AROS X86 INFO

AMIGASYSTEM · 236

AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1877
    • Karma: +46/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
on: January 05, 2022, 03:22:05 PM
First I would like to know if AROS x86 uses or maps a ROM or everything is on File?

I noticed that AROS x86 has few Resident data (included in ROM) only Handler and Filesystem, is this motivated by the little space in ROM or is it just a choice?

I ask this because on AROS 68k instead has many system files in ROM and two ROMs available to hold the data....
« Last Edit: January 05, 2022, 03:45:31 PM by AMIGASYSTEM »



deadwood

  • AROS Developer
  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1001
    • Karma: +103/-0
Reply #1 on: January 05, 2022, 04:21:40 PM
AROS x86 does not have ROM per-se. All libraries are loaded from disk. The libraries "forming" ROM are loaded by grub and initialized. From there, normal AROS/Amiga boot process continues.



AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1877
    • Karma: +46/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #2 on: January 05, 2022, 05:51:52 PM
OK that's why there are no resident comadi, thanks !


miker1264

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1224
    • Karma: +80/-2
Reply #3 on: January 05, 2022, 05:54:27 PM
I learned that the difficult way while trying to solve the ugly PNG Icon problem.

For testing I recompiled Icon Library for 68k and copied it to Libs but that didn't work. As deadwood mentioned Icon Library and other libraries are contained in ROM on AROS 68k. So I had to recompile and replace the ROM files instead. That worked.

However, for AROS x86 when I recompiled Icon Library and copied it to Libs it loaded at startup. No ROM recompiling.




AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1877
    • Karma: +46/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #4 on: January 05, 2022, 06:19:23 PM
AROS X86 as OS 3.9 does not have the icon.library in ROM, while AROS 68k as OS 3.0/3.1 has the icon.library in ROM, in this case to use the icon.library present in Libs it is necessary to deactivate the resident one with the RemLib command.