AROS Exec

Distros => Icaros Desktop => Topic started by: Glinx on April 07, 2022, 07:20:29 PM

Title: Janus-UAE
Post by: Glinx on April 07, 2022, 07:20:29 PM
@paolone

I notice out of the box that J-UAE is set to run slower with the "draw one frame in" option set to 8. When changed to 1, it is very very much faster.
Perhaps this should be highlighted somewhere as it gives a very underwhelming first impression of what it can truly do.
Title: Re: Janus-UAE
Post by: paolone on June 04, 2022, 10:48:45 AM
@paolone

I notice out of the box that J-UAE is set to run slower with the "draw one frame in" option set to 8. When changed to 1, it is very very much faster.
Perhaps this should be highlighted somewhere as it gives a very underwhelming first impression of what it can truly do.


Really? Well, thanks for your suggestion - and sorry for the very late answer, I didn't notice it.


By the way, IIRC screen updating is one of the heaviest tasks for the emulator, so I though to actually reduce the number of shown frames would accelerate all the other tasks UAE has to accomplish.
Title: Re: Janus-UAE
Post by: korban on June 04, 2022, 01:10:18 PM
Ouch.
One frame in 8 is horrible.
Means that with a screen refresh of 50hz only 6 frames are displayed. Makes it unusable. With software that only updates at 25 fps you only get 3.
Ands there's plenty of Amiga software that only refreshes once every 3 frames, so that means 2 frames per second.
Title: Re: Janus-UAE
Post by: salvo on June 04, 2022, 02:18:08 PM
adjust task priority

http://archives.aros-exec.org/share/emulation/computer/script_janus_task_prio.tgz

open the script if don't work and change the path where is janus-uae

enjoy
Title: Re: Janus-UAE
Post by: paolone on June 04, 2022, 03:18:31 PM
Ouch.
One frame in 8 is horrible.
Means that with a screen refresh of 50hz only 6 frames are displayed. Makes it unusable. With software that only updates at 25 fps you only get 3.
Ands there's plenty of Amiga software that only refreshes once every 3 frames, so that means 2 frames per second.


I know, but this only happens on the 68k environment for workbench applications, where I would like to squeeze all the raw power available to increase elaboration speed, rather than having a 'fluid' graphic output. But if there is a way to get to the target without limiting framerate so much, I am all ears.