Dell Inspiron 5150

jales · 1488

jales

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 3
    • Karma: +0/-0
on: August 22, 2021, 07:22:17 PM
Hi

I installed Aros 1.5 on a Dell Inspiron 5150 and I don't have internet

PCI Tool detects:
Description: Network Ethernet
Vendor name: Broadcom Inc. and subsidiaries
Product name: BCM4401 100Base-T

Description: Network Other
Vendor name: Broadcom Inc. and subsidiaries
Product name: BCM4309 802.11abg Wireless Network Controller
Subsystem: Dell : Truemobile 1450 MiniPCI

what to do to have internet?



AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1873
    • Karma: +46/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #1 on: August 22, 2021, 07:37:56 PM
Hello jales welcome to the forum and thanks for installing my Distribution AROS One 1.5, HERE report that your Cards is not supported.

If you have tested all available Devices and it does not work you will need to replace the Cards with a supported one listed in the link attached above.
« Last Edit: August 22, 2021, 07:43:40 PM by AMIGASYSTEM »



salvo

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1751
    • Karma: +20/-4
  • Peace an Love
    • TinyAros
Reply #2 on: August 22, 2021, 07:44:37 PM
Hi your network cards are not compatible you should change the wifi card like the one I have in signature :)

http://tinyaros.flazio.com/
HP Z400 Intel Xeon W3565 3.20 Ghz, 8 Gb Ram, SSD 250 Gb, HD 500 Gb, Nvidia G210 1 Gb



AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1873
    • Karma: +46/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #4 on: August 22, 2021, 11:48:35 PM
HERE is highlighted in "Red", to be honest I don't know the meaning, the ones in "Green" definitely work.

Let's see if anyone here knows the proper meaning of "Red", thanks !

Video Card and Sound Card work well?
« Last Edit: August 22, 2021, 11:52:04 PM by AMIGASYSTEM »



salvo

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1751
    • Karma: +20/-4
  • Peace an Love
    • TinyAros
Reply #5 on: August 23, 2021, 01:20:57 PM
On all my laptops I always changed the WiFi card to make it work with Aros, we only have an "ATHEROS 5000" driver, the card that I always buy is the Atheros AR5006EG, you can find it on eBay a few euros

http://tinyaros.flazio.com/
HP Z400 Intel Xeon W3565 3.20 Ghz, 8 Gb Ram, SSD 250 Gb, HD 500 Gb, Nvidia G210 1 Gb


salvo

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1751
    • Karma: +20/-4
  • Peace an Love
    • TinyAros

salvo

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1751
    • Karma: +20/-4
  • Peace an Love
    • TinyAros
Reply #7 on: August 23, 2021, 02:17:34 PM

http://tinyaros.flazio.com/
HP Z400 Intel Xeon W3565 3.20 Ghz, 8 Gb Ram, SSD 250 Gb, HD 500 Gb, Nvidia G210 1 Gb


Jeff1138

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 14
    • Karma: +0/-0
Reply #8 on: August 23, 2021, 07:26:06 PM
Hi,

Dell Inspiron 5150 -  Pentium 4 3.06 GHz and NVIDIA GeForce FX Go5200 AGP 4x Graphics that got to run warm

MiniPCI slot - https://www.ebay.it/itm/400085147112?hash=item5d26eedde8:g:xZgAAOSwoHVbavfG

Does the graphics and sound work?

Regards
Jeff




jales

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 3
    • Karma: +0/-0
Reply #9 on: August 23, 2021, 09:03:25 PM

Graphics
1280x1024 24bit
1400x1050 16 bit
the sound is there
The computer works very fast and looks great, just a pity there is no internet



AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1873
    • Karma: +46/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #10 on: August 23, 2021, 09:42:17 PM
I'm glad that AROS One works well, for the Internet as already said you have to replace the Card LAN/Wifi or you need some good programmer to make drivers for your board.

With the supported Video Card you can run many 3D games

For LAN/Wifi you have tested all available Drivers !

« Last Edit: August 23, 2021, 09:46:45 PM by AMIGASYSTEM »



Jeff1138

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 14
    • Karma: +0/-0
Reply #11 on: August 24, 2021, 09:16:08 AM
Hi

For the ethernet cable you could try to find a wii usb lan adapter or a clone if you have one around and use that?

https://www.ebay.it/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_nkw=wii+lan&_sacat=0&LH_TitleDesc=0&rt=nc&Modello%2520compatibile=Per%2520Nintendo%2520Wii&_dcat=171814

Jeff



AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1873
    • Karma: +46/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #12 on: August 24, 2021, 09:52:35 AM
No never tried, but I think that even here you need to have a compatible driver, but the LAN works for you?


Jeff1138

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 14
    • Karma: +0/-0
Reply #13 on: August 24, 2021, 10:39:52 AM
Hi,

For the clone wii usb lan adapter works if usbasixeth.device used in network prefs but so far only on Icaros 2.2 and not 2.3, strange but now works fine in 2.3

Just tried and succeeded dd'ing over the usb version of Icaros and works, hopefully no more cds / dvds in future, lovely thanks paolone

Regards
Jeff

« Last Edit: August 24, 2021, 11:14:02 AM by Jeff1138 »



salvo

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1751
    • Karma: +20/-4
  • Peace an Love
    • TinyAros
Reply #14 on: August 24, 2021, 11:48:43 AM
Well I didn't know this adapter worked, good fun :)

http://tinyaros.flazio.com/
HP Z400 Intel Xeon W3565 3.20 Ghz, 8 Gb Ram, SSD 250 Gb, HD 500 Gb, Nvidia G210 1 Gb