IconColor HSL Color Conversion

miker1264 · 892

miker1264

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1294
    • Karma: +82/-2
on: January 14, 2022, 07:14:52 AM
Now that I have a good start with IconClone I can begin a new Icon Tool - IconColor. Next after this will be "IconProcess".

IconColor GUI is based on IconClone as you may notice some similarities. It will re-use some functions as well.

Attached is the Paint Mockup of my concept GUI.

Drop the Source Icon in the Left Display Area. Adjust HSL Values. Then select the "Color" Button to change the icon colors.
The resulting icon will appear in the Right Display Area. The icon glow border is filtered out and so it won't change colors.

When you select the "Save" Button it will save to the original icon. When you select "Clear" the contents of the Right Display Area will be erased and the HSL values will be cleared also.

It will be a fun icon toy to play with.  :)

« Last Edit: January 14, 2022, 07:36:45 AM by miker1264 »



AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2124
    • Karma: +48/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #1 on: January 14, 2022, 08:10:19 AM
Nice news, also a multi icon "color" process could be interesting, for example if you decide to change the color to all the icons of the system.

Is there any tool to change the icon type? On Wanderer AROS x86 there is nothing!


miker1264

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1294
    • Karma: +82/-2
Reply #2 on: January 14, 2022, 08:59:33 AM
Nice news, also a multi icon "color" process could be interesting, for example if you decide to change the color to all the icons of the system.

Is there any tool to change the icon type? On Wanderer AROS x86 there is nothing!

There is no tool yet to change the icon type.

"IconColor" will change the color of the baseimages (plain default drawer icons).

"IconProcess" will change the color of all the icons in a specified directory using baseimages and icon mask files.

"ReplaceIcons" or something similar will replace all the selected icons on the system with alternate icons from a list.

So counting "IconClone" that is four Icon Utilities for the New Icon Tools Package.  ;)

« Last Edit: January 14, 2022, 09:05:08 AM by miker1264 »



AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2124
    • Karma: +48/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #3 on: January 14, 2022, 09:04:51 AM
I was referring to how to change like "drawer", "Project", "Tool" etc...


miker1264

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1294
    • Karma: +82/-2
Reply #4 on: January 14, 2022, 09:06:26 AM
I was referring to how to change like "drawer", "Project", "Tool" etc...

I understand. But there is no tool to change icon type yet for AROS x86.

You would think we could do that in Icon Information.



AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2124
    • Karma: +48/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #5 on: January 14, 2022, 10:59:29 AM
Yes I think it's fine for Icon Information, usually it's done to an icon, but having a tool for multiple change with simple drag and drop like "IconType" that I use on AROS One 68k would be great, see screenshot.


miker1264

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1294
    • Karma: +82/-2
Reply #6 on: January 14, 2022, 06:28:47 PM
Yes I think it's fine for Icon Information, usually it's done to an icon, but having a tool for multiple change with simple drag and drop like "IconType" that I use on AROS One 68k would be great, see screenshot.

I can put together a small IconType Application to quickly change icont types with drag-n-drop with a display area so you know which icon is selected and radio buttons for icon types.

I'll present the concept and start working on it later today.

IconClone has been uploaded to AROS Archives & Aminet.
I'm still wiating for the link. It takes a few days I suppose.



deadwood

  • AROS Developer
  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1064
    • Karma: +104/-0
Reply #7 on: January 14, 2022, 06:44:37 PM
@miker

About IconClone - I tested it and I can't seem to get it to work. I start it by double-click. Then I click the upper "?" and select SYS:Utilities.info. The icons is then NOT shown on the left panel. How is that supposed to work?



AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2124
    • Karma: +48/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #8 on: January 14, 2022, 06:59:13 PM
deadwood on IconClone the "Native AROS icons" are not shown, but the image swap works :)

IconClone works perfectly with DualPNGs


miker1264

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1294
    • Karma: +82/-2
Reply #9 on: January 14, 2022, 07:19:49 PM
@miker

About IconClone - I tested it and I can't seem to get it to work. I start it by double-click. Then I click the upper "?" and select SYS:Utilities.info. The icons is then NOT shown on the left panel. How is that supposed to work?

Which version of AROS are you testing with? Which icon set?

It only works with PNG icons at the moment.



deadwood

  • AROS Developer
  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1064
    • Karma: +104/-0
Reply #10 on: January 14, 2022, 07:23:37 PM
My local ABiv0 build and its default icons. Do I understand correctly that IconClone does not work/does not display "default" AROS icons?



miker1264

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1294
    • Karma: +82/-2
Reply #11 on: January 14, 2022, 07:32:34 PM
My local ABiv0 build and its default icons. Do I understand correctly that IconClone does not work/does not display "default" AROS icons?

It will work with default icons. But it only works with PNG Icons at the moment. So only the icons with file siganature 'png' not file signature 'E310' such as the Gorilla Icons for AROS 68k.

The icons supplied with new builds are of type 'E310' so they don't display properly using the current code. It will be updated.

That code hasn't been finalized yet. It uses IFFParse to read the Classic Icon Data and OS3.5 IFF Data for OS3.5 Hybrid Icons (Gorilla Icons) and OS4.1 PowerIcons. That's in a new update.

Try IcarosDesktop with Kens Icons or AROS One x86.




deadwood

  • AROS Developer
  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1064
    • Karma: +104/-0
Reply #12 on: January 14, 2022, 07:39:41 PM
Ok, got it. Thanks. Upload is now approaved.



miker1264

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1294
    • Karma: +82/-2
Reply #13 on: January 14, 2022, 07:49:32 PM
Ok, got it. Thanks. Upload is now approaved.

For AROS Archives I must resubmit.

There was a Printf message that pops up in IcarosDesktop but it doesn't show in AROS One x86. So it brings up a con window.

I disabled that so it works correctly now. I will re-submit.

@deadwood I replaced the upload with this one on Archives.

« Last Edit: January 14, 2022, 08:24:22 PM by miker1264 »



deadwood

  • AROS Developer
  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1064
    • Karma: +104/-0
Reply #14 on: January 14, 2022, 09:01:23 PM
Approved :)