AROS Exec

Distros => Icaros Desktop => Topic started by: miker1264 on February 04, 2021, 01:39:21 AM

Title: AROS x86-64 Boot From Hard Disk
Post by: miker1264 on February 04, 2021, 01:39:21 AM
Good news for AROS 64bit and IcarosDesktop 64bit.

@paolone if you're reading these posts...

Kalamatee has fixed the 64bit boot from disk issue.
Title: Re: AROS x86-64 Boot From Hard Disk
Post by: paolone on February 04, 2021, 04:48:52 PM
Good news for AROS 64bit and IcarosDesktop 64bit.

@paolone if you're reading these posts...

Kalamatee has fixed the 64bit boot from disk issue.


Great to know!
Title: Re: AROS x86-64 Boot From Hard Disk
Post by: salvo on February 04, 2021, 05:49:19 PM
good news, think about bringing the software available  :)
Title: Re: AROS x86-64 Boot From Hard Disk
Post by: miker1264 on February 04, 2021, 05:57:41 PM
@salvo

I develop my apps and updates on IcarosDesktop 64bit. Then I compile for 68k and 32bit.

I've been told that if it works on 64bit it will work on 32bit.  :)

As for making boot from disk for 64bit available the sources are in ABIv1 repository.

I suppose it will require @paolone to make a new IcarosDesktop 64bit distro for us to try. BTW I use IcarosDesktop 64bit daily.
Title: Re: AROS x86-64 Boot From Hard Disk
Post by: salvo on February 04, 2021, 06:06:24 PM
I tried to boot the last nightly it doesn't work for me, at boot I choose the graphics mode and the system resets  :-\
Title: Re: AROS x86-64 Boot From Hard Disk
Post by: miker1264 on February 04, 2021, 06:32:38 PM
@salvo

Give it a while.

I know from personal experience that when we are working to solve a problem within AROS software the sources are on our local pc but haven't been merged with the main repo yet.

And still it takes a bit after that to make it into the Nightlies.
Title: Re: AROS x86-64 Boot From Hard Disk
Post by: salvo on February 04, 2021, 06:42:00 PM
I got it right, but you in 64-bit icaros have odyssey  :)
Title: Re: AROS x86-64 Boot From Hard Disk
Post by: salvo on February 04, 2021, 07:06:12 PM
if there is the availability to use odyssey, mplayer and zunetool I can think of using 64-bit aros and maybe release a tiny again for this architecture
Title: Re: AROS x86-64 Boot From Hard Disk
Post by: trekiej on February 04, 2021, 10:27:46 PM
Thanks for posting, I hope to download soon.
Title: Re: AROS x86-64 Boot From Hard Disk
Post by: aGGreSSor on February 10, 2021, 06:13:30 PM
Good news for AROS 64bit and IcarosDesktop 64bit.

@paolone if you're reading these posts...

Kalamatee has fixed the 64bit boot from disk issue.
I donít know, I downloaded a fresh nightly build AROS-20210210-pc-x86_64-boot-iso.zip (https://sourceforge.net/projects/aros/files/nightly2/20210210/Binaries/AROS-20210210-pc-x86_64-boot-iso.zip/download) and IMHO it crashes even faster than the previous version. Magic, such as turning off everything, didn't help, it doesn't help there. Once upon a time it worked even like this: https://youtu.be/nHH1AYRlBfk

Tested under VirtualBox 6.1.4 r136177 (Qt5.6.2)

I tried to boot the last nightly it doesn't work for me, at boot I choose the graphics mode and the system resets  :-\
absolutely the same
Title: Re: AROS x86-64 Boot From Hard Disk
Post by: miker1264 on February 10, 2021, 06:31:52 PM
@aGGreSSor

Thanks. That is good to know.

I'll ask Kalamatee if his changes for x86-64 have made it into the Nightlies yet or if he still has them stored locally for testing.

Thanks for the feedback. How goes the work with your volume control application? If I can help with it testing or otherwise let me know. I have a few projects going at the moment.
Title: Re: AROS x86-64 Boot From Hard Disk
Post by: aGGreSSor on February 10, 2021, 07:03:06 PM
@aGGreSSor Thanks. That is good to know.
I'll ask Kalamatee if his changes for x86-64 have made it into the Nightlies yet or if he still has them stored locally for testing.
Thx! Here is the error:

Code: [Select]
00:00:22.689621 VGA Graphics Controller (3CF): GR index 3CE:05
00:00:22.689622  GR00:00 GR01:00 GR02:00 GR03:00 GR04:00 GR05:50 GR06:05 GR07:0F GR08:FF
00:00:22.689624 !!
00:00:22.689624 !! {vgapl}
00:00:22.689624 !!
00:00:22.689625 read mode     : 0     write mode: 0
00:00:22.689625 set/reset data: 00    S/R enable: 00
00:00:22.689626 color compare : 00    read map  : 0
00:00:22.689627 rotate        : 0     function  : 0
00:00:22.689627 don't care    : 0F    bit mask  : FF
00:00:22.689628 seq plane mask: 0F    chain-4   : on
00:00:22.689628 !!
00:00:22.689628 !! {vgasr}
00:00:22.689629 !!
00:00:22.689629 VGA Sequencer (3C5): SR index 3C4:04
00:00:22.689629  SR00:03 SR01:00 SR02:0F SR03:00 SR04:0A SR05:00 SR06:00 SR07:01
00:00:22.689631 !!
00:00:22.689632 !! {vgatext}
00:00:22.689632 !!
00:00:22.689632 Not in text mode!
00:00:22.689633 !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
00:00:23.527943 GUI: User request to power VM off on Guru Meditation.
00:00:23.527959 GUI: Passing request to power VM off from machine-logic to UI session.
00:00:23.527962 GUI: Powering VM down on UI session power off request...
00:00:23.528124 Console: Machine state changed to 'Stopping'
00:00:23.528431 Console::powerDown(): A request to power off the VM has been issued (mMachineState=Stopping, InUninit=0)
00:00:23.695980 Changing the VM state from 'GURU_MEDITATION' to 'POWERING_OFF'

I predict that Kalamatee he will say about ioapic, but "Not in text mode!" doesn't depend on whether ioapic is on or off in our case, from the user side at least.

Thanks for the feedback. How goes the work with your volume control application? If I can help with it testing or otherwise let me know. I have a few projects going at the moment.
I don't do it. I posted the source code (https://ae.amigalife.org/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=97.0;attach=699) (this is a skeleton, you can use it to avoid wasting time on Shell) and wrote the conclusions (https://ae.amigalife.org/index.php?topic=97.msg5373#msg5373) at the stage at which I stopped in the topic.
Title: Re: AROS x86-64 Boot From Hard Disk
Post by: aGGreSSor on February 10, 2021, 10:33:31 PM
I was wrong, it actually worked under VMware (doesn't work on VirtualBox). It work with SMP support!

(https://i.postimg.cc/0NJPdtCp/AROS-2021-ABIv1.png)

Most importantly: AROS64 NO longer slows down in Wanderer! This image is started on VMwvare in all screen modes from grub menu.

Inspiring updates in Prefs (note the red cursor for text input and the mouse cursor preview)

(https://i.postimg.cc/MKPCPhth/AROS-2021-ABIv1-Prefs.png)

Kalamatee rulez 4e4! :D

Unfortunately, InstallAROS leads to a GURU  :-[
(https://i.postimg.cc/BbXHQf0r/AROS-2021-ABIv1-Install-AROS.png)
Title: Re: AROS x86-64 Boot From Hard Disk
Post by: miker1264 on February 11, 2021, 12:04:54 AM
@aGGreSSor

Thank you for reporting the issues. It is good that you provided a crash log as well.

We ( not me. I don't know about hidd drivers) which is Mazze and Kalamatee, are working on testing VirtualBox and VMWare boot issues. There are similar results to yours. It doesn't work in VirtualBox (yet) and it sometimes works from ISO to install in VMWare.

There are a few things happening. The ahci isn't working correctly so make sure to use ata.device instead. VirtualBox has some issues as well. That doesn't help matters.

These things are being tested and addressed but there is only one person working on it. Kalamatee is working on many things at once. But he is doing a great job.

It would be nice if we could clone him about 10 times! 😊
Title: Re: AROS x86-64 Boot From Hard Disk
Post by: miker1264 on February 11, 2021, 02:44:02 AM
BTW Kalamatee accepts donations by paypal or there is a link on AROS website also. It makes him work faster and with more energy. Like caffeine does to me! 😊
Title: Re: AROS x86-64 Boot From Hard Disk
Post by: aGGreSSor on February 11, 2021, 07:58:27 AM
In general, the x86_64 isn't so simple. My observations:

x86_64 NEW
 

x86_64 ABSENT


Code: [Select]
$ file boot/pc/grub/i386-pc/bswap_test.mod
bswap_test.mod: ELF 32-bit LSB relocatable, Intel 80386, version 1 (SYSV), not stripped

$ file EFI/BOOT/grub/i386-efi/bswap_test.mod
bswap_test.mod: ELF 64-bit LSB relocatable, x86-64, version 1 (SYSV), not stripped
???

Another:

Deadwood reboot patch is absent (crashes)
AHI prefs play a test sound (with distortion, without deadwood patch)
Allocate 8G memory:

(https://i.postimg.cc/bJPsxMsW/AROS-2021-ABIv1-memory.png)

Kill feature: Iconify on desktop like AmigaOS 4 (sometimes crashes)

(https://i.postimg.cc/L8jCCYx7/AROS-2021-ABIv1-Iconify.png)
Title: Re: AROS x86-64 Boot From Hard Disk
Post by: aGGreSSor on February 11, 2021, 10:26:27 PM
I don't understand what kind of miracle happened, but InstallAROS started working after trying to launch not from desktop but from path AROS Live CD:Tools/InstallAROS  :o

(https://i.postimg.cc/tTfrXgHG/AROS-2021-ABIv1-Install-AROS-success.png)

I went through installation on a virtual disk without any problems and now AROS64 starts from a virtual disk!  :o
Title: Re: AROS x86-64 Boot From Hard Disk
Post by: miker1264 on February 12, 2021, 02:05:20 PM
@aGGreSSor

Are you using VirtualBox or VMWare? 

What steps did you take to get to that point. Im curious.
Title: Re: AROS x86-64 Boot From Hard Disk
Post by: aGGreSSor on February 13, 2021, 12:40:26 AM
Are you using VirtualBox or VMWare?
I ran AROS64 on VMware, but I usually use VirtualBox. At the moment AROS64 doesn't start on VirtualBox. At least since November last year I haven't been able to launch a fresh AROS64 in any virtualization. Previous stable versions of AROS64 were incredibly slow in VMware, so this is a big step forward.
Title: Re: AROS x86-64 Boot From Hard Disk
Post by: trekiej on February 14, 2021, 05:11:14 AM
Does this include SMP?
Title: Re: AROS x86-64 Boot From Hard Disk
Post by: magorium on February 14, 2021, 06:06:45 AM
AHI prefs play a test sound (with distortion, without deadwood patch)
see https://github.com/aros-development-team/AROS/commit/8f88c3476c2ed9738514340cd56af288b7a8403f

Quote
Allocate 8G memory:
  • i386-aros, ABIv0: 2.98G graphics mem, 0b other mem
  • x86_64-aros, ABIv1: 2G graphics mem 5.98G other mem
Not sure what your point is there. abiv0 i386 memory availability is/was limited by design. There was a change there when work was done on v1 abi. The details about what memory represented what exactly eludes me (not talking about theoretical chip vs fast-ram but actual host memory allocation). The old message-board had a thread that mentioned this and listed the details.

Quote
Kill feature: Iconify on desktop like AmigaOS 4 (sometimes crashes)
Ah, then it found its way back into the matrix  :)

Also the same note for you, please realize there are hardly any end-user related fixes being made atm. Still much work with regards to get things going (build-system, compiler, drivers) and updating other stuff of importance. Sometimes a small fix (that is visible for us) is able to find its way to trunk, which i would consider a bonus atm. The issue list is still growing each day (some of importance, while other issues can wait). Still lacking manpower there. Just be so kind to add your issues so that developers (and other users) won't forget.
Title: Re: AROS x86-64 Boot From Hard Disk
Post by: magorium on February 14, 2021, 06:21:21 AM
Does this include SMP?
In case you are talking about the reports done by user aGGreSSor then his information is conflicting.

He downloaded the non-smp version and at least started testing with that but later on reported that smp is working (but only showed AROS detecting multiple cores/threads, which AROS is capable of doing so for multiple years now). There are specific smp tests that can be run, but the results from those tests are currently absent in the reports.

So, perhaps i spoke too soon and should have simply waited for user aGGreSSor to provide a better and more clear answer for you. I just happened to be present here  when you posted your question  :)
Title: Re: AROS x86-64 Boot From Hard Disk
Post by: aGGreSSor on February 14, 2021, 11:01:51 AM
see https://github.com/aros-development-team/AROS/commit/8f88c3476c2ed9738514340cd56af288b7a8403f
Thanks, I was wrong about the patch.. I didn't play music on AROS64 and I hear distortion (click, clicks) when I press the button "Play a test sound" in AHI Prefs. In deadwood builds the sound is clear. So I decided (wrong) that there was no patch here.

Not sure what your point is there. abiv0 i386 memory availability is/was limited by design. There was a change there when work was done on v1 abi. The details about what memory represented what exactly eludes me (not talking about theoretical chip vs fast-ram but actual host memory allocation). The old message-board had a thread that mentioned this and listed the details.
I show with screenshots how it looks in practice. I usually donít give a virtual machine more than 1 GB and discovered it by accident. To doubt is right. Let's take a look.

5G RAM for VirtualBox, i386, ABIv0 (3.41G Chip, 0 Fast)
(https://i.postimg.cc/LsBcyS8P/2021-Memory-Icaros-VBox.png)

5G RAM for VMware, i386, ABIv0 (2.98G Chip, 0 Fast)
(https://i.postimg.cc/KzKvC4kV/2021-Memory-ABIv0-VMware.png)

5G RAM for VMware, x86_64, ABIv1 (2G Chip, 2.65G Fast)
(https://i.postimg.cc/7YrQR6fW/2021-Memory-ABIv1-VMware.png)

Just be so kind to add your issues so that developers (and other users) won't forget.
Long ago, follow here:
Title: Re: AROS x86-64 Boot From Hard Disk
Post by: magorium on February 15, 2021, 04:57:20 AM
Thanks, I was wrong about the patch..
No problem. I thought i mentioned it because stating otherwise would not be entirely correct ;).

Whether or not that fixed or did not fixed the issues as experienced on deadw00ds distro, i have no clue as i haven't checked yet.

Quote
I show with screenshots how it looks in practice. I usually donít give a virtual machine more than 1 GB and discovered it by accident. To doubt is right. Let's take a look.
...
Thanks, but i did know that already :)

What i was trying to say is that 32 bit AROS is limited with regards to memory allocation, if only for the fact that it can only address 2^32  (4gb) at the most. It is simple physics. afaik AROS does not offer PAE support. Windows suffer from the same limitation(s), sometimes limited in software, sometimes limited by hardware (there are specific versions of Windows that are not allowed to be installed on hardware that allows to address more than 4GB of memory).

I can't remember what exactly is the reason for the 3GB limit, but it has been there for ages. Most likely some of the additional memory is reserved/allocated for system use, but i do not know the exact details. Of course the 64-bit version of AROS does not suffer from restrictions such as the 2^32 limit.

Therefor it has no use whatsoever to allocate more than 4GB memory to your VM for running the 32 bit version of AROS, or for that matter expecting a ginormous ramdisk to be present when you boot AROS 32-bit on your 8 GB memory equipped machine. It will simply be capped.

And the other thing i was trying to point out is that the 64 bit abiv1 version of AROS divides the memory between chip and fast-ram (at least that is what the OS reports) while the 32 bit abi-v0 version of AROS does not. There are technical reasons for that, but those reasons elude me atm.

Quote
Long ago, follow here:
...
Ah, i seem to have missed some of your reports. Thank you for having filed those (and showed me where they are).
Title: Re: AROS x86-64 Boot From Hard Disk
Post by: trekiej on February 16, 2021, 03:27:29 AM
Oops, I was wondering if Aros 64 bit SMP was Hard Drive installable.
Title: Re: AROS x86-64 Boot From Hard Disk
Post by: aGGreSSor on February 16, 2021, 07:10:16 AM
Oops, I was wondering if Aros 64 bit SMP was Hard Drive installable.
More likely no than yes.
I was able to install a regular x86_64, abiv1 on the hard disk, but I couldn't repeat it and didn't find any patterns.  :(
Title: Re: AROS x86-64 Boot From Hard Disk
Post by: cdimauro on February 28, 2021, 07:38:40 AM
What i was trying to say is that 32 bit AROS is limited with regards to memory allocation, if only for the fact that it can only address 2^32  (4gb) at the most. It is simple physics. afaik AROS does not offer PAE support. Windows suffer from the same limitation(s), sometimes limited in software, sometimes limited by hardware (there are specific versions of Windows that are not allowed to be installed on hardware that allows to address more than 4GB of memory).

I can't remember what exactly is the reason for the 3GB limit, but it has been there for ages. Most likely some of the additional memory is reserved/allocated for system use, but i do not know the exact details.
The reason is that usually an o.s. uses the upper part of an application's virtual address space to map part of the kernel memory, leaving the lower part for the application.
This is needed to have a super fast context-switch of the CPU, once kernel code needs to be executed, because the processor's caches will not be flushed and reloaded every time (which means two times: first when calling kernel code, and then when going back to the application).
AROS doesn't need it anyway, since it has a single address space for everything, and calling user or kernel code is the same thing.

On 32-bit Windows usually you have 2GB for user/application and 2GB for kernel. But there's an option to enable 3GB/1GB mapping, so giving more memory to the applications. AFAIR Linux is normally 3G/1GB, but the kernel can be compiled to more a more fine-graded partition between the twos (kernel needs a minimum amount, anyway).

32-bit applications running on 64-bit Windows have full 4GB of memory available, because the kernel has no need to map its memory, since it's already mapped on the last part (usually) of the 64-bit virtual address space.
Quote
And the other thing i was trying to point out is that the 64 bit abiv1 version of AROS divides the memory between chip and fast-ram (at least that is what the OS reports) while the 32 bit abi-v0 version of AROS does not. There are technical reasons for that, but those reasons elude me atm.
Maybe because some peripherals only work with memory on the lower 4GB (32-bit) of the address space, so that space if "reserved" by AROS for them. While regular applications, which haven't that limit, can use all memory above those 4GB. Just a guess...
Title: Re: AROS x86-64 Boot From Hard Disk
Post by: miker1264 on April 08, 2021, 01:58:07 AM
Update.

The SMP Variant of x86-64 can be installed and will be able to boot from HDD in VirtualBox with two conditions.

Hyper-V must be enabled and Primary Master (hdd) and Secondary Master (cdrom) must be set to use ata ( IDE). So IDE works but currently ahci (SATA) does NOT work.

The same is true for x86-64 version. It can be installed and boot from disk only using IDE not ahci (SATA).

That's the situation so far.