AROS 68k updates from ApollOS repository

deadwood · 10938

deadwood

  • AROS Developer
  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1002
    • Karma: +103/-0
Reply #285 on: January 27, 2022, 05:41:34 AM
I'm at least giving it a try. It requires m68k assembler debugging from within AROS so it's quite painful...



deadwood

  • AROS Developer
  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1002
    • Karma: +103/-0
Reply #286 on: January 27, 2022, 11:46:05 AM
Well, the good news is that I located what triggers the problem, so I don't need to continue debugging asm 68k ;) The problem is somewhere in p96 driver. The same sequence works on amiga chipset driver and on linux hosted driver, but fails on p96. The system actually continues working, you just can't see anything that is displayed. I'll look into the driver issue.



OlafS3

  • Senior Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 410
    • Karma: +46/-0
Reply #287 on: January 27, 2022, 12:07:28 PM
Well, the good news is that I located what triggers the problem, so I don't need to continue debugging asm 68k ;) The problem is somewhere in p96 driver. The same sequence works on amiga chipset driver and on linux hosted driver, but fails on p96. The system actually continues working, you just can't see anything that is displayed. I'll look into the driver issue.

great progress  ;D

thanks



AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1879
    • Karma: +46/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #288 on: January 27, 2022, 12:48:01 PM
Well, the good news is that I located what triggers the problem, so I don't need to continue debugging asm 68k ;) The problem is somewhere in p96 driver. The same sequence works on amiga chipset driver and on linux hosted driver, but fails on p96. The system actually continues working, you just can't see anything that is displayed. I'll look into the driver issue.

In fact the Video Card on AROS 68k has never worked well, many software have jerky graphics, see AmigaAMP, Dopus4 and many others.

I would like to point out that on AROS 68k the Picasso96 software is not installed! on WinUAE the only working Video Card is UAE-GFX (UAE Zorro III) which is automatically recognized without the need for software

On FS-UAE I don't know which Video Card is recognized, on my Amilator that uses FS-UAE AROS 68k it doesn't work and I think it depends on the unsupported Video Card.


miker1264

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1224
    • Karma: +80/-2
Reply #289 on: January 27, 2022, 04:22:35 PM
Well, the good news is that I located what triggers the problem, so I don't need to continue debugging asm 68k ;) The problem is somewhere in p96 driver. The same sequence works on amiga chipset driver and on linux hosted driver, but fails on p96. The system actually continues working, you just can't see anything that is displayed. I'll look into the driver issue.

Great progress. Troubleshooting can be a tedious process but debugging ASM doesn't sound like much fun in itself.

Thank you for your efforts to make AROS better.  :)



deadwood

  • AROS Developer
  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1002
    • Karma: +103/-0
Reply #290 on: January 27, 2022, 04:50:35 PM
@OlafS3, @AMIGASYSTEM

Can you give me an example (link) of simple application where I can choose to open a custom screen and I can select PAL mode or an RTG mode with different resolution than current Wanderer screen?



deadwood

  • AROS Developer
  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1002
    • Karma: +103/-0
Reply #291 on: January 27, 2022, 05:16:20 PM

Troubleshooting can be a tedious process but debugging ASM doesn't sound like much fun in itself.


I was using native debugger/monitor written in 1994... I didn't even have an AMIGA back then. :O



AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1879
    • Karma: +46/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #292 on: January 27, 2022, 05:43:14 PM
@OlafS3, @AMIGASYSTEM

Can you give me an example (link) of simple application where I can choose to open a custom screen and I can select PAL mode or an RTG mode with different resolution than current Wanderer screen?

Picasso96Modes is not needed and won't work when using uaegfx. All modes are autogenerated and already listed in prefs ScreenMode, see screenmode


deadwood

  • AROS Developer
  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1002
    • Karma: +103/-0
Reply #293 on: January 27, 2022, 05:46:53 PM
I'm asking for an application that allows opening a custom screen which I can select from a requester. I'm pretty sure I saw such applications in the past but can't remember now which are those.



AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1879
    • Karma: +46/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #294 on: January 27, 2022, 06:16:30 PM
On AROS 68k I don't remember if there are applications where you can change the resolution, if it's ok I tested FinalWrite OS3
« Last Edit: January 27, 2022, 06:19:34 PM by AMIGASYSTEM »



OlafS3

  • Senior Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 410
    • Karma: +46/-0
Reply #295 on: January 27, 2022, 06:22:38 PM
On AROS 68k I don't remember if there are applications where you can change the resolution, if it's ok I tested FinalWrite OS3

there are amiga applications where you can select the mode. I will search for it



AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1879
    • Karma: +46/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #296 on: January 27, 2022, 06:25:53 PM
On Amiga there are many (Office programs, Graphics, Music, Games), on AROS 68k not !


deadwood

  • AROS Developer
  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1002
    • Karma: +103/-0
Reply #297 on: January 27, 2022, 06:28:03 PM
I'm fine with Amiga applications of course. As long as they start under AROS68k.



AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1879
    • Karma: +46/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #298 on: January 27, 2022, 06:33:11 PM
Yes some of them work but as said they are slow, Finalwrite is unusable too slow :)


deadwood

  • AROS Developer
  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1002
    • Karma: +103/-0
Reply #299 on: January 27, 2022, 06:53:57 PM
Ok it seems DOpus can be made to open different screen. This was enough for basic tests.

Here is new ROM package that makes Andie and Blondie demo exit correctly. Let me know how it works for you.

https://axrt.org/development/aros-rom-20220127.zip