AROS 68k updates from ApollOS repository

deadwood · 15767

miker1264

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1320
    • Karma: +82/-3
Reply #30 on: November 22, 2021, 09:26:18 PM
I know how to make logs and other operations on WinUAE, I usually use them when I report problems on WinUAE to Toni Wilen.

I didn't know about copy/paste on VMWare, can you explain me how to do it? A little video would be better to understand it

Directory Filesystems in some cases are not good, there are native Amiga or AROS files or folders that use special characters will not be handled by windows.

Try to create unnamed folders or files (only spaces) or folders or files with the character ???

Windows will show these folders with the name "__uae__".

VMWare Workstation Player 15 running Ubuntu 16.04 can Copy/Paste from Linux to Windows 10 and from Windows to Linux. It's very convenient.



miker1264

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1320
    • Karma: +82/-3
Reply #31 on: November 22, 2021, 09:29:04 PM
@deadwood

I set up my AROS Vanilla based on Latest 68k Nightly Build.

With the ROMs from the Nightly it boots nicely in WinUAE.

But not with the ROMs provided earlier in this thread.



OlafS3

  • Senior Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 477
    • Karma: +48/-2
Reply #32 on: November 22, 2021, 09:40:05 PM
you mean the roms deadwood first published? Yes there is a problem with it



AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2470
    • Karma: +61/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #33 on: November 22, 2021, 09:41:52 PM
VMWare Workstation Player 15 running Ubuntu 16.04 can Copy/Paste from Linux to Windows 10 and from Windows to Linux. It's very convenient.

Yes my old VMwarerPlayer does it too, there is also the possibility to create a Shared Folder or a Network Drive, but with AROS x86 this feature is not supported.

To share WMWare and WinUAE (HardFile), I use external USB HD, MemoryCard or PenDrivers which are fast to share Wandere with Workbench via WinUAE.


AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2470
    • Karma: +61/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #34 on: November 22, 2021, 09:46:33 PM
But not with the ROMs provided earlier in this thread.

As mentioned those ROMs are corrupted FixFont and Wanderer are searched in the wrong places also no command works, try to go in the "AROS Early Startup Control" hold down the two keys Mouse in AROS startup, from the prompt nothing works !!!


deadwood

  • AROS Developer
  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1139
    • Karma: +107/-0
Reply #35 on: November 23, 2021, 07:20:22 AM
Strange the Cooprocessor error because always on FS-UAE "Amilator" AfA One works perfectly (same requirement and same configuration used for AROS One), see my old video !

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b5XaU77f8eg

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0mqJtNg3KKs

Which version of FS-UAE are you running? I'm using 3.0.2



AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2470
    • Karma: +61/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #36 on: November 23, 2021, 08:42:04 AM
Amilator should include version 2.8.4, today I'll install version 3.0.5 and do some tests !

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=91638&highlight=amilator
« Last Edit: November 23, 2021, 08:45:25 AM by AMIGASYSTEM »



deadwood

  • AROS Developer
  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1139
    • Karma: +107/-0
Reply #37 on: November 23, 2021, 12:07:16 PM
FYI, it looks like FS-UAE "directory as disk" works, but it is super slow. I don't know yet if this is FS-UAE problem or my ROM is even more damaged.



AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2470
    • Karma: +61/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #38 on: November 23, 2021, 12:39:09 PM
I have installed the updated version of Amilator with FS-UAE 3.0.5, see link, and I get the same error as the Cooprocessor with AROS One 68k, now I will try with FS-UAE 3.0.5 Windows version.

http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=1403596&postcount=104

Anyway it should not be slow, on WinUAE it starts in 5 seconds despite I have an old Dual-Core "with a good video card".

If you use Linux you could try WinUAE with Wine, eventually I'll pass you my config, you just have to change the paths of ROM, Hardfile or Directory System


OlafS3

  • Senior Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 477
    • Karma: +48/-2
Reply #39 on: November 23, 2021, 12:45:04 PM
FYI, it looks like FS-UAE "directory as disk" works, but it is super slow. I don't know yet if this is FS-UAE problem or my ROM is even more damaged.

I had used the roms from the archive you posted and it booted in normal speed



AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2470
    • Karma: +61/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #40 on: November 23, 2021, 01:06:32 PM
@AMIGASYSTEM, OlafS3

Can you tell me if you take these system files and attached ROM if they boot for you?

https://sourceforge.net/projects/aros/files/nightly2/20211017/Binaries/AROS-20211017-amiga-m68k-boot-iso.zip/download

Sorry I didn't read this post, the ISO you attached boots perfectly on WinuAE with old ROMs, with your new ROMs you always have the same errors Wanderer, Fontfix etc... that you have on my AROS One 68k


AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2470
    • Karma: +61/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #41 on: November 23, 2021, 02:45:59 PM
Also tested FS-UAE 3.0.5 for Windows, it works only without JIT so very slow, with JIT active FS-UAE crashes.

Best choice remains WinUAE, extremely simple, fast and functional!


deadwood

  • AROS Developer
  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1139
    • Karma: +107/-0
Reply #42 on: November 23, 2021, 03:01:53 PM
Also tested FS-UAE 3.0.5 for Windows, it works only without JIT so very slow, with JIT active FS-UAE crashes.

Best choice remains WinUAE, extremely simple, fast and functional!

Ok, at least you confirm that JIT crashes the machine, so this is not specific to my config. Thanks.



AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2470
    • Karma: +61/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #43 on: November 23, 2021, 03:16:20 PM
Yes, but strangely with my AfA One (OS 3.9 BB4 + AfA OS), same configuration, only the ROMs change, FS-UAE 3.0.5 + JIT works fine and AfA-One is also quite fast "almost" like WinUAE


AMIGASYSTEM

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2470
    • Karma: +61/-1
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #44 on: November 23, 2021, 03:48:14 PM

Ok, at least you confirm that JIT crashes the machine, so this is not specific to my config. Thanks.

Further confirmation, deactivated JIT on FS-UAE also on Amilator AROS One 68k starts without problems, of course it turns out to be slow
« Last Edit: November 23, 2021, 04:07:49 PM by AMIGASYSTEM »