Booting Icarus on Laptop Failed

MUSTDOS · 703

MUSTDOS

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 11
    • Karma: +0/-0
on: August 21, 2020, 02:40:20 AM
I get that ACPICA_InitTask and some address as an Illegal instruction as an error every time I attempt to boot on CD. Any help?



deadwood

  • AROS Developer
  • Senior Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 350
    • Karma: +24/-0
Reply #1 on: August 21, 2020, 07:29:38 AM
Hi,

Try disabling ACPI via grub command line. I believe it is described in ICaros manual how to do this - it's quite simple.




MUSTDOS

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 11
    • Karma: +0/-0
Reply #2 on: August 21, 2020, 04:01:16 PM
It's not mentioned in the manual.

I tried finding a way on the internet but all solutions seem to favor already installed OSes and not Live ones.



deadwood

  • AROS Developer
  • Senior Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 350
    • Karma: +24/-0
Reply #3 on: August 21, 2020, 04:17:30 PM
From my memory:

On grub screen press E, this will move to edit mode.
Add at the end of kernel command line "noacpi noapic"
Press CTRL-x to boot

Possibly other can add more details.




MUSTDOS

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 11
    • Karma: +0/-0
Reply #4 on: August 21, 2020, 10:11:16 PM
I booted grub from cd

selected the icarus option by pressing "e"

tried both noapci and noacpi; they where not considered as understood commands




MUSTDOS

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 11
    • Karma: +0/-0
Reply #5 on: August 22, 2020, 11:14:15 AM
Worked!

Turns out, I should add ATA=noacpi at the line where ATA=32bit was present

I still have another issue, my HDD is invisible and Icarus refuses to continue installation.



salvo

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1156
    • Karma: +14/-4
  • Invalid Civil
Reply #6 on: August 22, 2020, 02:53:34 PM
usually you write ata=nodma and when you press "E" in the main screen(GRUB) about the acpi subsystem you remove all the entries that concern them

Software Contributor RNOPublisher, RNOArchive

Sign Up On AmigaMap
https://amigamap.com/