive.

You can grab a pendrive version of icaros desktop from the icaros desktop download page and write that image to your to the USB-pendrive. Make sure to activate the pendrive with a tool such as gparted first.


Then set your BIOS options to boot from the USB pendrive in legacy mode (that most probably mean choosing USB harddrive/legacy mode in the BIOS).


How well that will boot AROS is unknown to me as there are several caveats along the way (stuck on SATA, choosing the wrong display output etc) but in theory it should at least be possible to get into AROS grub menu.

If that also fails then your only other options are to boot AROS (an iso file) in a VM or use AROS hosted for Windows.

If you are able to boot AROS as advised you can always customize icaros desktop in such a way that it actually becomes TinyAROS / AspireOS simply by replacing all the files on your Icaros Desktop pendrive/SD-card with those from TinyAROS / AspireOS.

The thing that is important is that you are able to prepare a sd-card and/or USB pendrive that is capable of booting into AROS successfully. If you reach that milestone then it is time to determine what hardware is and isn't supported by AROS and if you can live with that. If not then the other routes as mentioned (VM/hosted) comes into play again unless you are willing to invest in other hardware.

regards,


AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2668
    • Karma: +64/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #5 on: October 31, 2022, 07:35:22 AM
@LouPai:

On many PCs SDs do not Boot with AROS, if you instead use a SD/USB adapter, AROS will boot up quietly.

As magorium suggested you can use a pendrive and burn a USB image, there is also  AROS One x86 which is distributed also on USB image, you need a 4GB or larger Pendrive, and write the image with the RUFUS Program or similar (rename image file extension to .img)

There is also the possibility of doing DualBoot Win10/AROS, see this video:

https://youtu.be/sKXDPuJxIEM


I add that you cannot burn an AROS ISO to SD/Pndrive, "no Program" can do it, this is because the developers of the programs do not know the structure of the AROS Operating System.

The USB image can be created only on AROS with a special procedure you can find on Icaros and AROS One, having done this you can then burn image USB it anywhere USB/Hardisk etc..
« Last Edit: October 31, 2022, 08:07:39 AM by AMIGASYSTEM »



magorium

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 506
    • Karma: +55/-0
  • Convicted non contributor
Reply #6 on: October 31, 2022, 02:46:36 PM
.... there is also  AROS One x86 which is distributed also on USB image, you need a 4GB or larger Pendrive, and write the image with the RUFUS Program or similar (rename image file extension to .img)
Ah, thank you AMIGASYSTEM. i was not aware you had a pendrive download of your distribution.

As always, your video's are very much appreciated as well :thumbsup:

Indeed booting from a sd-card has several other challenges. Hence to suggest trying to use a USB-pendrive first as that should have a better success-rate.

Just let's wait and see how well things fare for LouPai that is, if he is still wants to play ball  :)


AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2668
    • Karma: +64/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #7 on: October 31, 2022, 03:44:43 PM

Ah, thank you AMIGASYSTEM. i was not aware you had a pendrive download of your distribution.

You should try it to see how fast it is to install AROS with a Pendive, 3GB of data installed in minutes (on AROS One all data is unpacked by default).
.

For this reason, the Pendive even without installing allows you to use AROS One Live and all its Applications anywhere on any supported PC.
« Last Edit: October 31, 2022, 03:53:28 PM by AMIGASYSTEM »



cdimauro

  • Member
  • ***
    • Posts: 103
    • Karma: +25/-1
Reply #8 on: October 31, 2022, 08:28:54 PM
My interests are Ternary
Hi LouPai.


Ternary like Ternary computing (base 3 instead of base 2)?



LouPai

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 9
    • Karma: +0/-0
Reply #9 on: November 01, 2022, 04:16:13 AM


Thx All,

Currently seeing if TCZ unix will load, as a test.  Having trouble with Gb size files downloading at this station, 45min and up^^^ .  I've got Rufus and tried to partition with MBR, but I'm still getting little to go on.  Bios is InsydeH20 F.16 Rev.3.7 but that's no help.  32Gb USB, 32Gb SD only the USB Key is targetable, but a 16Gb unidentified Disk showed in Disk Manager, so ok.

Yes, Ternary 3 value logic, the future is beyond Binary.  True, False and Manyana.  Whoever learns Ternary has job security until the sun sets.  Should be a blast, Cmos guys don't like it, doesn't deliver value for use, been seeing projects fade into the abyss for a while now.  I've also got ideas for retargettable Chip Paths, zorro and AGP Cards, optical Game disks. 

Aros has an intriguing approach to Studio utilities, if it doesn't just get consistently outrun but the big distros. 

Alright,
Goodnight Devs.

Them whom say it can't be done ought not interrupt those doing it.


AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2668
    • Karma: +64/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #10 on: November 01, 2022, 07:04:09 AM
I didn't quite understand what you did but you don't need to partition anything, AROS Installa will do this for you automatically.


magorium

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 506
    • Karma: +55/-0
  • Convicted non contributor
Reply #11 on: November 01, 2022, 10:36:11 AM
Currently seeing if TCZ unix will load, as a test.
I do not seem familiar with the name. Did you perhaps meant to write TC (TinyCore) instead ?

If it is then that should work on a setup similar to yours.

In case it is not then i would additionally point you to slitaz which is also a very slim download (around 60 MB, depending on your flavour) and some liveUSB instructions.


Quote
Bios is InsydeH20 F.16 Rev.3.7 but that's no help.
It indeed isn't very helpful (other than to know which version it is exactly).

These BIOS' differ from version to version and have custom layout depending on the manufacturer so that would mean guessing unless there are some screenshots available that reflect your actual BIOS. Note that the link i posted (according to HP) is suppose to reflect your actual BIOS (i know it does not, because that is how HP/compaq operates)

Easiest is to have USB boot in legacy mode, e.g. discarding/removing all uefi settings (in case these kind of options exist in your BIOS) so that the machine is actually capable of booting from a USB pendrive in legacy mode. For that you would also need to change the boot order/priority. Wherever that might be situated in your BIOS (boot options is usually a good starting point  :) )

Remember that whatever you do in the BIOS, make sure to remember your original settings so that you are able to revert, otherwise you might end up being unable to boot your (internally HD installed) windows.

Quote
but a 16Gb unidentified Disk showed in Disk Manager, so ok.
if you have written an image file to the USB pendrive then it would be unreadable by Windows (that is intentionally).

AROS uses a partition scheme with a file system that Windows is unable to comprehend. It is a raw image file that you downloaded and that needs to be written to the pendrive. That is on purpose and also the cause that 3th party tools are unable to 'burn' such image files in a (for AROS) correct manner.

regards,


cdimauro

  • Member
  • ***
    • Posts: 103
    • Karma: +25/-1
Reply #12 on: November 01, 2022, 09:20:42 PM
Yes, Ternary 3 value logic, the future is beyond Binary.  True, False and Manyana.  Whoever learns Ternary has job security until the sun sets.  Should be a blast, Cmos guys don't like it, doesn't deliver value for use, been seeing projects fade into the abyss for a while now.
OK, then you might appreciate: [size=78%][/size]Ternary CPUs: how they work and how Python helps designing one[size=78%][/color][/size][/font]



LouPai

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 9
    • Karma: +0/-0
Reply #13 on: November 04, 2022, 05:33:10 PM

Success!,

CD-R punched through to desktop first Disk with legacy mode on.

CPU usage just registering, Ram 2.8Gb free, Keyboard & touchpad,
 Search bars, notepad and drives showed capacity.  Exclamation ! ,
points showed up on a number of Icons.  (1366,768) resolution.

I'll try Orbitus install next.  Also I think it's time to read the manual.

Several fail load, but Slitaz made it through startup.
 
« Last Edit: November 04, 2022, 07:46:05 PM by LouPai »

Them whom say it can't be done ought not interrupt those doing it.