AROS x86-64 Boot From Hard Disk

miker1264 · 1103

miker1264

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 615
    • Karma: +25/-2
on: February 04, 2021, 01:39:21 AM
Good news for AROS 64bit and IcarosDesktop 64bit.

@paolone if you're reading these posts...

Kalamatee has fixed the 64bit boot from disk issue.



paolone

  • Moderator
  • Senior Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 448
    • Karma: +13/-0
Reply #1 on: February 04, 2021, 04:48:52 PM
Good news for AROS 64bit and IcarosDesktop 64bit.

@paolone if you're reading these posts...

Kalamatee has fixed the 64bit boot from disk issue.


Great to know!


salvo

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 923
    • Karma: +12/-4
  • Invalid Civil
Reply #2 on: February 04, 2021, 05:49:19 PM
good news, think about bringing the software available  :)

TinyAros on Laptop MSI X-600, Intel Core 2 Duo 1,8 Ghz, 3 Gb Ram, SSD Samsung 860 Evo 240 Gb, Nvidia 8400m GS 15" Vesa, WifI Atheros AR5006EG

http://tinyaros.flazio.com/home


miker1264

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 615
    • Karma: +25/-2
Reply #3 on: February 04, 2021, 05:57:41 PM
@salvo

I develop my apps and updates on IcarosDesktop 64bit. Then I compile for 68k and 32bit.

I've been told that if it works on 64bit it will work on 32bit.  :)

As for making boot from disk for 64bit available the sources are in ABIv1 repository.

I suppose it will require @paolone to make a new IcarosDesktop 64bit distro for us to try. BTW I use IcarosDesktop 64bit daily.
« Last Edit: February 04, 2021, 06:02:03 PM by miker1264 »



salvo

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 923
    • Karma: +12/-4
  • Invalid Civil
Reply #4 on: February 04, 2021, 06:06:24 PM
I tried to boot the last nightly it doesn't work for me, at boot I choose the graphics mode and the system resets  :-\

TinyAros on Laptop MSI X-600, Intel Core 2 Duo 1,8 Ghz, 3 Gb Ram, SSD Samsung 860 Evo 240 Gb, Nvidia 8400m GS 15" Vesa, WifI Atheros AR5006EG

http://tinyaros.flazio.com/home


miker1264

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 615
    • Karma: +25/-2
Reply #5 on: February 04, 2021, 06:32:38 PM
@salvo

Give it a while.

I know from personal experience that when we are working to solve a problem within AROS software the sources are on our local pc but haven't been merged with the main repo yet.

And still it takes a bit after that to make it into the Nightlies.



salvo

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 923
    • Karma: +12/-4
  • Invalid Civil
Reply #6 on: February 04, 2021, 06:42:00 PM
I got it right, but you in 64-bit icaros have odyssey  :)

TinyAros on Laptop MSI X-600, Intel Core 2 Duo 1,8 Ghz, 3 Gb Ram, SSD Samsung 860 Evo 240 Gb, Nvidia 8400m GS 15" Vesa, WifI Atheros AR5006EG

http://tinyaros.flazio.com/home


salvo

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 923
    • Karma: +12/-4
  • Invalid Civil
Reply #7 on: February 04, 2021, 07:06:12 PM
if there is the availability to use odyssey, mplayer and zunetool I can think of using 64-bit aros and maybe release a tiny again for this architecture

TinyAros on Laptop MSI X-600, Intel Core 2 Duo 1,8 Ghz, 3 Gb Ram, SSD Samsung 860 Evo 240 Gb, Nvidia 8400m GS 15" Vesa, WifI Atheros AR5006EG

http://tinyaros.flazio.com/home


trekiej

  • Member
  • ***
    • Posts: 189
    • Karma: +1/-0
Reply #8 on: February 04, 2021, 10:27:46 PM
Thanks for posting, I hope to download soon.



aGGreSSor

  • Member
  • ***
    • Posts: 173
    • Karma: +6/-0
    • russian transit
Reply #9 on: February 10, 2021, 06:13:30 PM
Good news for AROS 64bit and IcarosDesktop 64bit.

@paolone if you're reading these posts...

Kalamatee has fixed the 64bit boot from disk issue.
I donít know, I downloaded a fresh nightly build AROS-20210210-pc-x86_64-boot-iso.zip and IMHO it crashes even faster than the previous version. Magic, such as turning off everything, didn't help, it doesn't help there. Once upon a time it worked even like this: https://youtu.be/nHH1AYRlBfk

Tested under VirtualBox 6.1.4 r136177 (Qt5.6.2)

I tried to boot the last nightly it doesn't work for me, at boot I choose the graphics mode and the system resets  :-\
absolutely the same


miker1264

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 615
    • Karma: +25/-2
Reply #10 on: February 10, 2021, 06:31:52 PM
@aGGreSSor

Thanks. That is good to know.

I'll ask Kalamatee if his changes for x86-64 have made it into the Nightlies yet or if he still has them stored locally for testing.

Thanks for the feedback. How goes the work with your volume control application? If I can help with it testing or otherwise let me know. I have a few projects going at the moment.
« Last Edit: February 10, 2021, 06:37:19 PM by miker1264 »



aGGreSSor

  • Member
  • ***
    • Posts: 173
    • Karma: +6/-0
    • russian transit
Reply #11 on: February 10, 2021, 07:03:06 PM
@aGGreSSor Thanks. That is good to know.
I'll ask Kalamatee if his changes for x86-64 have made it into the Nightlies yet or if he still has them stored locally for testing.
Thx! Here is the error:

Code: [Select]
00:00:22.689621 VGA Graphics Controller (3CF): GR index 3CE:05
00:00:22.689622  GR00:00 GR01:00 GR02:00 GR03:00 GR04:00 GR05:50 GR06:05 GR07:0F GR08:FF
00:00:22.689624 !!
00:00:22.689624 !! {vgapl}
00:00:22.689624 !!
00:00:22.689625 read mode     : 0     write mode: 0
00:00:22.689625 set/reset data: 00    S/R enable: 00
00:00:22.689626 color compare : 00    read map  : 0
00:00:22.689627 rotate        : 0     function  : 0
00:00:22.689627 don't care    : 0F    bit mask  : FF
00:00:22.689628 seq plane mask: 0F    chain-4   : on
00:00:22.689628 !!
00:00:22.689628 !! {vgasr}
00:00:22.689629 !!
00:00:22.689629 VGA Sequencer (3C5): SR index 3C4:04
00:00:22.689629  SR00:03 SR01:00 SR02:0F SR03:00 SR04:0A SR05:00 SR06:00 SR07:01
00:00:22.689631 !!
00:00:22.689632 !! {vgatext}
00:00:22.689632 !!
00:00:22.689632 Not in text mode!
00:00:22.689633 !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
00:00:23.527943 GUI: User request to power VM off on Guru Meditation.
00:00:23.527959 GUI: Passing request to power VM off from machine-logic to UI session.
00:00:23.527962 GUI: Powering VM down on UI session power off request...
00:00:23.528124 Console: Machine state changed to 'Stopping'
00:00:23.528431 Console::powerDown(): A request to power off the VM has been issued (mMachineState=Stopping, InUninit=0)
00:00:23.695980 Changing the VM state from 'GURU_MEDITATION' to 'POWERING_OFF'

I predict that Kalamatee he will say about ioapic, but "Not in text mode!" doesn't depend on whether ioapic is on or off in our case, from the user side at least.

Thanks for the feedback. How goes the work with your volume control application? If I can help with it testing or otherwise let me know. I have a few projects going at the moment.
I don't do it. I posted the source code (this is a skeleton, you can use it to avoid wasting time on Shell) and wrote the conclusions at the stage at which I stopped in the topic.
« Last Edit: February 10, 2021, 08:51:42 PM by aGGreSSor »



aGGreSSor

  • Member
  • ***
    • Posts: 173
    • Karma: +6/-0
    • russian transit
Reply #12 on: February 10, 2021, 10:33:31 PM
I was wrong, it actually worked under VMware (doesn't work on VirtualBox). It work with SMP support!



Most importantly: AROS64 NO longer slows down in Wanderer! This image is started on VMwvare in all screen modes from grub menu.

Inspiring updates in Prefs (note the red cursor for text input and the mouse cursor preview)



Kalamatee rulez 4e4! :D

Unfortunately, InstallAROS leads to a GURU  :-[
« Last Edit: February 10, 2021, 11:11:03 PM by aGGreSSor »



miker1264

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 615
    • Karma: +25/-2
Reply #13 on: February 11, 2021, 12:04:54 AM
@aGGreSSor

Thank you for reporting the issues. It is good that you provided a crash log as well.

We ( not me. I don't know about hidd drivers) which is Mazze and Kalamatee, are working on testing VirtualBox and VMWare boot issues. There are similar results to yours. It doesn't work in VirtualBox (yet) and it sometimes works from ISO to install in VMWare.

There are a few things happening. The ahci isn't working correctly so make sure to use ata.device instead. VirtualBox has some issues as well. That doesn't help matters.

These things are being tested and addressed but there is only one person working on it. Kalamatee is working on many things at once. But he is doing a great job.

It would be nice if we could clone him about 10 times! 😊



miker1264

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 615
    • Karma: +25/-2
Reply #14 on: February 11, 2021, 02:44:02 AM
BTW Kalamatee accepts donations by paypal or there is a link on AROS website also. It makes him work faster and with more energy. Like caffeine does to me! 😊