Wanderer Icon Exchange

miker1264 · 7325

AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2448
    • Karma: +61/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #15 on: December 15, 2021, 01:18:16 AM
Another surprise, on AROS x86 I used "processicon" to change the icon type and also this program behaved the same as "seticontype", practically works with all icons except DualPNG.

Now comes the surprise, I tried to create the DualPNG icons on OS 4.1 with the same program "IconEditor" that I normally use on OS3 and AROS 68k, well, the DualPNG icons created on OS 4.1 is possible to change the type to the icons with both "processicon" and "seticontype" that I had compiled.

So on OS3 the DualPNG are generated differently than on OS4 even if all OS see them perfectly.

There is an answer to all this, the developer of "IconEditor" when he compiled the 68k version of "IconEditor" told me that on OS3 something was missing to be like the OS4 and MOS version, "now I don't remember what". 
« Last Edit: December 15, 2021, 01:23:01 AM by AMIGASYSTEM »



miker1264

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1320
    • Karma: +82/-3
Reply #16 on: December 15, 2021, 07:19:06 AM
Another surprise, on AROS x86 I used "processicon" to change the icon type and also this program behaved the same as "seticontype", practically works with all icons except DualPNG.

Now comes the surprise, I tried to create the DualPNG icons on OS 4.1 with the same program "IconEditor" that I normally use on OS3 and AROS 68k, well, the DualPNG icons created on OS 4.1 is possible to change the type to the icons with both "processicon" and "seticontype" that I had compiled.

So on OS3 the DualPNG are generated differently than on OS4 even if all OS see them perfectly.

There is an answer to all this, the developer of "IconEditor" when he compiled the 68k version of "IconEditor" told me that on OS3 something was missing to be like the OS4 and MOS version, "now I don't remember what".

That's very interesting. If you post a zip file of sample DualPNG Icons from OS4.1 & OS3/AROS 68k then I can compare with a Hex Editor to tell what the differences are with them.

I analyzed an OS4.1 PowerIcon in my favorite Hex Editor. It is a Classic Amiga Icon with a "fake" OS3.5 IFF structure with two ARGB Data Chunks.

So processicon and seticontype would treat them as Classic Icons. A Hybrid AROS 68k Icon such as the one attached here might also work with processicon and seticontype.



« Last Edit: December 15, 2021, 07:59:31 AM by miker1264 »



miker1264

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1320
    • Karma: +82/-3
Reply #17 on: December 15, 2021, 07:37:04 AM
It's great that CopyIcon and IconCopy work on AROS 68k but we need something designed specifically for use with AROS.

Without source code for either it's difficult to say why they aren't working to display icons on AROS 68k. Are sources available?

one of the apollo team is interested in your updated multiview and datatypes

where are the current ones? I do not find it in forum

I posted everything for MultiView & the updated 68k datatypes on the thread "Newest MultiView". You may download from there.

I hope Apollo Team is pleased with the new features and updated features that have been added to MultiView.




AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2448
    • Karma: +61/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #18 on: December 15, 2021, 07:53:26 AM
Apollo team Must be more than satisfied, on the apollo forum on one of my threads I had announced your developments.

I attach two icons created with the same image, same program, same steps but then the two Dual-PNG icons are different.

The tools I used on AROS x86 to OS3 icons can not change the icon type, on OS3 instead from the Workbench on these icons you can change the icon type.



miker1264

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1320
    • Karma: +82/-3
Reply #19 on: December 15, 2021, 08:05:12 AM
Apollo team Must be more than satisfied, on the apollo forum on one of my threads I had announced your developments.

I attach two icons created with the same image, same program, same steps but then the two Dual-PNG icons are different.

The tools I used on AROS x86 to OS3 icons can not change the icon type, on OS3 instead from the Workbench on these icons you can change the icon type.

I examined them both.

The OS3 Icon is simply DualPNG like AROS uses.

The OS4 Icon however is a PowerIcon as I mentioned earlier. It isn't DualPNG. It has ARGB Data Chuncks.



AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2448
    • Karma: +61/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #20 on: December 15, 2021, 08:21:56 AM
Yes this I imagined, the strange thing is that I used the same program and the same options, probably the developer made me a version adapted to OS3.

The OS3 and AROS version of IconEditor is not distributed, although the AROS x86 version can be found on IcarOS and on aros archive.

I have to try the AROS version of IconEditor, but I think it will behave the same as on OS3.


AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2448
    • Karma: +61/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #21 on: December 15, 2021, 08:37:49 AM
Confirmed, the icons created with IconEditor on AROS x86 have the same characteristics of those created on OS3


AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2448
    • Karma: +61/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #22 on: December 15, 2021, 07:30:59 PM
At the moment on AROS One 68k I have restored the icon.library of Peterk, unfortunately with the icon.library AROS 68k I cannot modify anything on the DualPNG icons that I use in all the Distro.


miker1264

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1320
    • Karma: +82/-3
Reply #23 on: December 15, 2021, 08:19:03 PM
At the moment on AROS One 68k I have restored the icon.library of Peterk, unfortunately with the icon.library AROS 68k I cannot modify anything on the DualPNG icons that I use in all the Distro.

How do you modify them? What does PeterK's Icon Library allow you to do that AROS Icon Library doesn't?



AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2448
    • Karma: +61/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #24 on: December 15, 2021, 09:29:42 PM
Of course I'm talking "only" about DualPNG icons used on AROS One which I can't give up, the tools you see in the screenshot don't work with DualPNG icons anymore.

- Change icon type, Drawer, Tool, Disk etc....
- Replace icon image
- Display DualPNG icons correctly with Dopus




miker1264

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1320
    • Karma: +82/-3
Reply #25 on: December 15, 2021, 10:35:27 PM
Of course I'm talking "only" about DualPNG icons used on AROS One which I can't give up, the tools you see in the screenshot don't work with DualPNG icons anymore.

- Change icon type, Drawer, Tool, Disk etc....
- Replace icon image
- Display DualPNG icons correctly with Dopus

I understand. Whatever fits your needs. Those things will be fixed eventually.



AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2448
    • Karma: +61/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #26 on: December 15, 2021, 10:44:41 PM
Yes, that's why I said momentarily, those tools now speed up my work.


miker1264

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1320
    • Karma: +82/-3
Reply #27 on: December 15, 2021, 10:52:43 PM
Yes, that's why I said momentarily, those tools now speed up my work.

How do I get Dopus4 to read an icon? There is no button for it.



AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2448
    • Karma: +61/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #28 on: December 15, 2021, 11:37:41 PM
To get the icon info on Dopus4 is very simple, if you need to configure the button in "Filetype Class" choose the internal command "IconInfo", see screenshot.

If you need to configure also the double click, in "File Configuration" you have to add the voice "AmigaDOS Icon", choose in "Filetype Class" always the internal command "icon Info", and in "Edit Class" you have to add the MatchName *.info


miker1264

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1320
    • Karma: +82/-3
Reply #29 on: December 15, 2021, 11:46:23 PM
AMIGASYSTEM

I could just use your config for Dopus.

How do I advance the button bank? Right click or something?