Help needed - AROS multiboot with Ubuntu

Magnus · 976

Magnus

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 13
    • Karma: +0/-0
on: October 23, 2018, 10:55:14 AM
Soo I have a 11 year old asus gs1s (resurrected by use it a heat gun on the gpu, but that’s not the point here) it has Sound working with AROS and nvidia graphics that I’m sure I can working at some point..

But anyway...

I installed Ubuntu on there and then AROS, the grub that Ubuntu installs understands the sfs file system and I can get it to boot almost.....

It loads all the bits it should and the USB inbuilt camera flashes blue when USB stack gets loaded but then the screen is black.

What I have in grub entry is this :



Menuentry “aros blah blah” {
    Set root=‘hd0,msdos2’
    multiboot /boot/pc/bootstrap.gz vesa=1280x1024x32 ATA=32bit nomonitors
    module /boot/pc/kernel.gz
    module /boot/pc/aros-bsb.pkg.gz
    module /boot/aros-base.pkg.gz
    module /boot/aros-fs.pkg.gz
    module /boot/Poseidon.pkg.gz
}








Magnus

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 13
    • Karma: +0/-0
Reply #1 on: October 26, 2018, 11:03:29 AM
Hmmmm ok soooo tried

Menuentry “aros blah blah” {
    Set root=(hd0,msdos2)
    multiboot /boot/pc/bootstrap.gz ATA=32bit nomonitors
    module /boot/pc/kernel.gz
    module /boot/pc/aros-bsb.pkg.gz
    module /boot/aros-base.pkg.gz
    module /boot/aros-fs.pkg.gz
    module /boot/Poseidon.pkg.gz
}

It shows bunch of stuff on screen and last entry is about the DVD drive.... then it stops.
Could it be that I have not set the disk to be bootable or something.. as I feel as though up to that point it’s just loading the kernel and modules mentioned in grub and then it should switch to get stuff from HDd.

When I push the power button I get a screen that says someth8ng like “please your power switch to power off......might need to hold it down for several seconds” or something like that....   does that screen use the native drivers or is that something else...




magorium

  • Senior Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 253
    • Karma: +7/-0
  • Convicted non contributor
Reply #2 on: November 09, 2018, 03:54:45 AM
Hi Magnus,

Looking at your attempt it seems that you are trying with using old descriptions.

As per wikibook:
Quote
Grub 2 (1.97 and later)

Icaros 2.x
use the original grub.cfg file. That file has menu entries that uses the correct locations.
Since the list of modules to be loaded is almost 7 feet long, wanted to refrain from mentioning them as they can be copied form the original grub.cfg

This post (on old forums) shows something like that.

See also this old post. And another related thread.
« Last Edit: November 09, 2018, 04:14:22 AM by magorium »



Magnus

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 13
    • Karma: +0/-0
Reply #3 on: December 14, 2020, 09:21:56 AM
Bit late to reply........

That laptop died again (its GPU over heats... and if it gets knocked it stops working... until I take a heatgun and heat it up a bunch (with out melting things) and it will then work for a while...)

Anyhow..

got a new laptop... installed Ubuntu again. (seems to be the linux type I go to LOL)
is it possible to now make it dual boot to AROS... played around with hostted but its just not the same

are there some helpfull guides ? or shall I just attempt it and see what happens...



nikos

  • Senior Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 298
    • Karma: +8/-2
    • aspireos
Reply #4 on: December 16, 2020, 10:38:09 AM
Bit late to reply........

That laptop died again (its GPU over heats... and if it gets knocked it stops working... until I take a heatgun and heat it up a bunch (with out melting things) and it will then work for a while...)

Anyhow..

got a new laptop... installed Ubuntu again. (seems to be the linux type I go to LOL)
is it possible to now make it dual boot to AROS... played around with hostted but its just not the same

are there some helpfull guides ? or shall I just attempt it and see what happens...

Have you tested that AROS boots at all on the new laptop?
As you might know AROS have very limited driver support. I do not know how fun it is if sound or network is a no go?


Magnus

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 13
    • Karma: +0/-0
Reply #5 on: December 21, 2020, 11:05:26 AM

Have you tested that AROS boots at all on the new laptop?
As you might know AROS have very limited driver support. I do not know how fun it is if sound or network is a no go?

very good question......trying to get that answerd but im failung misrably at getting this lapto to boot frpm cd..
might have to see if i can get usb stick boot working..