Scalos - General

deadwood · 6686

AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 3276
    • Karma: +68/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #45 on: July 11, 2022, 09:48:05 AM
In my opinion besides testing following deadwood's directions is correct, but testing other ways is also important because it might uncover other bugs, this has taught me my experience.

Olaf, moving a drawer does not imply the operation, I also did a direct boot of Scalos "without moving or or add anything" without Wanderer and found no difference, same operation same bugs.

@deadwood
I confirm the bug reported by magorium on both Native AROS and Hosted Windows
« Last Edit: July 11, 2022, 10:14:50 AM by AMIGASYSTEM »



deadwood

  • AROS Developer
  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1457
    • Karma: +114/-0
Reply #46 on: July 11, 2022, 11:12:23 AM
@magorium

Thanks for the report



deadwood

  • AROS Developer
  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1457
    • Karma: +114/-0
Reply #47 on: July 11, 2022, 11:17:28 AM
@AMIGASYSTEM

Think about it this way: every minute I spend trying to figure out differences in people's configurations is a minute I do not spend on actually fixing problems.

You are right, Scalos should work with different setups. According to me, with the amount of existing problems, it is still more efficient to use a standardized configuration to spot and solve them. I'd like to ask that if you report a problem you also mention whether you were able to reproduce it on standardized configuration - that's all.



OlafS3

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 528
    • Karma: +50/-3
Reply #48 on: July 11, 2022, 11:36:02 AM
@Deadwood

+1

Otherwise only unproductive and in worst case emotional discussions start that nobody help. Testing it step by step



AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 3276
    • Karma: +68/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #49 on: July 11, 2022, 12:13:35 PM
Sorry deadwood maybe my English is not understandable, I do the tests as you may have noticed "first" with your configuration, and then for confirmation, and on my behalf, i test them "also" with all my configurations, this is to have a broader view.
« Last Edit: July 11, 2022, 12:25:10 PM by AMIGASYSTEM »



deadwood

  • AROS Developer
  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1457
    • Karma: +114/-0
Reply #50 on: July 11, 2022, 02:03:03 PM
Sorry deadwood maybe my English is not understandable, I do the tests as you may have noticed "first" with your configuration, and then for confirmation, and on my behalf, i test them "also" with all my configurations, this is to have a broader view.

Now it is clear - thank you.



magorium

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 566
    • Karma: +55/-0
  • Convicted non contributor
Reply #51 on: July 11, 2022, 08:03:37 PM
@deadwood:
Again not sure if this is what falls into your category.

i386-linux hosted

I list the first crash because it might perhaps helps but i can't reproduce that all the time.

The steps i took to invoke the crash:
  • menu/scalos prefs
  • Scalos_prefs
  • From the list I select every item (top to bottom) and watch the tab page appear
  • in between I resized the window, one time
  • then end up at the list: Filetypes
  • Press def_project button on the right with left mouse button
crash-log:
Code: [Select]

[Bootstrap] Entering kernel at 0xe77af000...
[KRN] Protecting host process stack (0xffd90ef0 - 0xffd9aef0)
[X11] BitMap class @ 0xe890f6e4
*** Could not create object of Urltext.mcc
*** Couldn't find Urltext.mcc
UpdateWorkbench("NewPopupMenu.prefs", LOCK e8a05d90, 0x00000001)
[KRN] Trap signal 11, SysBase e88cd1e0, KernelBase e88cdf44
    SP=ea197918  FP=ea197918  PC=e8a378c6
    R0=ea1437b0  R1=ea158808  R2=e88cd1e0  R3=00000000
    R4=ea156f5c  R5=ea197ba4
*** Logged alert:
Program failed
Task : 0xEA142800 - DiskInfo
Error: 0x80000002 - Hardware bus fault/address error
PC   : 0xE8A378C6
Module stdc.library Segment 1 .text (0xE8A105E0) Offset 0x000272E6
Function strlen (0xE8A378C0) Offset 0x00000006
CPU context:
EAX=0xEA1437B0  EBX=0xEA158808  ECX=0xE88CD1E0  EDX=0x00000000
ESI=0xEA197BA4  EDI=0xEA156F5C  ESP=0xEA197918  EBP=0xEA197918
EIP=0xE8A378C6  ESP=0xEA197918  EFLAGS=0x00010282
Stack trace:
0xEA18AA93 DiskInfo Function DiskInfo__OM_NEW + 0x000015F3
0xE8E5A1B8 muimaster.library Function metaDispatcher + 0x0000002E
0xE7870950 intuition.library Function Intuition_106_NewObjectA + 0x00000070
0xEA18C409 DiskInfo Function main + 0x000000F9
0xEA188FDD DiskInfo Segment 1 .text + 0x000000CD
0xEA18B98F DiskInfo Segment 1 .text + 0x00002A7F
0xEA18BF3B DiskInfo Segment 1 .text + 0x0000302B
0xEA18BFD2 DiskInfo Segment 1 .text + 0x000030C2
0xEA18C046 DiskInfo Segment 1 .text + 0x00003136
0xEA18C1F6 DiskInfo Segment 1 .text + 0x000032E6

However, when starting afresh and:
  • menu/scalos prefs
  • Scalos_prefs
  • From leftside list directly select: Filetypes
  • Press def_project button with left mouse button
crashlog:
Code: [Select]
[KRN] Protecting host process stack (0xffeadb10 - 0xffeb7b10)
[X11] BitMap class @ 0xe89626e4
*** Could not create object of Urltext.mcc
*** Couldn't find Urltext.mcc
UpdateWorkbench("NewPopupMenu.prefs", LOCK e8a58b10, 0x00000001)
[KRN] Trap signal 11, SysBase e89201e0, KernelBase e8920f44
    SP=e89fbf90  FP=e89fc008  PC=e7828c19
    R0=e7807bb8  R1=ea11cc58  R2=00000001  R3=00000000
    R4=e89e7610  R5=00000014
[KRN] Trap signal 11, SysBase e89201e0, KernelBase e8920f44
    SP=e897559c  FP=e8975664  PC=e8d56003
    R0=00090007  R1=00000000  R2=00000000  R3=ea11cf60
    R4=e89756ec  R5=00000019
[KRN] Trap signal 11, SysBase e89201e0, KernelBase e8920f44
    SP=e8974b40  FP=e8974bc8  PC=e789d1d7
    R0=e8974b98  R1=ea11e890  R2=000000c0  R3=00000041
    R4=e94f6190  R5=e8964180

################################################################################
#                               Software Failure!                              #
#                       Task : 0xE89695A0 - input.device                       #
#             Error: 0x80000002 - Hardware bus fault/address error             #
################################################################################
PC   : 0xE8D56003
Module Decoration Segment 1 .text (0xE8D52590) Offset 0x00003A73
CPU context:
EAX=0x00090007  EBX=0x00000000  ECX=0x00000000  EDX=0xEA11CF60
ESI=0x00000019  EDI=0xE89756EC  ESP=0xE897559C  EBP=0xE8975664
EIP=0xE8D56003  ESP=0xE897559C  EFLAGS=0x00010293
Stack trace:
0xE78E47BC intuition.library Function SysIClass__IM_DRAW + 0x000007EC
0xE78C17DB intuition.library Function Intuition_103_DrawImageState + 0x0000033B
0xE78CE92E intuition.library Function ButtonGClass__GM_RENDER + 0x0000011E
0xE78DEAD2 intuition.library Function Custom_DoMethodA + 0x00000042
0xE78C0FC6 intuition.library Function Intuition_135_DoGadgetMethodA + 0x00000206
0xE78CE5EC intuition.library Function RefreshBoopsiGadget + 0x0000003C
0xE78C9A75 intuition.library Function int_refreshglist + 0x000000A5
0xE78C9D13 intuition.library Function int_RefreshWindowFrame + 0x00000153
0xE78BDA68 intuition.library Segment 1 .text + 0x00003748
0xE78E122D intuition.library Function DoASyncAction + 0x0000010D
################################################################################
ObtainSemaphore called in supervisor mode!!!
sem = 0xe89fcc58 task = 0xe89695a0 (input.device)

ReleaseSemaphore called in supervisor mode!!!
sem = 0xe89fcc58 task = 0xe89695a0 (input.device)

ObtainSemaphore called in supervisor mode!!!
sem = 0xea11dc60 task = 0xe89695a0 (input.device)

ObtainSemaphore called in supervisor mode!!!
sem = 0xe89fcc58 task = 0xe89695a0 (input.device)

ReleaseSemaphore called in supervisor mode!!!
sem = 0xe89fcc58 task = 0xe89695a0 (input.device)

ObtainSemaphoreShared called in supervisor mode!!!
sem = 0xe89643dc task = 0xe89695a0 (input.device)
And that repeats itself indefinitely.

edit: the last item with reproduction steps, always seem to cause another type of crash. Sometimes it reboots AROS, sometimes it gets stuck (no pres more log possible) but it always crashes one way or another for me.


Also (but i probably need to take a picture for that) the same preferences window show some widget at the top right directly next to the tab-header text (upper header with name of the selected item from the list) for certain pages (i believe 3 or 4 specific pages). It has a up-down widget and what seems to be a very tiny part of a slider (as if the header text does not fit inside it's (parent) area.).
« Last Edit: July 12, 2022, 04:32:35 PM by magorium »



AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 3276
    • Karma: +68/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #52 on: July 11, 2022, 10:50:36 PM
EDIT:

You can delete your posts about my help, thank you:

I was able to create an executable script to run AROSBootstrap.
« Last Edit: July 12, 2022, 08:08:59 AM by AMIGASYSTEM »



AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 3276
    • Karma: +68/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #53 on: July 12, 2022, 07:55:37 AM
 @deadwood

Even on Linux Hosted the Buttons are corrupted or missing, so "only" on AROS x86 Native they work fine


paolone

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 566
    • Karma: +90/-0
Reply #54 on: July 12, 2022, 02:26:40 PM
@all


Not to be negative, but on AROS we already have Magellan, which is open source and much more advanced/configurable feature-wise than ScalOS. It would be a GREAT desktop replacement/file manager for any modern operating system, if it only was zunified and had a graphic overhaul.





AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 3276
    • Karma: +68/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #55 on: July 12, 2022, 02:33:35 PM
Yes true, although for me Wandeer being native if improved would be the best choice, both Scalos and Magellan will always clash with Wanderer and there will always be small conflicts.


OlafS3

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 528
    • Karma: +50/-3
Reply #56 on: July 12, 2022, 02:43:31 PM
@all


Not to be negative, but on AROS we already have Magellan, which is open source and much more advanced/configurable feature-wise than ScalOS. It would be a GREAT desktop replacement/file manager for any modern operating system, if it only was zunified and had a graphic overhaul.

it cannot be zunified because it implements its own system (what has both advantages and disadvantages). Regarding porting it to Linux we should before ask gpsoft if they are ok with it. It was permitted to port it to amiga platforms but if it would be ported to Linux it would be first time available on a mainstream platform. Officially commercial they only support Windows so perhaps they are ok with it but it should be asked.

Other than that I like (as known) Magellan. It is very powerful and extremely configurable. But Scalos also has advantages. It is in some areas even more configurable and it is more doing it "the amiga way" whereas Magellan often is a kind of blackbox replacing many system routines. For many hardcore amigans Scalos propably is more appealing. Wanderer is more or less a 3.1 replacement (concept and functionality).
« Last Edit: July 12, 2022, 02:49:45 PM by OlafS3 »



magorium

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 566
    • Karma: +55/-0
  • Convicted non contributor
Reply #57 on: July 12, 2022, 04:39:26 PM
@deadwood:
As promised some pictures.

i386-linux hosted

The first picture shows the gadget in the tab header.

It is present for me on the following tabs:
- truetype fonts
- menu
- pattern
- popup menu
- palette
- filetypes

The second picture also shows a gadget that does not seem to belong and that is on the misc tab, vertical middle, right side.


deadwood

  • AROS Developer
  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1457
    • Karma: +114/-0
Reply #58 on: July 12, 2022, 04:53:51 PM
@deadwood

Even on Linux Hosted the Buttons are corrupted or missing, so "only" on AROS x86 Native they work fine

Thanks. Noted.



deadwood

  • AROS Developer
  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1457
    • Karma: +114/-0
Reply #59 on: July 12, 2022, 04:55:57 PM
@deadwood:
As promised some pictures.

i386-linux hosted

The first picture shows the gadget in the tab header.

It is present for me on the following tabs:
- truetype fonts
- menu
- pattern
- popup menu
- palette
- filetypes

The second picture also shows a gadget that does not seem to belong and that is on the misc tab, vertical middle, right side.

Thanks for the report and screen shots.