Hello!

TechnoLurker · 741

TechnoLurker

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 5
    • Karma: +0/-0
on: January 11, 2021, 05:31:23 PM
New Icaros user.  Currently running the live version (2.3.0).  Trying to get wireless card working on an HP G60 (from 2009).  Need to dig a little to find out what set of drivers to use.  Live DVD boots fine, graphics work.  Little problem getting resolution to change as well, but I'm working on it.  Already have Linux on the machine so I may consider Hosted, but would prefer to run native.

Long time Amiga user (1989), but haven't run actual hardware for quite a while (been running Amiga Forever for several years).



salvo

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 923
    • Karma: +12/-4
  • Invalid Civil
Reply #1 on: January 11, 2021, 05:54:20 PM
Hello

the driver for the network card is currently atheros I don't know if it is compatible with your internal card, an optimal solution is to change it

TinyAros on Laptop MSI X-600, Intel Core 2 Duo 1,8 Ghz, 3 Gb Ram, SSD Samsung 860 Evo 240 Gb, Nvidia 8400m GS 15" Vesa, WifI Atheros AR5006EG

http://tinyaros.flazio.com/home


TechnoLurker

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 5
    • Karma: +0/-0
Reply #2 on: January 11, 2021, 07:12:21 PM
Will give the atheros one a try.  Thanks!



salvo

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 923
    • Karma: +12/-4
  • Invalid Civil
Reply #3 on: January 11, 2021, 08:15:04 PM
you welcome :)

TinyAros on Laptop MSI X-600, Intel Core 2 Duo 1,8 Ghz, 3 Gb Ram, SSD Samsung 860 Evo 240 Gb, Nvidia 8400m GS 15" Vesa, WifI Atheros AR5006EG

http://tinyaros.flazio.com/home


paolone

  • Senior Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 448
    • Karma: +13/-0
Reply #4 on: January 12, 2021, 11:10:47 AM
Welcome!


nikos

  • Senior Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 298
    • Karma: +8/-2
    • aspireos
Reply #5 on: January 12, 2021, 01:45:18 PM
New Icaros user.  Currently running the live version (2.3.0).  Trying to get wireless card working on an HP G60 (from 2009).  Need to dig a little to find out what set of drivers to use.  Live DVD boots fine, graphics work.  Little problem getting resolution to change as well, but I'm working on it.  Already have Linux on the machine so I may consider Hosted, but would prefer to run native.

Long time Amiga user (1989), but haven't run actual hardware for quite a while (been running Amiga Forever for several years).

Good to see you here. We are all Amiga fans :) I have A1200, A600 and A500 that I still enjoy a lot :)
If you can not find the right Atheros wi-fi card I have some lying around somewhere. Just shout out and I send one to you for free.


TechnoLurker

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 5
    • Karma: +0/-0
Reply #6 on: January 12, 2021, 05:16:48 PM
Also, sound works fine.  Haven't had enough time to troubleshoot the network card yet, but hope to get to it by this weekend.



TechnoLurker

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 5
    • Karma: +0/-0
Reply #7 on: January 19, 2021, 04:05:34 PM
Sorry to double-post on myself, but I did find that it is an Atheros card.  Can networking be ran while running as a Live CD or do I need to get the hardware installed first?  Couldn't get Icaros to recognize the card, even using the Atheros5000 driver unless I'm doing something wrong (which I'm pretty sure is the case).



magorium

  • Senior Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 253
    • Karma: +7/-0
  • Convicted non contributor
Reply #8 on: January 19, 2021, 05:43:02 PM
...but I did find that it is an Atheros card.
Supported id's can be found here on the network support wiki (https://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Aros/Platforms/x86_Network_support#atheros5000.device_54mbit/s)

There is only a handful supported cards.

Quote
Can networking be ran while running as a Live CD or do I need to get the hardware installed first?
uh...,  the cards needs to be physically installed before you can actually configure the device ?

But, yes if you have then you can configure/test that from the live-cd. afair the settings are stored in ram (so you would have to configure things again when (re)booting the live-cd).

Quote
Couldn't get Icaros to recognize the card, even using the Atheros5000 driver unless I'm doing something wrong (which I'm pretty sure is the case).
In my sig is a (direct) link to the Icaros Desktop manual (can also be found on the live-cd when you boot the cd/dvd). There you can read how to configure networking.

Changes are slim that your particular device is actually supported, let alone if it is able to communicate with your access-point/router. And there is an issue that some cards do sometimes work after doing an explicit reset/reboot.... but that is a bit of a pita with a live-cd   :-\


salvo

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 923
    • Karma: +12/-4
  • Invalid Civil
Reply #9 on: January 19, 2021, 05:55:53 PM
in my laptop I changed it to an atheros AR506EG it costs very little on ebay ;)

TinyAros on Laptop MSI X-600, Intel Core 2 Duo 1,8 Ghz, 3 Gb Ram, SSD Samsung 860 Evo 240 Gb, Nvidia 8400m GS 15" Vesa, WifI Atheros AR5006EG

http://tinyaros.flazio.com/home


TechnoLurker

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 5
    • Karma: +0/-0
Reply #10 on: January 26, 2021, 07:05:21 PM
Supported id's can be found here on the network support wiki (https://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Aros/Platforms/x86_Network_support#atheros5000.device_54mbit/s)

There is only a handful supported cards.
Thanks for the link.  Mine's not in the list of working ones. So I'll need to find another option.
Quote
uh...,  the cards needs to be physically installed before you can actually configure the device ?

But, yes if you have then you can configure/test that from the live-cd. afair the settings are stored in ram (so you would have to configure things again when (re)booting the live-cd).
Meant to say installed to hardware. Could edit my original post but don't see the point.
Quote
In my sig is a (direct) link to the Icaros Desktop manual (can also be found on the live-cd when you boot the cd/dvd). There you can read how to configure networking.

Changes are slim that your particular device is actually supported, let alone if it is able to communicate with your access-point/router. And there is an issue that some cards do sometimes work after doing an explicit reset/reboot.... but that is a bit of a pita with a live-cd   :-\
I already have a copy of the manual, but thanks for the direction.  The reason I asked if Icaros needs to be installed to hardware because the manual on page 53 states "In order to configure the network, you need to have Icaros Desktop Live! already installed on your hard drive..."



aGGreSSor

  • Member
  • ***
    • Posts: 173
    • Karma: +6/-0
    • russian transit
Reply #11 on: January 27, 2021, 01:37:07 PM
"In order to configure the network, you need to have Icaros Desktop Live! already installed on your hard drive..."
It's right. The disk may be virtual, but no less yours. :)
For configure the network, the settings must be saved, so you need some device to save.
CD-ROM with LiveCD isn't suitable for this.


new123

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 16
    • Karma: +1/-0
Reply #12 on: January 28, 2021, 10:23:23 PM
I think the easiest and fastest solution for network setup in AROS, is to share internet over LAN using another computer... it work nice. :)



salvo

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 923
    • Karma: +12/-4
  • Invalid Civil
Reply #13 on: January 29, 2021, 02:28:40 PM
hi

you can also use the network by loading the icaros live disk, just configure your device if you have someone compatible, in the tools directory there is a "pcitool" program that identifies all your hardware, let us know regarding the wifi and ethernet device you have, then we can proceed  :)

TinyAros on Laptop MSI X-600, Intel Core 2 Duo 1,8 Ghz, 3 Gb Ram, SSD Samsung 860 Evo 240 Gb, Nvidia 8400m GS 15" Vesa, WifI Atheros AR5006EG

http://tinyaros.flazio.com/home