Installation on nVidia MCP7a / GeForce 9300 Chipset

RC_tech · 2169

AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1026
    • Karma: +34/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #30 on: February 20, 2021, 06:47:17 PM
I've just worked with the new HDToolbox a few times because I'm a classic WB3.1 user. And because the old HDToolbox is incompatible to large drives, I'm always using HDInstTools 6.9.

Actually I created a 40 GB partition as first primary partition and selected 'cleared' in gparted.

HDInstTools by hearsay seems to have some bugs, use HDToolBox OS3.9 BB

https://drive.google.com/file/d/19aNk3n4eXI-EdQFecdU45zZ5We6peYa-/view


RC_tech

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 25
    • Karma: +0/-0
Reply #31 on: February 20, 2021, 07:02:11 PM
Nah, I never liked 3.5 or 3.9. I presume I'm getting Kick 3.1.4 soon, this will remove a lot of patches.



AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1026
    • Karma: +34/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #32 on: February 20, 2021, 07:17:38 PM
OS 3.1.4 is an update of OS 3.1 but it remains a less updated and less advanced OS than OS 3.9, I never liked OS 3.1, too primitive.

With OS 3.9 the AfA One is the most powerful and modern Amiga OS, I also have AfA One with OS 3.1.4.2, but it is not up to it by OS 3.9 bb4 on many things.


Germandroide

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 15
    • Karma: +0/-1
Reply #33 on: February 21, 2021, 09:58:58 AM
That sound very nice...

Where I can found bb4 and how can I install AfAOS to OS3.9? Is there a guide or any think to follow?



AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1026
    • Karma: +34/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #34 on: February 21, 2021, 10:54:25 AM
My AfA One is no longer available for the reasons I explained HERE in this link you will also find useful info to install

If you are interested in a complete distribution of AfA OS you can find it here HERE Find AfAWB

If you are only interested in the AfA OS (AROS For Amiga) extension you can find it here HERE, You only need to install the Wizard.library


RC_tech

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 25
    • Karma: +0/-0
Reply #35 on: March 16, 2021, 06:00:04 PM
So, finally I got the USB stick. The ebay seller I bought it did not ship it. I bought one from another seller and it arrived very quickly.

Still, no success. The boot process always stops again at the Got RTC century offset 0x32 from ACPI message. Only using 'safe mode' and disabled SATA controller the system comes to the 'AROS waiting for bootable media' screen', but that's then it stops. Also with 'legacy drivers / no TLFS' it stops after the RTC message.

I tested various boot settings, even disabled SATA completely in the BIOS. I've only connected VGA, no DVI or HDMI. PS/2 is not possible because the board has only an USB keyboard connector, but no mouse. It's nothing connected, just the USB boot stick and the Logitech USB keyboard/mouse receiver. In the PCI-Express port is an Atheros 5212 WLAN card. It is compatible to AROS, had it working on my Lenovo x61t. I'm using 8 Gigs of DDR2 Dual Channel RAM (2x 4G modules).

I don't understand this. The board should be compatible to AROS because everything is from nVidia, the onboard 9300 graphics is even connected via PCI. But on the most of my systems Icaros Desktop stops at the RTC century offset message.
« Last Edit: March 16, 2021, 06:14:55 PM by RC_tech »



aurabin

  • Junior Member
  • **
    • Posts: 54
    • Karma: +2/-2
    • aurabin.net
Reply #36 on: March 17, 2021, 09:01:01 AM
Try the ATA=noapic Option in Grub Menu.. press e edit the line andpress F10 to boot!



RC_tech

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 25
    • Karma: +0/-0
Reply #37 on: March 17, 2021, 10:33:09 AM
Still stops after RTC century offset, even in Safe Mode.



magorium

  • Senior Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 253
    • Karma: +7/-0
  • Convicted non contributor
Reply #38 on: March 19, 2021, 06:51:38 AM
Still stops after RTC century offset, even in Safe Mode.
Ok, let's do a quick resume.

You have downloaded http://www.icarosdesktop.com/icarosfiles/IcarosLight_2_3_0_usb.zip , unzipped that file, then used passmark imageusb to create the pendrive ?

Then you inserted that pendrive into your machine on a USB header that has no other peripheral's attached (also not internally) and booted your machine. You entered the grub menu and selected to start icaros in safe mode and you watched the boot process continue on your VGA attached monitor (*), and the last part that you are able to see is "RTC century offset" ?

Did you disable all your internal/external connected devices in your BIOS, and changed your boot priority ? How does your MCP7a handle the floppy options in the BIOS ? (that was the only weird things that did not made any sense to me as the board does not even seem to have a header for a floppy-drive (but perhaps i overlooked it ?). If possible disable that obscure device, unless it tells somewhere that it allows your USB connected device to act as a floppy drive (in which case more testing is required simply because i do not know your board).

(*) it can be that video is outputted (e.g. switched during boot-process) on another output connector.

In one of your previous post you mentioned "out of sync". was that on the same MCP7a machine ? Because if it is then aros booted correctly. In that case the driver uses the wrong frequencies for your attached monitor (usually this is due to edid). You can verify that case by booting your pendrive inside a vm (or attach it to a vm that has aros installed and running) and manually edit the startup-sequence of the pendrive to output some text and pipe that to a file. Then boot the pendrive again on your machine until you receive the "out of sync from your monitor", wait a few seconds longer to make sure the message is written, then shutdown your machine and re-insert the pendrive in your aros virtual machine to verify whether the text you piped to the file is present on the pendrive.

If the text is present then you know aros booted correctly, and in which case the issue is either your monitor (reporting wrong values to AROS) or the AROS driver that does something wrong.

fwiw: the latter case is similar to a situation that i have with a particular machine that i tested in that it does not seem to boot properly when i use the default grub line because it tries to use my (supported) video-card but my monitor is displaying a similar message (for me it is "no input signal received") so i now have to figure out whether:
- aros crashed during boot
- aros booted and runs ok, but selected the wrong output connector (i have both dvi and hdmi)
- aros booted and runs ok, but it somehow gets confused about my connected monitor.

The fact that you seem to be trying this on multiple machines and report on that all at the same time works confusing. Just stick to the MCP7a machine, as that should work (and is reported to work). What the pendrive does or doesn't do during boot on those other machines is really irrelevant. That and the fact that i can't see from here what you have or haven't done in your bios. That you 'disconnected' your sata devices isn't nearly enough from what i can find/see online about the bios in that particular machine, as there seem to be many more related settings (such as the floppy drive settings i mentioned).